Research Guides: CLA204H5: Introduction to Classical Mythology: Background Information&#8212; Mythology

Who's Who?

Each title below includes different information. Compare the results, for example:

Achilles on the Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome
Achilles on Brill's New Pauly: Encyclopeadia of the Ancient World
Achilles on Who's Who in Classical Mythology

The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome (2009)
Call Number: Online and Print (DE5 .O95 2010)
It offers a comprehensive overview of the major cultures of the classical Mediterranean world—Greek, Hellenistic, and Roman—from the Bronze Age to the fifth century CE. The entries include: Aphrodite, Apollo, Odysseus, as well as Myth and Lucian of Samosata.
Brill's New Pauly: Encyclopaedia of the Ancient World
Call Number: Online and Print (Reference DE5 .N48713 2007)
The section on Antiquity of Brill's New Pauly are devoted to Greco-Roman antiquity and cover more than two thousand years of history, ranging from the second millennium BC to early medieval Europe. Special emphasis is given to the interaction between Greco-Roman culture on the one hand, and Semitic, Celtic, Germanic, and Slavonic culture, and ancient Judaism, Christianity, and Islam on the other hand.
Who's Who in Classical Mythology (2002) by Michael Grant; John Hazel
Call Number: Online
It contains over 1200 extensive entries, covering both Greek and Roman characters, providing detailed biographical information, together with historical and geographical background. In addition there are comprehensive genealogical trees of important mythological families and a detailed list of all Greek and Latin writers referred to in the text.

Handbooks

The Oxford Handbook of Greek and Roman Mythography by Editors: R. Scott Smith & Stephen M. Trzaskoma
Call Number: BL723 .O94 2022 & Ebook
Publication Date: 2022
This volume brings together 40 chapters penned by specialists that treat various aspects of Greek and Roman mythographical writings—works that organize or interpret myths—and their relationship to other aspects of ancient intellectual and cultural development.
The Routledge Handbook of Greek Mythology (2003)
Call Number: Online
Chapters include Sources for Greek Myth,
The Beginnings of Things, The Rise of Zeus and Revolts Against his Rule, The Brothers and Sisters of Zeus, and so forth.
The Oxford Handbook of Ancient Greek Religion (2015)
Call Number: Online
This handbook offers a comprehensive overview of scholarship in ancient Greek religion, from the Archaic to the Hellenistic periods.
The Oxford Handbook of Hellenic Studies (2009)
Call Number: Online
This contains chapters dedicated to the following subjects and more: Religion, Epic Poetry, Tragedy, and Myth, Mythology, and Mythography

Reception and Influence of Greek and Roman Mythology

The Cambridge Companion to Greek Mythology (2007) by Roger D. Woodard (Editor)
Call Number: Online
The articles examine the forms and uses of myth in Greek oral and written literature, from the epic poetry of 8th century BC to the mythographic catalogues of the early centuries AD. They examine the relationship between myth, art, religion and politics among the ancient Greeks and its reception and influence on later society from the Middle Ages to present day literature, feminism and cinema.
The Oxford Companion to World Mythology (2005) by David Leeming
Call Number: Online and Print (BL312 .L44 2005)
The Companion locates myth firmly in our lives today by exploring language patterns, psychology, religion, politics, art, and gender attitudes. For example,
— Gilgamesh
A Handbook to the Reception of Classical Mythology (2017) by Vanda Zajko (Editor); Helena Hoyle (Editor)
Call Number: Online
A Handbook to the Reception of Classical Mythology presents a collection of essays that explore a wide variety of aspects of Greek and Roman myths and their critical reception from antiquity to the present day.

☆ Brill’s New Pauly Supplements I & II

Oxford Bibliographies Online ➤ ➤ Classics

Oxford bibliographies help you find scholarly and authoritative primary and secondary sources.

Oxford Bibliographies Online ➤ ➤ Classics
offers authoritative research guides to essential literature in subjects across the humanities and social sciences.
Excellent source for identifying key works on a topic.

Table of Contents:

0:00 -- Oxford Bibliographies Online is a tool, not for citing
1:10 -- Advanced Search
2:04 -- Example search: freed* AND tomb (Death and Burial in the Roman Age)
5:39 -- Example search: Alexander the Great
8:08 -- Tips on identifying primary sources in Oxford Bibliographies
9:06 -- Get help at the UTM Library

Other Useful Resources

Oxford Art Online
The gateway to Oxford’s art reference works, including the peer-reviewed, regularly updated Grove® Dictionary of Art and the Benezit Dictionary of Artists.