Philosophy

Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2004-present.
This is a series of over 180 comprehensive introductory handbooks, with essays by leading scholars.

Oxford: Blackwell, 1991-present.
Over seventy introductory handbooks on major philosophers and philosophical movements (e.g. Aristotle, Hume, aesthetics, environmental philosophy, philosophy in the Middle Ages) . Some volumes are arranged in a dictionary format with entries about people, terms and movements; other volumes are arranged as a collection of essays.

Edited by Ethel M. Kersey.
New York: Greenwood, 1989.
Biographical articles on some 150 women thinkers from ancient times to the twentieth century. Each article includes a bibliography of "works by" and "works about".

Edited by G.H.R. Parkinson.
New York: Macmillan, 1988.
A systematic (rather than alphabetical) arrangement of the major topics of interest in western (primarily Anglo-American) philosophy. Each of the thirty-seven chapters provides an overview of one of these topics (e.g. the existence of God, the will, philosophy of history, aesthetics).

Edited by Donald J. Zeyl.
New York: Greenwood Press, 1997.
For print version locations, see the UofT Library Catalogue.
Over 270 articles with bibliographies on ancient philosophers (e.g. Anaximander, Origen), concepts (e.g. The Infinite, The Problem of Change), and themes (e.g. Classical Aesthetics, Greek Science).

Dictionary of Literary Biography, v. 115. Detroit: Gale Research, 1992.
For print version locations, see the UofT Library Catalogue.
Articles on the life and works of over fifty medieval philosophers.

Edited by Bernard Wuellner.
2nd edition. Milwaukee, WI: Bruce, 1966.
Brief definitions of words and phrases as used particularly by Aristotle and Saint Thomas Aquinas.

Edited by Stuart Brown, Diane Collinson, and Robert Wilkinson.
London: Routledge, 1996.
For print version locations, see the UofT Library Catalogue.
Articles on over 1,000 philosophers who have lived all or part of their lives in the twentieth century. Bibliographies include both major publications and critical literature. A "Guide to Schools and Movements" gives brief descriptions or different philosophical schools (e.g. existentialism) and lists associated philosophers.

Edited by Adeshina Afolayan and Toyin Falola.
New York: Palgrave Macmillan, 2017.

Edited by St. Elmo Nauman, Jr.
New York: Philosophical Library, 1978.
Articles on major thinkers, schools of thought, philosophical texts, terms, and concepts from both the Middle East and the Far East.

Edited by Brian Carr and Indira Mahalingam.
London: Routledge, 1997.
For print version locations, see the UofT Library Catalogue.
Introductory essays on Persian, Indian, Buddhist, Chinese, Japanese, and Islamic philosophy.

Edited by Jans Burkhardt and Barry Smith.
Munich: Philosophia, 1991. 2 volumes.
Over 470 articles on historical and contemporary metaphysicians (e.g. Aristotle, Hegel, Fodor), schools (e.g. Arabic, Encyclopaedists, Port-Royal), periods (e.g. Greek, Renaissance), and concepts (e.g. logic, plenitude).