Philosophy

Edited by Edward Craig.
London: Routledge, 1998. 10 volumes.
For print version locations, see the UofT Library Catalogue.
The definitive English-language philosophy encyclopedia. Over 2,000 articles - thematic, biographical, and national - ranging from 500 to 15,000 words in length, written by over 1,200 renowned authors from around the world. "In addition to covering the core of most Anglo-American philosophy - the metaphysical, epistemological, and logical questions, REP also provides thorough, expert treatments of world philosophies, including the philosophies and major thinkers of India, Africa, and Latin America, as well as Chinese, Arabic, and Jewish philosophy."

2nd edition. Edited by Donald M. Borchert.
Detroit: Macmillan Reference, 2006. 10 volumes.
For print version locations, see the UofT Library Catalogue.
Over 2100 lengthy articles with extensive bibliographies on every aspect of Eastern and Western philosophy, ancient, medieval, and modern.

Over 1000 peer-reviewed articles contributed by professional philosophers or graduate students.

Over 1800 peer-reviewed articles contributed by professional philosophers.

2nd edition. Washington, DC: Gale, 2003. 15 volumes + annual supplements.
For print version locations, see the UofT Library Catalogue.
The major English-language encyclopedia on Catholic topics, this work contains some 17,000 articles, each with a bibliography. There is an article entitled "Philosophy, Articles on" which provides an overview of the encyclopedia's philosophical content and identifies several hundred entries relating to philosophy. Unfortunately many of the articles in the 2003/online edition are reprints from the 1967 edition without any updating.

Edited by Maryanne Cline Horowitz.
Detroit: Thomson Gale, 2005. 6 volumes.
For print version locations, see the UofT Library Catalogue.
Essay-length articles on the history of ideas in a wide range of topics, including the natural sciences, anthropology, religion, history, economics, and law.

Edited by Joachim Ritter.
Basel: Schwabe, 1971-2004. 13 volumes.
The major German-language encyclopedia of philosophy, of first importance in advanced work. Scholarly articles with bibliographies on philosophical concepts and terms. Does not include biographical articles.