Skip to main content

International Developments in Labour and Human Resources Policy, and Labour and Globalization (IRE 1600 and IRE 1615)

This subject guide is meant to assist students, particularly those enrolled in IRE1600 and IRE1615 with research papers and assignments.

Global Preferential Trade Agreements

Trade AgreementsThe World Bank Institute's Global Preferential Trade Agreements Database (GPTAD) provides information on preferential trade agreements (PTAs) around the world, including agreements that have not been notified to the World Trade Organization (WTO). The database is updated on a regular basis and currently comprises more than 330 PTAs.

The library provides the text of all agreements in their original language and archives them by key criteria. It enables users to sort PTAs by membership, date of signature, in-force status, and other key criteria. It also allows users to download and print PDF files of entire agreements.

International Labour Treaties

Bi-lateral

DFAIT - Foreign Affairs and International Trade CanadaCanada has free trade agreements in force with more than 10 countries, which provides them with a competitive advantage across a wide range of sectors. In addition, Canada has begun negotiations with more than 60 countries, including some of the world’s key markets.

Tri-lateral

NAALC - North American Agreement on Labor CooperationThe North American Agreement on Labor Cooperation (NAALC) was signed on September 14, 1993, by the Presidents of Mexico and the United States, and the Prime Minister of Canada, as one of the supplementary accords to the North America Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA). It entered into force on January 1, 1994. The NAALC was the first international agreement on labor to be linked to an international trade agreement. It provides a mechanism for member countries to ensure the effective enforcement of existing and future domestic labor standards and laws without interfering in the sovereign functioning of the different national labor systems

Multi-lateral

European Union - Maastricht TreatyThe Maastricht Treaty creates the European Union, which consistis of three pillars: the European Communities, common foreign and security policy and police and judicial cooperation in criminal matters.

 

Global

ILO - International Labour OrganizationThe ILO Conventions are international labour standards from the International Labour Organization. NORMLEX is a new information system which brings together information on international labour standards (such as ratification information, reporting requirements, comments of the ILO's supervisory bodies, etc.) as well as national labour and social security laws.

 
The Social Dimensions of Free Trade Agreements

This report provides a comprehensive review of all existing trade agreements that include social provisions and discusses impacts for enterprises and workers. It also helps assess the challenges for arising from the multiplication of trade agreements that include different social provisions.