Anthropology @ UTSC

This updated second edition of Mark Moberg's lively book offers a fresh look at the history of anthropological theory. Covering key concepts and theorists, Engaging Anthropological Theory examines the historical context of anthropological ideas and the contested nature of anthropology itself.

Provides a comprehensive survey of contemporary thinking in biological, social and cultural anthropology and establishes the interconnections between these three fields.

This resource gives anthropology students a guide to the ideas, arguments and history of the discipline. The fully revised and expanded second edition reflects major changes in anthropology in the past decade.

The SAGE Handbook of Social Anthropology provides the definitive overview of contemporary research in the discipline. The handbook is divided into four sections: (1) disciplinary connections; (2) place, region, culture, and history, from regional, area studies to a globalized world; (3) issues of method; and (4) anthropologies to come.

Provides a quick overview of a particular theory and theorist with just the basics--the "who, what, where, how, and why". Containing approximately 335 signed entries provide users with the most authoritative and thorough reference resource available on anthropology theory, both in terms of breadth and depth of coverage.

This comprehensive encyclopedia provides extensive coverage of important scientific terms related to improving our understanding of how we evolved. Entries cover evidence and methods used to investigate the relationships among the living great apes, evidence about what makes the behavior of modern humans distinctive, and evidence about the evolutionary history of that distinctiveness, as well as information about modern methods used to trace the recent evolutionary history of modern human populations.

An up-to-date and wide-ranging encyclopedia on human evolution.

The Primate Origins of Human Nature blends several elements from evolutionary biology as applied to primate behavioral ecology and primate psychology, classical physical anthropology and evolutionary psychology of humans. It strives to define the human species relative to our living and extinct relatives, and thus highlights uniquely derived human features.

The entries in this encyclopedia range from summaries of specific sites and the scientific aspects of archaeological enquiry to detailed discussions of archaeological concepts, theories and methods, and from investigations into the social, ethical and political dimensions of archaeological practice to biographies of leading archaeologists from throughout the world. The different forms of archaeology are explored, along with the techniques used for each and the challenges, concerns and issues that face archaeologists today.

The text begins with an introduction to primatology and a review of the natural history of the major taxonomic groups within the order Primates. It goes on to cover methodologies and research design for field and captive settings; primate reproduction; primate ecology and conservation; and such aspects of social behavior and intelligence as communication, learning, and cognition.

The book begins by exploring the emergence of field primatology. It then examines how primatology transformed into a field dominated by evolutionary approaches and highlights how the increasingly anthropogenic environments in which primates live present opportunities to understand primate adaptability at work. Finally, the book considers how such a crossing of disciplines can inform primate conservation in the future.

The Dictionary of Anthropology is designed to become the standard reference guide to the discipline of social and cultural anthropology. Its core consists of substantial analytical articles focusing on key anthropological concepts, theories and methodologies.

This dictionary is designed to enlighten those newly engaged in anthropological study or seeking a quick guide to the field. Including over 800 detailed entries and the intellectual background of terms.

The Wiley Blackwell Student Dictionary of Human Evolution contains upwards of 2500 entries, all drafted with an eye on the student user. It is an indispensable source for those studying human evolution.

Over 4,000 A-Z entries explain the terms encountered in academic and popular archaeological literature, in lectures, and on television. Topics covered include artifacts, techniques, terminology, people, sites, and periods, and specialist areas such as industrial and maritime archaeology.

Clustered into 20 categories of archaeological data, this dictionary defines the terms and techniques of archaeology. It describes major premises, important concepts, and scientific methods used in the field.