Research Guides: Indigenous Studies: Indigenous Digital Humanities Projects

Introduction

This is a list of digital humanities and archival projects created by Indigenous communities and scholars. While not exhaustive, we are working towards making a comprehensive list of digital humanities projects that will be easier to find for Indigenous Studies scholars and students. If you would like to submit your project for inclusion on this list, please email Desmond Wong at de.wong@utoronto.ca.

Community Digital Archives

Chugach Heritage Archives "The Chugachmiut Heritage Archive serves the tribal communities of the Chugach Region by documenting and uplifting Sugpiaq and Eyak voices in the Chugach historical record. We strive to responsibly preserve and promote Elders’ language, stories, and knowledge so that they are available to future generations."
Genoa Indian School Digital Reconciliation Project "The Genoa Indian School Digital Reconciliation Project is a space for telling the stories of the American Indian children who attended Genoa, the stories of their communities, and the stories of their descendants."
Huna Heritage Digital Archives "HHF recognizes that the materials held within the Library & Archives represent a collective memory for the Xúna Kaawu and Hoonah community. As stewards of cultural and historical record we find inestimable value in digitizing our collection..."
Passamaquoddy Peoples' Knowledge Portal "We Welcome You to the Passamaquoddy Peoples' Knowledge Portal. This website is a glimpse of our rich cultural traditions and history."

Institutionally Created Digital Archives/Repositories

GRASAC Exhibits "GRASAC was established in 2005 and can best be thought of as two related things: a network of people who meet, work together, and share ideas to learn about the histories, languages and cultures of the Great Lakes, as well as a database that digitally reunites Great Lakes materials from around the world, putting heritage items back into relationships with each other and with community members, teachers, researchers, and heritage staff."
National Centre for Truth and Reconciliation Archives "The NCTR is a place of learning and dialogue where the truths of the residential school experience will be honoured and kept safe for future generations."
Plateau Peoples' Web Portal "The Plateau Peoples’ Web Portal is a collaboratively curated and reciprocally managed archive of Plateau cultural materials. The Portal is a gateway to Plateau peoples’ cultural materials held in multiple repositories including WSU’s Manuscripts, Archives and Special Collections, the Northwest Museum of Art and Culture, the National Anthropological Archives and the National Museum of the American Indian at the Smithsonian Institution."
Stolen Relations: Recovering Stories of Indigenous Enslavement in the Americas "This community based project, housed at Brown University, is a collaborative effort to build a database of enslaved and unfree indigenous people throughout time all across the Americas in order to promote greater understanding of the historical circumstances and ongoing trauma of settler colonialism."
Traditional Animal Foods "This web publication has the purpose to describe and to reference the published literature on traditional animal foods known and used by Indigenous Peoples of northern North America. We present information on the locations of the cultures whose peoples have used, and often continue to use, these foods."
Voices of the Land "Voices of the Land is a space that supports the community to create, share, discover and celebrate local Indigenous content online. Share your history, your knowledge, your vision, your voice."

Research Guides

Indigenous Studies

Introduction

Community Digital Archives

Institutionally Created Digital Archives/Repositories

Library links

Libraries

Contact

Connect with us