Research guides: FRE382 Advanced Language Practice III: Written: Find Articles

Summon

Summon is a massive and multidisciplinary unified search index, combining databases, books and journals from publishers, and open access sources, together with our library catalogue and local collections. You can search Summon by clicking on the 'Articles' tab next to the library catalogue.

summon

Refine your search results using the options on the left side.

Additonal web resources

Gallica
- This link opens in a new window
Digitized resource from the Bibliothèque nationale de France and its partner libraries. Includes books, documents, images, and more.

ARTFL (American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language) This link opens in a new window
American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language (ARTFL) -- a cooperative project established in 1981 by the Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique and the University of Chicago.

... a corpus totaling some 150 million words had been created, representing a broad range of written French -- from novels and poetry to biology and mathematics -- stretching from the seventeenth to the twentieth centuries.

Article Databases

These are just a few examples of the many databases in the UT Libraries collection. Additional databases are listed by subject on the UT Libraries Subjects A-Z page. For help locating a database which is targeted to your research topic contact the UTM Library's Reference & Research staff or book a free research consultation.

FRANCIS
- This link opens in a new window
Multilingual, multidisciplinary database covering the humanities and social sciences
JSTOR
- This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary coverage.
In most cases recently published issues of journals (past 3-5 years) are NOT available in JSTOR. Try Project Muse for the recent issues of a journal.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA) This link opens in a new window
The major index for the study of linguistics. LLBA also covers language behaviour and related disciplines in the language sciences (i.e., disciplines concerned with the nature and use of language).
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
MLA is a subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics." Its "international coverage is represented by literature from Africa, Asia, Australia, Europe, and North and South America, and while the majority of records are from English-language publications, at least sixty other languages are represented including French, Spanish, German, Russian, Portuguese, Norwegian, and Swedish."

Oxford Art Online
- This link opens in a new window
This collection contains a number of fundemental fine art reference sources: Grove Art Online, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics and The Oxford Companion to Western Art. These publications will provide reference to articles and other resources about French artists.
Repere
- This link opens in a new window
A major comprehensive resource for journal articles in French. Repère covers all subject fields, and includes journals originating from all over the francophone world.
Scopus
Multidisciplinary coverage.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary coverage including Arts & Humanities Citation Index

Google Scholar

When you find a great article listed in Google Scholar, don't pay to access a copy. The UT Libraries' collection includes thousands of online journals. As a member of the UofT community, you can use them free of charge. Configure Google Scholar to recognize you as a member of the UofT community and then access to your great article will be free of charge.
How to get your journal articles free from Google Scholar:

Click here to go to Google Scholar
Click on Settings (at the top of the page)
Under Library links, search for Toronto
Click University of Toronto Libraries (Get it! U of Toronto) and then Save.