HIS230H5: Introduction to European History 1300-1815

— PART I: The Tudors, 1509-1603: State Papers Domestic
— PART II: The Tudors, 1509-1603: State Papers Foreign, Scotland, Borders, Ireland and Registers of the Privy Council
— PART III: The Stuarts and Commonwealth, James I - Anne I, 1603-1714: State Papers Domestic
— PART IV: The Stuarts and Commonwealth, James I - Anne I, 1603-1714: State Papers Foreign, Ireland and Registers of the Privy Council
— 18th Century, 1714-1782, Part 1: State Papers Domestic, Military, Naval and Registers of the Privy Council
— 18th Century, 1714-1782, Part 2: State Papers Foreign, Low Countries and Germany
— 18th Century, 1714-1782, Part 3: State Papers Foreign, Western Europe
— The Stuart and the Cumberland Papers from the Royal Archives, Windsor Castle
Note: The old platform is still available.

It covers adultery, commercial law, conspiracy, constitutional law, crimes against persons, domestic relations, dueling, elections, impeachment, international law, land, libel, military offenses, murder, slavery, theft, torts, treason and wills, among many other subjects. In addition to works pertaining to English-speaking jurisdictions such as the United States, Britain, Ireland and Canada, English-language titles about trials in other jurisdictions such as France are included.

[Taylor & Francis] Collection of documents on British history. English Historical Documents Online contains over 5,500 expertly indexed and fully searchable primary documents from 500-1914.

A large database includes vast scholarly indexes to journals, newspapers, books, documents, art work and images.

PERIOD COVERED: mid- 15th to early 20th Century (1920)
Defining Gender provides access to a vast body of original British source material to enrich the teaching and research experience of those studying history, literature, sociology and education from a gendered perspective.

THEMATIC AREAS: Conduct and Politeness, Domesticity and the Family, Consumption and Leisure, Education and Sensibility, the Body

[ProQuest] EEBO contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.
PART I, 1473-1640: Original printings of royal statutes and proclamations, military, religious, legal, parliamentary and other public documents are reproduced in this collection. Insight into the lives of ordinary people can also be gained through almanacs and calendars, broadsides and romances, as well as popular pamphlets like The Trail of Witchcraft, showing the true and righte method of discovery (1616).
PART II, 1641-1700: includes early editions of Aphra Behn, Anne Killigrew, and Margaret Cavendish, books by Newton, Boyle, and Galileo, and so forth.

The Cecil Papers are a privately held archive of approximately 30,000 sixteenth and seventeenth-century manuscripts, consisting principally of the correspondence of William Cecil, Lord Burghley (1520-1598) and his son Robert, the 1st Earl of Salisbury (1563-1612). These two men dominated the administration of government during the reign of Elizabeth I and the first eight years under her successor. Key events covered in this collection include:
— The clandestine plans for James’ accession to the English throne
— Mary Queen of Scots’ imprisonment and execution
— Tudor re-conquest of Ireland
— The Spanish Armada
— Military events in the Low Countries
— Gunpowder Plot
— The Main Plot and imprisonment of Sir Walter Raleigh
— Early English settlement of America

Documents in Part I reveal the dynamics of Western trade and wealth that shaped the world, from the last half of the 15th century to the mid-19th century.

In the late 1800's, Dutch physician Aletta Jacobs and her husband C.V. Gerritsen began collecting books, pamphlets and periodicals reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and the movement for women's rights.
Overall, the collection contains publications from continental Europe, the United Kingdom, the U.S., Canada, and New Zealand, dating from 1543 to 1945. The anti-feminist case is presented as well as the pro-feminist. Titles include English, German, French, and Dutch monographs.

John Nichols (1745–1826) was a printer and former Master of the Stationers’ Company, biographer of Hogarth and Swift, and writer of a county history of Leicestershire.
The collection features many rare news media resources, including: Applebee’s Original Weekly Journal, Athenian Mercury, Flying Post or Postmaster, London Gazette, Mist’s Weekly Journal, Original Weekly Journal, Post Man or the Historical Account, and Tatler.
* The Female Tatler, the first known periodical with a female editor, and all four issues of The Ladies Mercury, an early example of a periodical aimed at women.

The collection includes:
— Bath Chronicle c. 1784-1796
— Calcutta Chronicle and General Advertiser c. 1788-1790
— Collection for Improvement of Husbandry and Trade c. 1692-1702
— English Posts with News Foreign and Domestick c. 1700-1709
— London Penny Gazette c. 1666-1792
— Loyal Protestant and True Domestic Intelligence c. 1681-1683

From political journals circulated in London coffee houses to colonial newspapers, and from poetic reviews to magazines for ladies of fashion, Eighteenth Century Journals illuminates aspects of social, political and literary life, providing an opportunity to examine a variety of topical issues, and to compare a range of perspectives on the debates of the day. 'Lady's Magazine Index' is a part of the site feature.
Sources from India, Ireland, Caribbean, Canada, Scottish and Provincial English are included.

This database provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the 17th century through to the early 21st, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images. Topics covered include literature, philosophy, history, science, the social sciences, music, art, drama, archaeology and architecture.

PERIOD COVERED: from the 13th to the 16th centuries
This collection focuses on accounts of journeys to the Holy Land, India and China. Topics covered include: pilgrimage, the origins of global trade, travels to the Holy Land, the Silk Road, and the representation of the 'East' and the 'Other' in the Middle Ages.
Featured individuals include ambassadors, missionaries, merchants, fantasists and literary creations, including Prester John, John of Plano Carpini, Ascelin, William of Rubruck, and Marco Polo.

