Clinical Decision-Making Tools/Tutorials
- Evidence-Based Medicine ToolkitA collection of tools for identifying, assessing and applying relevant evidence for better health care decision-making. From the University of Alberta.
- Glossary of EBM TermsFrom the Centre for Evidence-Based Medicine (Toronto).
- Introduction to Evidence-Based DentistryA tutorial from the Alumni Medical Library on why you should practice EBM.
- Introduction to Evidence-Based MedicineA tutorial developed by Duke University Medical Center Library and Health Sciences Library, UNC-Chapel Hill.
- EBM Pico Tutorial: Forming a Colinical QuestionA tutorial from the Alumni Medical Library.
- MedFetchMedFetch is an online tool that allows for repeated PubMed searches. Upon registering and setting up an Automated Medline Query, a user will be sent the most up-to-date citations on a weekly or monthly basis, without duplicates.
- Review Manager (RevMan)RevMan is the Cochrane Collaboration's own systematic review software for producing Cochrane-type reviews. Although RevMan is now available for non-Cochrane reviews, the software is only free for Cochrane Review authors.
From Journal of the Canadian Dental Association
Evidence-Based Dentistry Series by Susan E. Sutherland, 2001
- Part I. Getting Started, 67(4), 204-206
- Part II. Searching for Answers to Clinical Questions: How to Use MEDLINE, 67(5), 277 -280
- Part III. Searching for Answers to Clinical Questions: Finding E-vidence on the Internet - by Susan E. Sutherland & Stephanie Walker (includes web links), 67(6), 320-323
- Part IV. Research Design and Levels of Evidence, 67(7), 375-378
- Part V. Critical Appraisal of the Dental Literature: Papers About Therapy, 67(8), 442-445
- Part VI. Critical Appraisal of the Dental Literature: Papers About Diagnosis, Etiology and Prognosis, 67(10), 582-585
From Journal of the American Dental Association
A practical approach to evidence-based dentistry Series
- Part I. Understanding and applying the principles of EBD, by Brignardello-Petersen, R., Carrasco-Labra, A., Glick, M., Guyatt, G. H., & Azarpazhooh, A., 2014, 145(11), 1105 -1107.
- Part II. How to search for evidence to inform clinical decisions, by Brignardello-Petersen, R., Carrasco-Labra, A., Booth, H. A., Glick, M., Guyatt, G. H., Azarpazhooh, A., & Agoritsas, T., 2014, 145(12), 1262-1267.
- Part III. How to appraise and use an article about therapy, by Brignardello-Petersen, R., Carrasco-Labra, A., Glick, M., Guyatt, G. H., & Azarpazhooh, A., 2015, 146(1), 42 - 49.
- Part IV: How to use an article about harm by Brignardello-Petersen, R., Carrasco-Labra, A., Glick, M., Guyatt, G. H., & Azarpazhooh, A., 2015, 146(2), 94 -101.
- Part V: How to appraise and use an article about diagnosis by Brignardello-Petersen, R., Carrasco-Labra, A., Glick, M., Guyatt, G. H., & Azarpazhooh, A., 2015, 146(3), 184 -191.
- Part VI: How to use a systematic review by Carrasco-Labra, A., Brignardello-Petersen, R., Glick, M., Guyatt, G. H., & Azarpazhooh, A., 2015, 146(4), 255 - 265.
- Part VII: How to use patient management recommendations from clinical practice guidelines by Carrasco-Labra, A., Brignardello-Petersen, R., Glick, M., Guyatt, G. H., Neumann, I., & Azarpazhooh, A, 2015, 146(5), 327 - 336.
- Part VIII: How to appraise an article based on a qualitative study by Sale, J. E. M., Amin, M., Carrasco-Labra, A., Brignardello-Petersen, R., Glick, M., Guyatt, G. H., & Azarpazhooh, A., 2015, 146(8), 623 - 630.
