Skip to Main Content

Anthropology @ UTSC

Resources at the Library

Searching for Ethnographies in the Library Catalogue (LibrarySearch)

Navigate to the library homepage.
Under the search box, click on the Advanced Search icon that is furthest to the right.
On the first search line, enter the name of the country, region, cultural, or social group you are researching.
On the second search line, enter one of the following keywords:
1. Ethnography or ethnographies or ethnographic
2. Social life and customs
3. Case studies
4. Field work
5. Ethnology
6. Manners and customs
7. Rites
8. Rituals
Adjust the field for either/both of the search lines using the drop-down menus on the left side of the search interface. This allows you to look for your search terms in a specific area of the item's record, such as the title.
On the right side of the search interface, select the format you are looking for (e.g. books, journal articles), and adjust the publication dates or language if needed.
Click the Search button.

Searching for Ethnographies in Library Databases

eHRAF World Cultures This link opens in a new window
Full text database including cultural profiles and ethnographic documents related to cultural groups.
Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new window
Search for full text article length ethnographic studies as well as reviews of book length enthographies
To search for ethnographies: enter the name of the country, region, cultural, or social group combined with AND then the keyword ethnog*
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
Full text of article length ethnographic studies from the American Anthropological Association's journals

Searching for Ethnographic Films or Videos

Ethnographic Video Online: Foundational Films
This two-volume collection contains classic and contemporary ethnographies, documentaries and shorts from every continent.
Ethnographic Video Online: Indigenous Voices
The role of the traditional ethnographer is changing as the perspectives and epistemologies of indigenous peoples have taken on central significance in the discipline. In order to create a platform for indigenous voices to address issues from indigenous perspectives, this collection is dedicated to indigenous filmmakers.
University of Toronto Libraries Streaming Video Collections
All of the streaming services you have access to through the University of Toronto Libraries.