The UT Libraries catalogue appears in may different locations. You'll find it on the UTM Library home page and linked to library guides.
Since the UT Libraries have so many collections and different types of publications your search results may be very large. Ask for help if you do not find what you need.
Handbook of Visual Communication by
Visual communication has been experiencing an upswing in recent years and it is gaining academic credibility. It is especially getting attention for its role in electronic and online media. Providing a comprehensive book on visual communication research that has been done, its hope is to create more courses on the topic. This text provides an overview of the research methodologies in visual communication and its approach includes an examination of the theories most common to visual communication, the traditional methodologies used in these theoretical areas, and innovative methodologies that extend the traditional research boundaries. Visual Communication Research includes both theory-based and research/method-based chapters and is organized into sections that each include a theory-based chapter followed by several method-based chapters anchored in and illustrating applications of the theory discussed. This book appeals to advanced students beginning to do research in visual communication, advertising, persuasion, and other media studies, as well as by researchers in these areas needing to understand various theories and applications for their work.
Meaning in the Age of Social Media by
The search for meaning is an essential human activity. It is not simply about agreeing on some definitions about the world, objects, and people, but is also an ethical process of opening up to others and to the world to find new possibilities. Social media corporations commodify our search for meaning by defining the parameters through which we can experience meaningfulness. This new context of meaning requires rethinking the relationships between language, software, and the psyche. Langlois uses case studies of popular social media platforms (including Facebook, Twitter, and Amazon, among others) to revisit traditional conceptions of meaning. She develops a new theoretical and methodological framework drawing from post-Fordist theories, software studies, critical theory, and relational psychoanalysis to examine the technical mediation and commodification of the psychic, cultural, and linguistic processes involved in the search for meaning.
Media and Cultural Studies by
Bringing together a range of core texts into one volume, this acclaimed anthology offers the definitive resource in culture, media, and communication. A fully revised new edition of the bestselling anthology in this dynamic and multidisciplinary field New contributions include essays from Althusser through to Henry Jenkins, and a completely new section on Globalization and Social Movements Retains important emphasis on the giant thinkers and "makers" of the field: Gramsci on hegemony; Althusser on ideology; Horkheimer and Adorno on the culture industry; Raymond Williams on Marxist cultural theory; Habermas on the public sphere; McLuhan on media; Chomsky on propaganda; hooks and Mulvey on the subjects of visual pleasure and oppositional gazes Features a substantial critical introduction, short section introductions and full bibliographic citations
Media Semiotics by
"Media Semiotics" is a lucid investigation of the critical approach in contemporary media studies. Using examples such as "Big Brother" and "Billy Elliot," Jonathan Bignell steps easily from basic concepts to more complex theories, while devoting chapters to specific media forms. New material in this second edition includes sections on men's style magazines, docusoaps and 'realityTV', digital interactive television, and mobile phone text messaging.
Photojournalism: a Social Semiotic Approach by
Photojournalism provides an analysis of press photography from a social semiotic perspective. It explores the role of photography in the news and how meanings are made in news photographs. It also investigates the meanings that are made at the intersection of words and images in the news story context. This is becoming increasingly important for multimodal news reporting in the twenty-first century.The book brings together the author's experiences as a professional photographer, lecturer and researcher to provide readers with a comprehensive tool kit for analyzing images and text-image relations. It explores a wide range of case studies and will appeal to scholars in Social Semiotics, Linguistics, Communications Studies, Critical Discourse Analysis and Media/Journalism Studies.
The Psychology of Music in Multimedia by
The Psychology of Music in Multimedia is the first book dedicated to the scientific research on how we integrate sound and image when engaging with film, television, video, interactive games, and computer interfaces. The focus on empirical research and strong psychological framework make a unique and distinct contribution to the field. The international roster of contributors present rich and diverse perspectives from a wide range of disciplines includingpsychology, musicology, neuroscience, media studies, film, and communication. Collectively, the rich chapters in this edited volume present a comprehensive treatment of research on the multimedia experience,with the aim of disseminating this knowledge base and inspiring future scholarship.
Signs and Meaning in the Cinema by
First published in 1969,Signs and Meaning in the Cinema transformed the emerging discipline of film studies. Remarkably eclectic and informed, Peter Wollen's highly influential and groundbreaking work remains a brilliant and accessible theorisation of film as an art form and as a sign system. The book is divided into three main sections. The first explores the work of Sergei Eisenstein as film-maker, designer and aesthetician. The second, which contains a celebrated comparison of the films of John Ford and Howard Hawks, is an exposition and defence of the auteur theory. The third formulates a semiology of the cinema, invoking cinema as an exemplary test-case for comparative aesthetics and general theories of signification. Wollen's Conclusion argues for an avant-garde cinema, bringing post-structuralist ideas into his discussion of Godard and other contemporaries. Published as part of the BFI Silver series, this fifth edition features a new foreword by film theorist David Rodowick and brings together material from the four previous editions, inviting the reader to trace the development of Wollen's thinking, and the unfolding of the discourse of cinema.