Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research Guides

MUN105: Global Problem-Solving

This research guide will highlight resources particularly relevant for first-year students in the Munk One program.

Journal Articles

You may find the following databases useful in finding articles related to global affairs. Please keep in mind that research in global affairs is highly interdisciplinary. Do not restrict yourself to these databases - you may wish to search in relevant databases related to history, economics, public policy, and political science.

PAIS International

PAIS provides references in the field of international relations, public affairs and social policy to journals, articles, books, government documents, research reports, internet material, and publications of international agencies since 1977.

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)

This database’s focus is on theory and research in international affairs. It includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, proceedings from conferences, policy briefs, case studies and course packs.

Social Sciences Citation Index

This database is multidisicplinary, with a focus on the arts, humanities, and social sciences.

Social Sciences Abstracts

A multidisciplinary database with a focus on English-language, US journals. Also focused on both theoretical and applied social science research.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts

This database indexes journals in political science, international relations, law and public administration. Major areas of coverage include but are not limited to: comparative politics, developing nations, politics and society, economic policy, and welfare systems. The excellent thesaurus helps in choosing appropriate search terms.

Peer-Reviewed Articles

Your professors may require you to use peer-reviewed articles for your assignments and essays. Many databases will have an option for your to narrow to only peer-reviewed sources. We have additional resources that can help!

What is Peer Review? (Guide from Gerstein)

A detailed guide containing information about how to tell whether a journal is peer-reviewed, including a short video. There is also information about how the peer review process works.