- Part IX: How to appraise and use an article about economic analysis by Abrahamyan, L., Pechlivanoglou, P., Krahn, M., Carrasco-Labra, A., Brignardello-Petersen, R., Glick, M., . . . Azarpazhooh, A., 2015, 146(9), 679 - 689.
Evidence-based dentistry in clinical practice by A. Ismail, J. Bader. 2004,135(1),78-83.
Survey of systematic reviews in dentistry by J. Bader, A. Ismail. 2004, 135(4), 464-473.
Books about Evidence Based Dentistry
There are many books about topics related to Evidence Based Dentistry available online through University of Toronto Libraries or in print at the Dentistry Library.
How to Use Evidence-Based Dental Practices to Improve Clinical Decision-Making by
This book is a one-stop resource for learning how to harness the power of the latest scientific information and optimize patient care. How to Use Evidence-Based Dental Practices to Improve Your Clinical Decision-Making is the definitive resource for dental students and practitioners who want to learn from leaders in the field of evidence-based dentistry (EBD).
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781684470617Publication Date: 2019-11-22
Comparative Effectiveness and Efficacy Research and Analysis for Practice (CEERAP) by Call Number: eBookISBN: 3642231438Publication Date: 2012-03-14Contemporary Restoration of Endodontically Treated Teeth: evidence-based diagnosis and treatment planning by
Call Number: RK351 .C66 2013YISBN: 086715571XPublication Date: 2012-10-01
Evidence-Based Clinical Orthodontics by Call Number: RK521 .M53 2012 DENTISBN: 0867155647Publication Date: 2012-08-01
Evidence-Based Decision Making in Dentistry by
This clinically oriented book covers all aspects of the evidence-based decision making process in multidisciplinary management of the natural dentition. The book opens by clarifying the principles of evidence-based decision making and explaining how these principles should be applied in daily practice.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9783319457314Publication Date: 2017-01-18
Evidence-Based Dentistry for the Dental Hygienist by Call Number: RK60.5 .E855 2014XISBN: 0867156465Publication Date: 2014-09-01
Evidence-Based Implant Dentistry by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9783319268729Publication Date: 2016-09-10
Evidence-Based Implant Treatment Planning and Clinical Protocols by Call Number: RK667 .I45 E95 2017Y (Stacks)ISBN: 9781119080039Publication Date: 2017-01-17
Evidence-Based Oral Surgery by
Electronic book.
This book is designed to guide the dental practitioner in the medical and surgical management of the oral surgery patient. It provides dentists and dental professionals with up-to-date, evidence-based information on how to handle any oral surgical problem and how to work up a patient. The book is divided into five sections, the first two of which present overviews of general and basic perioperative topics and the principles of exodontia.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9783319913605Publication Date: 2019-03-02
Evidence-Based Orthodontics by
Evidence-Based Orthodontics, Second Edition retains important elements of the First Edition, with several new sections to improve its use as a quick and comprehensive reference.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781119289951Publication Date: 2018-07-06
Diseases and Conditions in Dentistry by
Diseases and Conditions in Dentistry: An Evidence-Based Reference is the ideal, one-stop guide for dentistry clinicians to keep at their side.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781119312031Publication Date: 2018-07-24
Evidence-Based Implant Dentistry and Systemic Conditions by
Evidence-based Implant Dentistry and Systemic Conditions provides essential information on the osseointegration and survival of dental implants in medically challenged patients.
Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781119212249Publication Date: 2018-09-12
Books on Medical Writing
Here are some of the general medical writing books in the U of T catalogue.
Healthcare Writing: A Practical Guide for Professional Success by Call Number: R119 .A738 2016 (at Gerstein)ISBN: 9781554812295Publication Date: 2016-08-04Notable for its use of real document examples drawn from actual healthcare settings, in addition to its central section’s extended focus on narrative medicine and new media writing, Healthcare Writing: A Practical Guide to Professional Success provides a wide-ranging, much-needed contemporary perspective on the modes and contexts of writing most pertinent to today’s healthcare professionals. Aimed at students enrolled in university- or college-level healthcare programs, healthcare communication specialists, as well as at current clinical practitioners seeking a portable reference and guide, this book combines a detailed discussion of approaches to key healthcare document types—both professional and academic—with a thorough but accessible overview of essential points of grammar, punctuation, and style.
