Oxford Islamic Studies Online features reference content and commentary by renowned scholars in areas such as global Islamic history, concepts, people, practices, politics, and culture, and is regularly updated. Includes: The Koran Interpreted Translation by A.J. Arberry The Qurʾan Translation by M.A.S. Abdel Haleem
An authoritative encyclopaedia which sets out the state of knowledge of the Islamic world from religion and history to politics and culture. The Encyclopaedia of Islam contains articles on the lives of distinguished Muslims; tribes and dynasties; crafts and sciences; political and religious institutions; geography, ethnography, flora and fauna of various countries; and history, topography and monuments of major towns and cities. Geographical and historical scope encompasses the Arabo-Islamic empire, Iran, central Asia, India, Indonesia, Ottoman empire, and modern Islamic states.
An authoritative encyclopedia on Islam and the Muslim world. The third edition of the Encyclopaedia of Islam covers religious, historical, cultural, social, political, and artistic aspects of the Muslim presence worldwide from the eighth to the twentieth century. EI3 is being published online and in print simultaneously by Brill, and will take approximately 15 years to complete. if the topic you need is not available, check the previous edition listed above
"The Qur'an is the primary religious text for one-fifth of the world's population and has been an object of reverence and of intense study for centuries. Drawing upon a rich scholarly heritage, Brill's Encyclopaedia of the Qur'an contains alphabetically arranged articles about the contents of the Qur'an. It is an encyclopedic dictionary of qur'anic terms, concepts, personalities, place names, cultural history, and exegesis extended with essays on the most important themes and subjects within qur'anic studies. With over 750 entries, the EQ is the first comprehensive, multivolume reference work on the Qur'an to appear in Western languages."
Call Number: PRINT VERSION ALSO AVAILABLE UTM Reference DS102.8 .E496 2007
The standard work on Judaism since first appearing in the early 1970s, Encyclopaedia Judaica has been extensively revised and expanded for the current 2006 edition. It includes more than 21,000 signed entries on Jewish life, culture, history and religion.There are 2,600 brand-new entries, as well as 11,000 entries which have been updated.
The "Encyclopedia of Jews in the Islamic World" covers an area of Jewish history, religion, and culture which until now has lacked its own cohesive/discreet reference work. The Encyclopedia aims to fi ll the gap in academic reference literature on the Jews of Muslim lands particularly in the late medieval, early modern and modern periods. a [ The only reference work of its kind: up-to-date research and bibliographies make it indispensible for all levels of users. a [ Over 350 internationally-renowned scholars from North America, Europe, Africa and the Middle East. a [ Over 250 color and black and white illustrations, graphs, and maps. a [ Over 2200 entries and 1.5 million words. a [ 4 volumes and one index and resources volume. Expanded Online version as of 2010 - contact firstname.lastname@example.org or email@example.com for pricing options. If you require further information, please send an e-mail to firstname.lastname@example.org. Full preview available at brill.nl/ejiw
Call Number: PRINT VERSION ALSO AVAILABLE UTM Reference BP40 .O95 2003
Designed for general readers with little or no knowledge of Islam, this superb Oxford Dictionary provides more than 2,000 vividly written, up-to-date, and authoritative entries organized in an easy-to-use, A-to-Z format. The Dictionary focuses primarily on the 19th and 20th centuries, stressing topics of most interest to Westerners.
All Hebrew terms clearly explained, entries range from personalities in the Bible to today's Jewish thinkers and writers, and the comprehensive coverage includes customs, traditions, and Jewish ideas on subjects as diverse as dance, vegetarianism, and eternity. Including a bibliography, the Jewish calendar, and a detailed chronology, this illuminating and authoritative guide contains a wealth of data on every aspect of Jewish belief and practice, both ancient and modern.