PERIOD COVERED: mid- 15th to early 20th Century Defining Gender provides access to a vast body of original British source material to enrich the teaching and research experience of those studying history, literature, sociology and education from a gendered perspective.
THEMATIC AREAS: Conduct and Politeness, Domesticity and the Family, Consumption and Leisure, Education and Sensibility, the Body
FEATURED WOMEN INCLUDE:
Esther Inglis (1570/71–1624), Sarah Cowper (1644–1720), Margaret Cunningham (d. 1622?), Mary Evelyn (1887–1960), Lucy Hutchinson (1620–1681), Lady Elizabeth Lowther (d. 1747), Katherine Philips (1632–1664)
From political journals circulated in London coffee houses to colonial newspapers, and from poetic reviews to magazines for ladies of fashion, Eighteenth Century Journals illuminates aspects of social, political and literary life, providing an opportunity to examine a variety of topical issues, and to compare a range of perspectives on the debates of the day. 'Lady's Magazine Index' is a part of the site feature.
Sources from India, Ireland, Caribbean, Canada, Scottish and Provincial English are included.
In the late 1800's, Dutch physician Aletta Jacobs and her husband C.V. Gerritsen began collecting books, pamphlets and periodicals reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights.
Overall, the collection contains more than 4,500 publications from continental Europe, the U.S., the United Kingdom, Canada, and New Zealand, dating from 1543 to 1945. The anti-feminist case is presented as well as the pro-feminist.
Titles include English, German, French, and Dutch monographs.
Delve into the theatrical world of eighteenth-century society, and explore how the plays reflect the politics of the time, the role of women, views on race and religion, opinions on empire, and European and British history.
This collection includes "Missions to Women":
Included here are the papers of the Society for Promoting Female Education in China, India and the East, the Zenana, Bible and Medical Mission and the Indian Female Normal School and Instruction Society, and the various publication focusing on the CMS’s missionary work among women, including India’s Women and China’s Daughters (1880-1957) and the Indian Female Evangelist (1872-1956).
Everyday Life and Women in America comprises thousands of fully searchable images of rare books, pamphlets, periodicals and broadsides addressing political, social and gender issues, religion, race, education, employment, marriage, sexuality, home and family life, health, and pastimes.
PERIOD COVERED: 1559-1995 (finding aid); early 20th Century (original documents)
— The campaign for women's suffrage in Britain and the British Empire
— Biographical information on individual suffragettes
— The 'Cat and Mouse' campaign
— Police surveillance
— Prison conditions
— Parliamentary debates and committee reports, and more.
Modules in the U.K. Parliamentary Papers
— House of Commons 18th Century *
— House of Commons 19th Century
— Public Petitions to Parliament, 1833-1918
— House of Commons 20th Century
— House of Commons 21st Century (3 parts)
— — Module 1 (2005-2010), Module 2 (2010-2015), and Module 3 (2015-2022)
— House of Lords, 1800-1910
— Hansard, 1803-2005 (included for free)
PERIOD COVERED: 19th to 21st centuries
Predominantly covers the US, UK, and Canada (and to a lesser extent, Australia).
The collection includes:
— Documents relating to Doris Stevens and Martha Carey Thomas in their fight for suffrage, including letters to Emmeline Pankhurst
— Papers from the collection of Betty Friedan, a leading figure in the feminist movement
— A collection of newsletters representing the development of the men’s movement from the 1970s onwards
PERIOD COVERED: 1859–2007 The areas include:
— How wars—including World War I, World War II, and the Korean War—affected the lives of men and women on the home front and in the battlefield
— Women’s rights, sex, and gender relations
— Citizenship in different contexts
— The role of religion
— Perspectives on the American Dream
— Representations of other cultures
PERIOD COVERED: 1514-1980
Features the summary of the history in the 1850s, 1900s, and 1950s in Australia, UK, and U.S.
Primary sources cover printed and manuscript cookbooks, advertising ephemera, government documents, marketing reports, films and illustrated content to discover the evolution of food and drink within everyday life and the public sphere.
[Gale] PERIOD COVERED: 19th and 20th centuries
— Collected Records of the Women's Peace Party: 1914-1920
— European Women's Periodicals
— Grassroots Feminist Organizations, Part 1: Boston Area Second Wave Organizations, 1968-1998
— Grassroots Feminist Organizations, Part 2: San Francisco Women's Building / Women's Centers, 1972-1998
— Malthusian, 1879-1921 (formerly Women and the Social Control of Their Bodies)
— Planned Parenthood Federation of America Records, 1918-1974
— Records of the Women's Peace Union: 1921-1940
— Women and Health/Mental Health
— Women and Law Collection
— Women's Lives
— Women's Labour League: Conference Reports and Journals, 1906-1977
— Women's Trade Union League and Its Leaders
Major collection areas in History Vault focus on the Black Freedom Movement of the 20th Century, Southern Life and Slavery, Women's Rights, International Relations, American Politics and Society with a strong focus on the 20th Century, and labor unions, workers and radical politics in the 20th Century. For example,
— Struggle for Women's Rights, Organizational Records, 1880-1990
— Women's Studies Manuscript Collections from the Schlesinger Library: Voting Rights, National Politics, and Reproductive Rights
— Women at Work during WW II: Rosie the Riveter and the Women's Army Corps
— Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange
— British Politics and Society
— British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture
— Children's Literature and Childhood
— Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest
— European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection
— Mapping the World: Maps and Travel Literature
— Photography: The World through the Lens
— Religion, Society, Spirituality, and Reform
— Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925
— Women: Transnational Networks
The collection consists largely of case files but also contains a great deal of correspondence, memos, administrative files, personnel records, meeting minutes, and documents related to the office’s history that add depth and context to key legal decisions of the Civil Rights Movement.
