Research Guides: Classical Civilization Resources at the UTM Library: &#8212; Primary Sources

Literary Sources

Loeb Classical Library
The Loeb Classical Library® gives access to all that is important in Greek and Latin literature, providing English translation. It includes: epic and lyric poetry, tragedy and comedy, history, travel, philosophy, and oratory, the great medical writers and mathematicians, those Church fathers who made particular use of pagan culture, and so forth. The editors provide substantive introductions as well as essential critical and explanatory notes and selective bibliographies.
Jacoby Online
[Brill] This is a digital edition of fragments and testimonia of Greek historians, and other authors from antiquity. Jacoby Online is anchored in the work of Felix Jacoby (1876–1959) who divided the fragments of lost Greek historians into five parts or types of historiography:
Part I: Genealogy and Mythography
Part II: Chronography (political-military history)
Part III: Horography and Ethnography
Part IV: Biography
Part V: Geography
Perseus Digital Library
Searchable primary and seconday sources.
Oxford Scholarly Editions Online
Primary texts include writers active between 701 and 1901, plus Roman and Greek authors, such as Aeschylus, Austen, Horace, Catullus, Plato, and Virgil. See the title lists.
A widget enabling users to look up words in the Oxford Latin Dictionary, ed. P. G. W. Glare (2nd edn, 2012), is included for all users of the Latin content on Oxford Scholarly Editions Online.
PHI Latin Texts
Contains essentially all Latin literary texts written before A.D. 200, as well as some texts selected from later antiquity. These texts were previously available on The Packard Humanities Institute's CD ROM 5.3.
BREPOLiS
– Library of Latin Texts - Series A
– Library of Latin Texts - Series B
The Homer Multitext
The Virgil Project

FYI:

Early Modern Books, 1450–1700
[ProQuest] includes Early English Books Online and Early European Books
This database includes a selection of literary works by Greek and Roman authors ranging from famous authors like Homer, Hesiod, Virgil and Ovid to lesser-known figures such as the Latin poets Persius (34-62 CE) and Claudian (c.370-c.404 CE).

Visual Sources (Art & Architecture)

Oxford Art Online
The gateway to Oxford’s art reference works, including the peer-reviewed, regularly updated Grove® Dictionary of Art and the Benezit Dictionary of Artists.
Artstor
Includes architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design as well as other forms of visual culture.
FADIS via JSTOR
To access the images, please follow the instruction that is available at https://guides.library.utoronto.ca/jstorimage
VRoma Image Archive
A large archive of digital images relating to classical antiquity.
Beazley Archive - Classical Art Research Centre
Corpus Vasorum Antiquorum
"A series of high-quality catalogues of mostly ancient Greek painted pottery in collections around the world."
Digital Public Library of America
Discover 22,623,119 images, texts, videos, and sounds from across the United States
Google Arts & Culture

Supplementum Epigraphicum Graecum

Brill - Supplementum Epigraphicum Graecum
This covers newly published Greek inscriptions and studies on previously known documents. It covers the entire Greek world from the early Greek period until the 8th century A.D.