Research Guides: IRE2002: Research Methods in IR/HR: Research: Conducting & Evaluating

Conducting Research

Dataverse
A repository primarily for research data provided by Scholars Portal on behalf of the Ontario Council of University Libraries (OCUL). Dataverse is a publicly accessible data repository platform, open to affiliated researchers to deposit and share research data openly with anyone in the world. Dataverse is free to use, and is built with open-source software.

GBA+ is an analytical tool used to assess how diverse groups of women, men and gender-diverse people may experience policies, programs and initiatives. The “plus” in GBA+ acknowledges that GBA goes beyond biological (sex) and socio-cultural (gender) differences.

General Research Methods

Questionnaires and Conducting Interviews

Internet (Online) Surveys

Personality Tests

Webometrics

SAGE Research Methods
A research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. SAGE Research Methods links over 100,000 pages of SAGE’s renowned book, journal and reference content with truly advanced search and discovery tools. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings.

PsycTESTS
PsycTESTS is a database that provides information about psychological tests and measures. It includes citations to articles that discuss the test and how it can be used. In many cases, the full test is available to download as well. A good source for validated scales/survey questions.
Measure Chest
(Research Methods Division, Academy of Management) Once you find an article, search for it in the UTLibraries catalogue.
Price, J. L. (1997). Handbook of organizational measurement. International Journal of Manpower, 18(4/5/6), 305–558. https://doi.org/10.1108/01437729710182260
Example organizational measurements/questions: Communication, Ideology, Satisfaction, Stress

Measures of Personality and Social Psychological Constructs by Gregory J. Boyle (Editor); Donald H. Saklofske (Editor); Gerald Matthews (Editor)
ISBN: 0123869587
Publication Date: 2014-09-04
Sage Handbook of Personality Theory and Assessment by Gregory J. Boyle (Editor); Gerald Matthews (Editor); Donald H. Saklofske (Editor)
ISBN: 1283880695
Publication Date: 2008-01-01
Taking the Measure of Work by Dail L. Fields
ISBN: 1483303624
Publication Date: 2002-01-01
Measures of Personality and Social Psychological Attitudes by John P. Robinson (Editor); Philllip R. Shaver (Volume Editor); Lawrence S. Wrightsman (Volume Editor)
ISBN: 0125902441
Publication Date: 1991-02-20
The Experience of Work by John Cook (Editor)
ISBN: 0121870502
Publication Date: 1981-01-28

Evaluating Research

RAND, July 2013: "Measuring research: A guide to research evaluation frameworks and tools," by Susan Guthrie, Watu Wamae, Stephanie Diepeveen, Steven Wooding and Jonathan Grant (189 pages, PDF)

Sample research project reports are available on Quercus.

University of Toronto Map and Data Library
Browsing the Statistics Canada Data Liberation Initiative (DLI) collection you can look at Surveys such as the Workplace and Employee Survey (WES)
Government of Canada, Open Government
ODESI
Established in 2007, (Ontario Data Documentation, Extraction Service and Infrastructure) is a digital repository for social science data, including polling data. It is a web-based data exploration, extraction and analysis tool that uses the Data Documentation Initiative (DDI) social science data standard provides researchers the ability to search for survey questions (variables) across thousands of datasets. There are both microdata and aggregate data available, in a range of formats.
DATA.GOV
The home of the U.S. Government’s open data: Here you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more
ILOSTAT (International Labour Organization (ILO) Statistics Databases
Statistics Canada
Statistics Canada Data
Statistics Canada Data Centre (Toronto Region)
U.K. National Economic and Social Data Service
Maintained by Universities of Essex and Manchester.
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics
U.S. National Opinion Research Centre General Social Survey
U.S. Union Membership & Coverage Database
W.E. Upjohn Institute Employment Research Data Centre
Worker Representation and Participation Survey
Data for Freeman, Richard B. and Joel Rogers, What Workers Want, Cornell ILR Press, 1999
World Inequality Database
GitHub: Awesome Public Datasets

Research Data Management

Research Data Management: Providing University of Toronto researchers with information and guidance on research data management.
How do I...
Find consent forms (that includes consent to share data)?
Keep my data secure?
Write a data management plan?
Encrypt my data?
Find out what funders require?
Choose an online survey tool?
Handle sensitive data?

IRE2002: Research Methods in IR/HR

Conducting Research

Evaluating Research

Sample research project reports are available on Quercus.

Research Data Management

Library links

Libraries

Contact

Connect with us