HIS262H5: What is Canada?

For example, Newspapers in Canada include:
—— The Indian (1885-1886)
—— Ashigiamuk (1887-1888)
—— Kamloops Wawa (1891-1918)
—— The Caribou (1982-1986)
—— Caribou News (1987-1992)
—— Secwepemc News (1983-2014)

[Adam Matthew] PERIOD COVERED: 17th to mid 20th Century
✶ Tribes and Nations offers Exonyms, Endonyms, and Alternative Names (e.g., Northeast)
The collection includes:
— An original copy of The Red Man’s Greeting (1893), written on birch bark by Potawatomi Indian Simon Pokagon
— Treaties between American Indian Nations and the US Government
— First Nations of Canada
— Missionaries and Education
— Trade and Indian Economies

Notable collections in this module from the 19th Century focus on Indian Removal from 1832-1840, the U.S. Army and American Indians in the years from the 1850s-1890s, including detailed coverage of Indian Wars. The featured collections on the 20th Century are Records of the Bureau of Indian Affairs and records from the Major Council Meetings of American Indian Tribes.

[Readex] SOURCE: the Bureau of Indian Affairs Field Office and Central Office Records at the American National Archives and Records Administration (NARA)
It contains all the manuscript letters and reports that the superintendents sent to Washington, D.C., as well as the responses and instructions received from the nation’s capital. Native tribes from every region of the contiguous United States include: Apache, Arapaho, Blackfeet, Cherokee, Chippewa, Choctaw, Creek, Kickapoo, Kiowa, Klamath, Lummi, Mandan, Mojave, Navajo, Nez Perce, Osage, Potawatomi, Pueblo, Seminole, Sioux, Ute and numerous others.

The Collection includes Native American Collection, Indigenous Law, and Early State Records.