Guide to Finding Law Journals and Journal Articles

Index to Canadian Legal Literature

• Billed as "Canada's only comprehensive legal bibliography," ICLL indexes Canadian periodical, monographic, and book review literature on law; case comments; books; academic publications, and government reports.
• 1985 to current.
• Available to the U of T community via Westlaw Canada (link to ICLL is on main page).
• Law students have individual passwords to Westlaw.

Index to Legal Periodical Literature (Jones and Chipman)

The Index to Legal Periodical Literature was published from 1888 until 1939. Its six volumes catalogued legal periodical literature from 1786 to 1937 from the US, UK, and elsewhere.

• Available via HeinOnline.
  • Includes links to full-text legal periodicals on HeinOnline.
• Available via the Eight Centuries database.
  • Includes links to full-text legal periodicals on HeinOnline and HathiTrust.

Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective

• Indexes over 750 legal periodicals published in the United States, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand.
• Includes annual surveys of the laws of a jurisdiction, annual surveys of the federal courts, yearbooks, annual institutes, and annual reviews of the work in a given field or on a given topic.
• Coverage from 1908 to 1981.
• Available to the U of T community via the library catalogue

LegalTrac

• Indexes more than 1,400 titles including major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals from the US, Canada, UK, Australia, New Zealand and other common law countries as well as international legal journals.
• The database also indexes law-related articles from over 1,000 additional business and general interest titles.
• All articles have been published between 1980 and present. The database is updated frequently.
• Available to the U of T community via the library catalogue.

Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text

• This resource includes bibliographic records and full text covering essential areas related to criminal justice and criminology.
• Includes coverage of hundreds of journals from around the world.
• Coverage from 1968 to current.
• Available to the U of T community via the library catalogue.

Current Index to Legal Periodicals

• One of the major indexing services for the legal literature of the English-speaking world.
• Features Canadian content
• Weekly index to over 500 legal periodicals. 4-6 weeks ahead of standard indexes.
• Coverage: 1945 to current.
• Available to the U of T community via the library catalogue

Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals

• Indexes articles and book reviews from more than 450 legal periodicals, including journals, essay collections, festschrifts, and congress reports on international law (public and private), comparative law, and municipal law of countries other than the United States, British Isles, and British Commonwealth.
• Provides much-needed access to the legal literature of non-English speaking countries.
• Online coverage: 1960 to current.
• Allows advanced and multi-field searching.
• Available to the U of T community via the library catalogue.

AGIS Index

• Indexes over 140 Australian, New Zealand and Pacific law journals
• Coverage: 1975 to current
• Available only at the Bora Laskin Law Library and Faculty of Law.

Legal Journals Index

• Indexes articles from legal journals published in the United Kingdom and Europe and journals covering topics pertaining to the laws of the European Community and of its Member States.
• Online coverage: 1986 to present.
• Available to U of T law students through their Westlaw accounts.