Skip to main content

ENGC91 - American Realisms

Research Guide for the Winter 2015 edition of ENGC91 - American Realisms

Literature Resources specifically useful for ENGC91

Making of America - Historical Journals Online

 

American Memory - from the Library of Congress:
(see also: More American Memory Collections) 
American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity. These materials, from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions, chronicle historical events, people, places, and ideas that continue to shape America, serving the public as a resource for education and lifelong learning.

 

Hypertext Projects UVA

Digital projects and texts from the American Studies Group at the Univeristy of Virginia

 

Nineteenth Century Collections Online:

NCCO contains primary source collections of the nineteenth century. Nineteenth Century Collections Online consists of monographs, newspapers, pamphlets, manuscripts, ephemera, maps, photographs, statistics, and other kinds of documents in both Western and non-Western languages.

 

Finding Book Reviews in the Humanities and Social Sciences:

A U of T Guide to finding book reviews in the Humanities and Social Sciences, including print and online sources.

 

A Dictionary of Writers and their Works:

This guide to authors and their works focuses on the general canon of British literature from the fifteenth-century to the present. There is also some coverage of non-fiction such as biographies, memoirs, and science, as well as inclusion of major American and Commonwealth writers. This is a great resource for finding a simple chronological list of an author's publication history.

 

Key resources

Find Articles:

MLA International Bibliography (Modern Languages Association)

The MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), an organization dedicated to the study and teaching of language and literature. The electronic records in the bibliography date back to 1925 and it contains over 2.2 million citations from more than 4,400 periodicals (including many peer-reviewed e-journals) and 1,000 book publishers.

Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature

The Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature contains 880,000 records, covering monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews and collections of essays published anywhere in the world from 1920 onwards.

Literature Resource Centre (Thomson Gale)

The Literature Resource Center from publisher Thomson Gale contains full-text scholarly articles from more than 360 academic journals and literary magazines, as well as excerpts from scholarly monographs, literary correspondence and diaries. It also includes reviews of books of all sorts, from children's literature to adult fiction, from popular non-fiction to scholarly studies;  substantive biographical essays on more than 130,000 authors;  full text of thousands of poems and short stories published in contemporary journals and magazines; overview essays on thousands of books and literary topics; and links to editorially selected websites on authors and their works, as well as pictures of well-known authors and audio interviews and reviews.

Canadian Literary Centre

The Canadian Literary Centre consists of book and reference content from Essays on Canadian Writing Press (ECW Press).  The database includes book reviews, essays, author biographies, and more. Canadian Literary Centre features full text sources such as Canadian Fiction Studies, Canadian Biography Series, Canadian Writers and Their Works (Poetry and Fiction Series), ECW's Biographical Guide to Canadian Novelists, ECW's Guide to Canadian Poets, George Woodcock's Introduction to Canadian Fiction, George Woodcock's Introduction to Canadian Poetry, The Annotated Bibliography of Canada's Major Authors, Essays on Canadian Writing (1974-present), Books in Canada (1971-present), Quill & Quire (1996-present), Textual Studies in Canada, University of Toronto Quarterly (1975-present), and many more.

The MLA International Bibliography is a subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. It is produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), an organization dedicated to the study and teaching of language and literature. The electronic records in the bibliography date back to 1925 and it contains over 2.2 million citations from more than 4,400 periodicals (including many peer-reviewed e-journals) and 1,000 book publishers.

 

Find Books:

Search the U of T Library Catalogue: