ERS211H5: Sedimentology

Derived from the content of the respected McGraw-Hill "Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms, Sixth Edition," each title provides thousands of definitions of words and phrases encountered in a specific discipline. All include: pronunciation guide for every term; acronyms, cross-references, and abbreviations; appendices with conversion tables; listings of scientific, technical, and mathematical notation; tables of relevant data; and more. It is written in a convenient, quick-find format.

A revised and updated edition of this essential guide to Geology for both students and the general reader The second edition of the Collins Dictionary of Geology, first published in 1987, is a fully comprehensive and up-to-date dictionary of geology, encompassing all the major areas of study in over 4500 entries, making current terminology accessible for the general reader while retaining the breadth and depth of explanation required by students of geology. The text has been fully revised and updated to cover all the major areas of geological study, including practical and economic applications.

This leading dictionary - now in its fourth edition - offers wide-ranging and authoritative coverage of the earth sciences and related topics in over 7,500 clear and accessible entries. Coverage includes geology, planetary science, oceanography, palaeontology, mineralogy, and volcanology, aswell as climatology, geochemistry, and petrology.This new edition has been fully updated and 150 new entries added, with expanded coverage of geology and planetary geology terms. Over 130 line drawings accompany the definitions.The Dictionary also provides recommended web links which are listed and regularly updated on a dedicated companion website. Appendices include a revised geological time scale, an updated bibliography, stratigraphic units, lunar and Martian time scales, wind-strength scales, and SI units. Thisdictionary is essential for students of geography, geology, and earth sciences, and for those in in related disciplines.

This reference is for students and general readers who want informative definitions. This reference includes 3000 entries covering all aspects of earth science. Key concepts in physics, chemistry, biology, and mathematics are also defined.

Decades of field and microscope studies, and more recent quantitative geochemical analyses have resulted in a vast, and sometimes overwhelming, array of nomenclature and terminology associated with igneous rocks. This book presents a complete classification of igneous rocks based on all the recommendations of the International Union of Geological Sciences (IUGS) Subcommission on the Systematics of Igneous Rocks. The glossary of igneous terms has been fully updated since the first edition and now includes 1633 entries, of which 312 are recommended by the Subcommission.