Characteristics:
--for consultation not cover to cover reading
--can be general (Encyclopedia Britannica, Wikipedia) or specific
--can be print or electonic or both
--can be scholarly or non-scholarly
How to find them:
--search library home page by a given title. ie. Oxford Reference Online
--use library research guides. ie. Library homepage-->Research-->Tools & Utilities-->Research Guides
--browse the relevant section of reference books (ask library staff for help finding the section)
Dictionary of Women Artists. Ed. Delia Gaze. 2 vols. Chicago: Fitzroy Dearborn Publisher. 1997. (Ref N8354 .D53 1997)
Countries and their Cultures. Eds. Melvin Ember and Carol R. Ember. 4 vols. New York: Macmillan Reference, 2001. (Ref GN307 .C68 2001)
Encyclopedia of Social Movement Media. Ed. John D. H. Downing. Los Angeles: Sage, 2011. (Ref P96 .A44E53 2011)
Folklore: An Encyclopedia of Beliefs, Customs, Tales, Music, and Art. Eds. Charlie T. McCormick and Kim Kennedy White. 2nd ed. 3 vols. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 2011. (Ref GR35 .F63 2011)
Encyclopedia of Human Rights. Ed. David P. Forsythe. 5 vols. Oxford: Oxford UP. 2009 (Ref JC571 .E673 2009 & E-resource)
Encyclopedia of Postmodernism. Eds. Victor E. Taylor; Charles E. Winquist. London: Routledge, 2001. (Ref B831.2 .E63 2001)
Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women Global Women's Issues and Knowledge. Eds. Cheris Kramarae and Dale Spender. 4 vols. New York: Routledge. 2000. (Ref HQ1115 .R69 2000 & E-resource)
Worldmark Encyclopedia of Cultures and Daily Life. Ed. Timothy L. Gall. 4 vols. Detroit: Gale, 1998. (Ref GN333 .W67 1998 & E-resource)
Narrow Down a Broad Topic: War
Using a General Reference Resource..: Oxford Reference Online
...Narrow by Subject: Military History of War
Topics:
Topic: Women Painters in Sri Lanka
Using REFERENCE RESOURCES...: ie. Oxford Reference Online, Grove Art Online, ...
...Find BACKGROUND INFORMATION by searching: