Both online and in print, and containing more than 1,500 articles, this 5-volume set is the major encyclopedia for Celtic studies.
Viking invasions, language, mythology, saints, clothing, craftsmanship, architecture—these are some of the many topics covered in this encyclopedia. The entries, centred on such themes as lineage, manuscripts, persons and scholarship, focus on the period 500 to 1600 A.D., and come with cross-references and bibliographies. There are alphabetical and thematic tables of contents.
Routledge International Handbook of Irish Studies
Cambridge Companion to Modern Irish Culture
Oxford Handbook of Modern Irish History
With more than 9,000 articles on subjects ranging from politics, law, engineering, and religion to literature, painting, medicine, and sport, this encyclopedia is a key resource for Irish studies. The entries, written by established academics, contain bibliographies to guide students in further research. The 9-volume set is so detailed that you get thorough articles on a wide range of people, from internationally-famous figures such as the poet W.B. Yeats to lesser-known persons such as Denis Kilbride, a 19th Century agrarian campaigner and MP.
A Companion to the Early Middle Ages: Britain and Ireland c.500-1100
Medieval Folklore: An Encyclopedia of Myths, Legends, Tales, Beliefs and Customs
Trade, Travel, and Exploration in the Middle Ages: An Encyclopedia
Encyclopedia of World Trade: From Ancient Times to the Present
Please contact me!
Sinn Féin poster, Bangor ("Irish Language Act Now!"). Photo by Rossographer gratefully adapted with a CC license from Geograph.ie.
Known as LibrarySearch, this interdisciplinary database is UofT's largest--and your best bet when more focused databases let you down. It combs through more than 1,200 databases, journal packages, e-book collections, and other resources ranging from the sciences to the social sciences and humanities. At its best, LibrarySearch finds relevant results you won't find elsewhere; at its worst, however, LibrarySearch can overwhelm you will a mish-mash of results from different subject areas.