Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

African Studies Resources @ UTSC

A guide to assist UTSC students in African Studies to find and use library resources needed to successfully complete their assignments.

African Studies Course Guides

Key resources

Find Articles

Africa-Wide: NiPAD includes content from three databases: African Studies, South African Studies, and African HealthLine

Africa Bibliography an authoritative guide to works in African Studies published under the auspices of the International African Institute annually since 1984.

Index Islamicus Records included in the database cover almost a hundred years of publications on the world of Islam

Historical Abstracts for researching WORLD history

Find Books

Find books by searching in the Library Search and limiting the format to Books by using the drop-down menu.

Image of Library Search with format drop-down menu options showing and Books option highlighted.

 

Find Newspapers

African Newspapers

African Newspapers from the World Newspaper Archive
(You can un-select the non-African options so that it only searches African newspapers when you click on "Searching 4 of 4 databases")

African Newspapers: The British Library Collection
Nearly 60 historical African newspapers from the 19th century

East African Newspapers

Middle Eastern and North African Newspapers

More UofT Library Resources

UTL African Studies Resources

Specialized resources

UTSC Writing Support

UTSC Writing Support helps students learn to become better writers through a variety of services:

Also check these pages for more helpful links and resources:

Assignment Planner

Academic Advising & Career Centre

The AA&CC is here to support your academic and career success!  They can help you:

Check out our website at utsc.utoronto.ca/aacc, drop by in person at AC213 or call us at (416) 287-7561.