Medical writing: A guide for Clinicians, Educators, and Researchers by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9783319701264Publication Date: 2018This book is a clear and comprehensive guide that assists readers in translating observations, ideas, and research into articles, reports, or book chapters ready for publication. For both researchers and practicing physicians, skills in medical writing are essential. Dr. Robert B. Taylor, a distinguished leader in academic medicine, uses a clear, conversational style throughout this book to emphasize the professional and personal enrichment that writing can bring. The text includes in depth instructions for writing and publishing: review articles, case reports, editorials and letters to the editor, book reviews, book chapters, reference books, research protocols, grant proposals, and research reports. This third edition is additionally fully updated to include the intricacies of medical writing and publishing today, with new coverage of: open access, pay to publish and predatory journals, peer review fraud, publication bias, parachute studies, public domain images, and phantom authors. Loaded with practical information, tips to help achieve publication, and real world examples, Medical Writing can improve skills for clinicians, educators, and researchers, whether they are new to writing or seasoned authors.
Research Writing in Dentistry by Call Number: RK80 .V66 2010X (at Dentistry Library)ISBN: 9780813807621Publication Date: 2010-02-09Research Writing in Dentistry provides you with a uniquely practical guide to selecting, designing, and writing up a research project. Of particular use to the dental student, both pre- and post-doctoral, this is a no-nonsense guide that presents concrete advice and information that can be absorbed quickly and effectively. By asking simple questions, this useful resource enables you to develop, analyze and present a program of research work. It begins with the basic principles of research: what it is and how to select a topic and plan a program. It then moves on to discuss study design, methods and materials, presenting results and undertaking a literature review. It concludes with a section on basic statistics and analysis. Precepts and guidance are illustrated throughout with examples from dentistry.
Strategic Scientific and Medical Writing by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9783662483169Publication Date: 2015-11-27A document may be based on accurate medical and scientific information, follow guidelines precisely, and be well written in clear and correct language, but may still fail to achieve its objectives. The strategic approach described in this book will help you to turn good medical and scientific writing into successful writing. It describes clearly and concisely how to identify the target audience and the desired outcome, and how to construct key messages for a wide spectrum of documents. Irrespective of your level of expertise and your seniority in the pharmaceutical, regulatory, or academic environment, this book is an essential addition to your supporting library. The authors share with you many years of combined experience in the pharmaceutical and academic environment and in the writing of successful outcome-driven documents.
Successful Grant Proposals in Science, Technology, and Medicine by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781107038097Publication Date: 2015-03-19There are many resources on grant writing in science, technology and medicine, but most do not provide the practical advice needed to write the narratives of grant proposals. Designed to help novice and experienced investigators write compelling narratives and acquire research funding, this is a detailed guide to the content, organisation, layout, phrasing, and scientific argumentation of narratives. The authors draw on more than twenty years of research and analysis of grant proposals, having worked extensively with investigators at different levels, from pre-doctoral students to senior scientists. They have used this experience to design a framework for scientific writing that you can apply directly to narratives. The guidelines and advice offered are applicable across many funding agencies, including the NIH and NSF. Featuring many real-life examples, the book covers a range of topics, from organisational alternatives to best practices in grammar and editing, overview visuals, and working with contributors.
Writing to Improve Healthcare by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780815367437Publication Date: 2018-05-24This new book is a 'what and how to' guide to writing for successful scholarly publication in the emerging fields of healthcare improvement and patient safety. While there are many useful authors' aids for scholarly biomedical publication, none focuses explicitly on these relatively new fields. It offers practical advice that includes preparation and organization of a scholarly healthcare improvement manuscript, where to submit it to find the most likely interested editor and journal, how to take full advantage of coauthors' working together effectively, and strategies for authors to reach a broader health professions readership.
Twitter
YouTube
Instagram