PERIOD COVERED: 1400-1490
Only five major family letter collections from this period survive and all are included here:
— The Paston letters document the life of a gentry family during the War of the Roses. Hundreds of documents and letters exchanged between different family members cover in microcosm the dilemmas of a nation beset by war, disease and legal disputes.
— The Celys were a merchant family, and crucial players in the wool trade between England and the Channel ports. This collection, which covers every aspect of their commercial dealings, will fascinate the economic and social historian.
— The Stonors were a well-established gentry family in Oxfordshire and Buckinghamshire. These documents cover the longest time period of any of the collections and throw light on both business and domestic issues.
— The Plumptons were a dominant northern family. Their documents, which continue right through to the early sixteenth century, reveal a family entangled in the social and economic affairs of the region.
— The Armburgh family material is primarily concerned with a dispute over a family inheritance.

PERIOD COVERED: 1558 - 1945
The collection spans more than 400 years of personal writings, bringing together the voices of women from England, Scotland, Ireland, and Wales.

PERIOD COVERED: 1550-1850
This resource explores the Anglo-European response to continental travel for pleasure, business and diplomacy. The material also covers European political and religious life, British diplomacy; life at court, and social customs on the Continent, and supports the study of Europe’s urban spaces.
This collection includes letters; diaries and journals; account books; printed guidebooks; published travel writing; paintings and sketches; architectural drawings and maps.

[Oxford University]
EE includes edited correspondence of the early modern period, linking people across Europe, the Americas and Asia from the early 17th to the mid-19th century.
The topics of letters vary: for example, art & literature, birth, death & marriages, business & economics, diplomacy & current affairs, educational & cultural institutions, food & drink, health, hygiene & medicine, law & politics, maths & geometry, philosophy & theology, and so forth.

— British Literary Manuscripts Online, Medieval and Renaissance
The original manuscripts of seminal literary, religious, and philosophical texts and trace the prevailing social and cultural attitudes of the times through important historical documents like the letters of Alcuin and Lanfranc and the chronicles of Waverly, Glastonbury, St Martin’s, and Lichfield.

— British Literary Manuscripts Online, c. 1660-1900
Literary manuscripts from the Restoration through the Victorian era

[University of Chicago] At present, ARTFL's main corpus, ARTFL-FRANTEXT, consists of more than 3,500 French language texts spanning from the 12th through the 20th centuries.
The 18th, 19th and 20th centuries are about equally represented, with a smaller selection of 17th century texts as well as some medieval and Renaissance texts.
Genres include novels, verse, theater, journalism, essays, correspondence, and treatises. Subjects include literary criticism, biology, history, economics, and philosophy. Click searchable database of text-reuses to search.

Publication years: 1455–1701 (1776)
Languages: French, Danish, Dutch, Latin, Spanish, Italian, German, Ancient Greek, English, etc.
Subjects: European history, literature, religion, popular beliefs (witchcraft), politics, philosophy and classical thinkers, early modern science (e.g., medicine, astronomy), and travel literature.
Project partner libraries:
— The Royal Danish Library - Kongelige Bibliotek (Copenhagen, Denmark)
— The National Central Library of Florence - Biblioteca Nazionale Centrale di Firenze (Florence, Italy)
— The National Library of the Netherlands - Koninklijke Bibliotheek (The Hague, The Netherlands)
— The Wellcome Library (London, United Kingdom)
— The National Library of France - Bibliothèque nationale de France (Paris, France)

FEATURED WOMEN INCLUDE:
Esther Inglis (1570/71–1624), Sarah Cowper (1644–1720), Margaret Cunningham (d. 1622?), Mary Evelyn (1887–1960), Lucy Hutchinson (1620–1681), Lady Elizabeth Lowther (d. 1747), Katherine Philips (1632–1664)

PERIOD COVERED: 1554 – 1984
— The Entry Book of Copies (1554-1842) provide unique information about literary and dramatic works. Notable entries include Shakespeare’s First Folio, entered on November 8th, 1623.
— The Court Records (1602-1982) are an essential source for understanding the workings of the Stationers’ Company and can be used to trace the establishment of book trade practices.
— The English Stock documents (1603-1961) record the activities of the successful publishing arm of the Stationers’ Company which held a monopoly over popular and frequently re‑published works.

PERIOD COVERED: 17th - 18th Century

This resource offers literary scholars the opportunity to examine manuscripts of 17th and 18th century verse held in the celebrated Brotherton Collection at the University of Leeds. Alongside original compositions are copied verses, translations, songs and riddles.

PERIOD COVERED: 1500–1700
With 845 titles by 277 authors, the collection includes theological writings, biblical commentaries, confessional documents, social and political works, sermons, letters, polemical treatises, and other key documents from this critical epoch in European history.

PERIOD COVERED: 1500–1700
The Library includes works by authors, such as Robert Barclay, Johann Buxtorf, Pierre Du Moulin, Melchior Leydekker, Stephen Nye, Michael Servetus, John Whitgift, Pietro Martire Vermigli, and Daniel Zwicker can be found alongside the opera of the most famous names: Jacob Arminius, Richard Baxter, Theodore Beza, John Calvin, Thomas Cramner, Thomas Goodwin, Martin Luther, Faustus Socinus, and Ulrich Zwingli.

The gateway to Oxford’s art reference works, including the peer-reviewed, regularly updated Grove® Dictionary of Art and the Benezit Dictionary of Artists.

Includes architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design as well as other forms of visual culture.

To access the images, please follow the instruction that is available at https://guides.library.utoronto.ca/jstorimage

This database consists of entries for more than 480,000 works of art that are part of the national collections and registered in the inventories of the museum’s eight curatorial departments, including Near Eastern Antiquities; Egyptian Antiquities; Greek, Etruscan and Roman Antiquities; Islamic Art; Paintings; Medieval, Renaissance and Modern Sculpture; Prints and Drawings; Medieval, Renaissance and Modern Decorative Arts.