Skip to main content

ENGC91 - American Realisms

Research Guide for the Winter 2015 edition of ENGC91 - American Realisms

Historical Newspapers at U of T

Early American Newspapers, 1690 -1922:

Covers a wide range of American newspapers, going all the way back to colonial times.

Historical Newspapers Generally:

The most useful historical newspaper databases for this class are listed individually above, but our Library guide to searching for newspaper content has a wonderful page detailing all of the historical newspapers accesssible online through U of T's subscriptions.

The Illustrated London News

The Illustrated London News was the world's first illustrated weekly news magazine; its inaugural issue appeared on Saturday, 14 May 1842. The magazine was published weekly until 1971, and less frequently thereafter. Publication ceased in 2003. The company continues today as Illustrated London News Ltd., a publishing, content and digital agency in London, England.

 

 

 

 

 


 

The Times (London) Digital Archive:

This online archive provides fuill-text access to the contents of the Times of London from 1785-1985.

17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers:

The newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817) represent the largest and most comprehensive collection of early English news media. The present digital collection, that helps chart the development of the concept of 'news' and 'newspapers' and the "free press", totals almost 1 million pages and contains approximately 1,270 titles.

Eighteenth Century Journals I, II & III: A Portal to Newspapers and Periodicals:

This project brings together rare journals printed between 1693 and 1799 illuminating all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life. Material is drawn from England, Scotland, Ireland, India, Canada and the Caribbean. There is also a wide range of journals ranging from specialist magazines and review journals to political papers and local newspapers.