Research guides: Rehabilitation Resource Guide: Journal Article Databases

Subject Databases

MEDLINE
Premier database for biomedical journal articles. Interface allows for expert searching (e.g. use of MeSH) when conducting systematic reviews, scoping reviews, etc. Covers approx. 4000 journals; international in scope.

PubMed vs OVID Medline
PubMed = Public Medline MEDLINE is the largest component of PubMed (http://pubmed.gov/), the freely accessible online database of biomedical journal citations and abstracts created by the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM®). In addition to MEDLINE citations, PubMed also contains, among other items, in-process citations which provide a record for an article before it is indexed with MeSH and added to MEDLINE or converted to out-of-scope status. More information here. If you are searching Epub Ahead of Print, In-Process & Other Non-Indexed Citations, Ovid MEDLINE® Daily and Ovid MEDLINE® 1946-Present effectively, there is no reason to ALSO search PubMED. Ask your librarian for details.

PubMed vs OVID Medline

PubMed = Public Medline

MEDLINE is the largest component of PubMed (http://pubmed.gov/), the freely accessible online database of biomedical journal citations and abstracts created by the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM®). In addition to MEDLINE citations, PubMed also contains, among other items, in-process citations which provide a record for an article before it is indexed with MeSH and added to MEDLINE or converted to out-of-scope status. More information here.

If you are searching Epub Ahead of Print, In-Process & Other Non-Indexed Citations, Ovid MEDLINE® Daily and Ovid MEDLINE® 1946-Present effectively, there is no reason to ALSO search PubMED. Ask your librarian for details.

Allied and Complementary Medicine Database (AMED) This link opens in a new window

CINAHL
CINAHL is the Cumulative Index for Nursing and Allied Health. It contains fundamental content for nursing and other allied health professions, such as physical and rehabilitation therapy. Some of this content cannot be found in PubMed or MEDLINE. CINAHL matches terms to Subject Headings in the same manner as MEDLINE

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Includes Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL), Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), and Cochrane Clinical Answers. The Wiley platform is appropriate for systematic and scoping reviews as well as other advanced searches.

EMBASE
Large biomedical database with emphasis on drug research and pharmacology; good coverage of alternative therapies, occupational therapy and physical thaerapy. Covers approx. 4000 journals (1200 which are not in MEDLINE); international in scope.

Joanna Briggs Institute This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive range of resources includes over 3,000 records across seven publication types: Evidence Based Recommended Practices, Evidence Summaries, Best Practice Information Sheets, Systematic Reviews, Consumer Information Sheets, Systematic Review Protocols, and Technical Reports.

PsycInfo
Major database for scholarly literature in psychology and behavioural sciences. Covers approx. 1800 journals as well as books, reports, theses and dissertations

Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Citations and abstracts of scholarly journals, dissertations, books, and conference papers in the social and behavioural sciences.
SPORTDiscus This link opens in a new window
SPORTDiscus is the most comprehensive, bibliographic database covering sport, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, physical education, kinesiology, training, disabled persons, drugs, health, health education, biomechanics, movement science, injury prevention rehabilitation, physical therapy, rehabilitation, nutrition, exercise physiology, sport & exercise psychology, occupational health & therapy, public health and more.

Gerstein Science Information Centre

Rehabilitation Resource Guide

Subject Databases

Library links

Libraries

Contact

Connect with us