PERIOD COVERED: 1914 - 1919
An archival research resource containing a vast collection of rare magazines by and for servicemen and women of all nations during the First World War.
They were written and illustrated by service personnel from a huge variety of units: the infantry, artillery, air force, naval, supply and transport units, military hospitals and training depots of all combatant nations including America, Britain, Germany, Canada, France, Australia and New Zealand. Although the majority of journals that have survived originate from units based on the Western Front in France and Belgium, there are also magazines from units serving on the Eastern Front, in Gallipoli, Palestine, Mesopotamia, Egypt, Italy, Australia, New Zealand, Canada, India, Britain and America.
PERIOD COVERED: 1918 - 2015
Consumer magazines in the fields of news, policy, and politics serve as powerful primary sources through which to interpret countless aspects of 20th-century history and politics, relating to – for example – public policy, international relations, human rights, and so forth.
In addition to the representation of various political and religious orientations, the collection is international in scope. Alongside leading US publications such as Newsweek and In These Times are magazines that are published outside of North America and/or are engaged with international affairs, such as Europe, New Internationalist (Mar 1973 - Dec 2013 & Jan 1993 - present), and NATO Review.
PERIOD COVERED: 1937-1967
This resource covers the original Mass Observation project, the bulk of which was carried out from 1937 until the mid-1950s, offering an unparalleled insight into everyday life in Britain during these transformative years.
The material covers:
— The end of the ‘Hungry Thirties’ when the impact of the Depression was still being felt;
— The onset of war, the Blitz and war on the home front;
— The post-war world, with the rise of consumerism and television.
— PART I: LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940
Features historical documents published in more than 35 countries: e.g., the collection from the Canadian Lesbian and Gay Archives (Series 11) includes periodicals and newsletters from countries as far-flung as Latvia and Zimbabwe.
— PART II: LGBTQ History and Culture since 1940
e.g., Posters from the Canadian Lesbian and Gay Archives colourfully illustrating Pride events, AIDS awareness, community events, outreach efforts, social get-togethers, and more.
— PART III: Sex and Sexuality, 16th to 20th Centuries - A date range of 1600–1940
— PART IV: International Perspectives on LGBTQ Activism and Culture (e.g., Johannesburg and Zimbabwe, South Africa; Melbourne, Victoria, Australia; Brooklyn, New York)
PERIOD COVERED: Late 19th - 20th century
— Module I focuses on sexology and the work of sex researchers, combining advice sought by members of the public with the corresponding answers, thoughts on research proposals and work sent by academics and medical professionals to the Kinsey Institute, Indiana.
— Module II covers LBGTQI+ individual personal histories from the late-19th century to the present day, , sourced from archives in the US, UK and Australia.
Music, Politics, Fashion, Youth Culture – the period from 1950 to 1975 witnessed dramatic changes in society. There was the onset of Rock & Roll; the introduction of computers and credit cards; the boom of radio and television; and campaigns for black power, civil rights and women’s liberation. All around the world there were challenges to authority.
This database contains periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and many other historically-significant periodicals.
PERIOD COVERED: the late-19th century through to 2005
The titles include:
· Better Homes & Gardens (1922 to 2005)
· Chatelaine, Toronto (1928 to 2005)
· Good Housekeeping (1885 to 2005)
· Ladies’ Home Journal (1885 to 2005)
· Parents (1926 to 2005)
· Redbook (1903 to 2005)
· Essence (1970 to 2005)
· Seventeen (1944 to 2005)
· Town and Country (1846 to 2005)
· Woman’s Day (1937 to 2005)
· Women’s International Network News (1975 to 2003)
PERIOD COVERED: 1867 - current
This collection includes the complete runs of the US and UK editions of Harper’s Bazaar, from 1867 to the present (US edition) and 1929-2015 (UK edition), fully indexed and searchable.
The US edition is the world’s oldest continuously published fashion magazine and an authority in the fashion world, focusing on cultivating an elegant and sophisticated aesthetic for an affluent readership. The UK edition is similarly venerable and renowned, containing many decades of high-quality fashion and lifestyle content, aimed at a discerning audience.
A complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included, with rich indexing enabling you to find images by garment type, designer and brand names.
Complete historical archive of the important US fashion trade publication, Women’s Wear Daily. Starting in 1910 and covering material up to the last twelve months. All content is scanned in color with searchable text and indexing
PERIOD COVERED: 1954 - 2015
Covers 26 serial publications covering LGBT interests. Titles include the complete backfile of The Advocate; Gay News and its successor Gay Times; The Pink Paper; Man and Society; and Transgender Tapestry. Topics covered include all facets of LGBT history and culture and its history and evolution, such as legal contexts, health, lifestyle, politics, social attitudes, activism, gay rights, and arts/literature.
Canada’s public film producer and distributor, the National Film Board of Canada (NFB) creates social-issue documentaries, auteur animation, and digital content, providing the world with a unique Canadian perspective.
— Subjects ➤ ➤ Women
— Channels ➤ ➤ LGBTQ2+
The collection will have cross-disciplinary relevance beyond LGBT courses, serving research and teaching in sociology, anthropology, psychology, counseling, history, political science, gender studies, cultural studies, and religious studies.