Research guides: African Studies Resources @ UTSC: Home

Quick Links

African Studies Course Guides

Key resources

Find Articles

Africa-Wide: NiPAD includes content from three databases: African Studies, South African Studies, and African HealthLine

Africa Bibliography an authoritative guide to works in African Studies published under the auspices of the International African Institute annually since 1984.

Sabinet African Journals includes full-text journals from or pertaining to Africa covering the areas of labour, law, education, medicine and health, business and finance, science, technology, agriculture, religion, and more.

Index Islamicus Records included in the database cover almost a hundred years of publications on the world of Islam

Historical Abstracts for researching WORLD history

Find Books

Find books by searching in the Library Search and limiting the format to Books by using the drop-down menu.

Find Newspapers

African Newspapers

African Newspapers from the World Newspaper Archive
(You can un-select the non-African options so that it only searches African newspapers when you click on "Searching 4 of 4 databases")

African Newspapers: The British Library Collection
Nearly 60 historical African newspapers from the 19th century

East African Newspapers

Middle Eastern and North African Newspapers

More UofT Library Resources

UTL African Studies Resources

Specialized resources

Oxford Encyclopedia of African Thought This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia of African Literature This link opens in a new window
African Folklore : An Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
A Political and Economic Dictionary of Africa This link opens in a new window
Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa This link opens in a new window
Apartheid South Africa, 1948-1980 This link opens in a new window

Slavery, abolition and social justice, 1490-2007 This link opens in a new window
Primary sources, including maps, documents, essays, and more, documenting global involvement in the slave trade from 1490 to 2007.

Sage Journals: Legacies of Colonialism
Through research of identity oppression, education, sociology, health, environment, economy, and religion and spirituality this research collection explores the legacies of colonialism, its ongoing effects, and decolonizing and uprooting colonialism.

UTSC Writing Support

UTSC Writing Support helps students learn to become better writers through a variety of services:

One-on-one tutoring
Writing retreats
Writing and citing: Files, resources, and tips
Using and citing resources
Types of writing
Intro to writing, reading, and note-taking at university
Writing style and grammar
FAQs

Also check these pages for more helpful links and resources:

Assignment Planner

Assignment Planner
The Assignment Planner breaks down various projects into manageable steps based on your due dates. Each step includes hints and "how-to" links. You can also add each step to your calendar using button "Add to Calendar" .

Academic Advising & Career Centre

The AA&CC is here to support your academic and career success! They can help you:

develop your academic plan and study skills strategies, including time management and exam preparation
explore career, employment, and further education options and put your career plans in to action

Check out our website at utsc.utoronto.ca/aacc, drop by in person at AC213 or call us at (416) 287-7561.

African Studies Resources @ UTSC

Ask Chat

April 8–April 26

April 29–August 2

Need help? Contact your Liaison Librarian