Research Guides: HIS230H5: Introduction to European History 1300-1815: Background Information

Oxford Bibliographies Research Guides

A selection of research guides below are recommended by Professor Cowan.

CONSULT OXFORD BIBLIOGRAPHIES ONLINE IF YOUR TOPIC IS NOT IN THIS LIST.

The box below connects to the entire collection and is followed by a user's guide on how to search the collection.

Oxford Bibliographies Online

Oxford Bibliographies Online
Authoritative research guides to essential literature in subjects across the humanities and social sciences.
Perfect for students exploring new subjects, it provides a list of key works to consult.

★ Oxford Bibliographies Online provides annotated bibliographies, which help you find scholarly books, chapters, and articles.

OED: Origin of Words

Oxford English Dictionary Online (OED)
To take advantage of OED, take a look at the Video guides
Entries in the OED are supported by quotation evidence with real examples of words in use shown throughout the written record.
The primary function of OED quotations is to illustrate the way a word or sense is used through its history from its earliest use to the present day or, in the case of obsolete words and senses, the last period during which it was in use.

Oxford Reference Sources

These sources will provide background information on the time periods and events related to your topic. This information may help you identify primary sources or the individuals to research for primary sources. Please consult the section on Finding Primary Sources for additional tips.

Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages by André Vauchez (Editor)
Publication Date: 2000 (E-Book)
Covering from the 5th to the 15th century, the Encyclopedia explores art, architecture, religion, law, science, language, philosophy, and theology, as well as cultural, religious, intellectual, social and political history.
The Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages by Robert E. Bjork (Editor)
Publication Date: 2010 (E-Book)
It covers key aspects of European history, society, and culture from 500 to 1500 A.D., as well as the Byzantine Empire, Islamic dynasties, and Asiatic peoples of the era.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Medieval Warfare and Military Technology by Clifford J. Rogers
Publication Date: 2010 (E-Book)
From the Viking invasions to the Crusades to the Hundred Years’ War, wars were crucial agents of change in medieval Europe. Articles provide information on how and why wars were waged throughout Europe, the Byzantine Empire, and the Crusader States between 500 C.E. to 1500.
The Oxford Dictionary of the Renaissance by Gordon Campbell
Publication Date: 2003 (E-Book)
This dictionary provides rich detail on all aspects of the Renaissance in 14th to 17th century Europe. It includes comprehensive coverage of the art, literature, science, culture, philosophy, religion, economics, history, and conflict of the period.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation by Hans J. Hillerbrand (Editor)
Publication Date: 1996 (E-Book)
Source for information about the entire range of religious and social changes that altered the face of Europe in the sixteenth century, encompassing not only issues of church polity and theology but also developments in politics, economics, demographics, art and literature.
Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment by Alan Charles Kors (Editor)
Publication Date: 2002 (E-Book)
It covers the “long” Enlightenment, from the rise of Descartes' disciples in 1670 to the restoration of the Bourbon monarchy in 1815. The geographical coverage includes not only Western Europe but also North America, Brazil, and Iberian, Russian, Jewish, and Eastern European cultures.
Early Modern Europe, 1450-1789 (2nd ed.) by Merry E. Wiesner-Hanks
Publication Date: 2013 (E-Book)
Part 1: 1450-1600
Part 2: 1600-1789
A History of Law in Europe: From the Early Middle Ages to the Twentieth Century by Antonio Padoa-Schioppa; Caterina Fitzgerald (Translator)
Publication Date: 2017 (E-Book)
Part II - The Age of the Classical Ius Commune (12th–15th centuries)
Part III - The Early Modern Period (16th–18th centuries)
Part IV - The Age of Reforms (1750–1814)

Oxford Art Online
The gateway to Oxford’s art reference works, including the peer-reviewed, regularly updated Grove® Dictionary of Art and the Benezit Dictionary of Artists.
Grove Music Online
This online music encyclopedia, from Pre– and Early Medieval (before 800) to present, offers comprehensive coverage of music, musicians, music-making, and music scholarship.

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography (DNB)

Other Reference Sources

The New Cambridge Medieval History
Publication Date: 1995 - 2005 (E-Book)
— Volume 6, c.1300–c.1415
— Volume 7, c.1415–c.1500