Research guides: BIOC35: Principles in Parasitology: Articles

Biology Article Databases

BIOSIS Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Citation information including abstracts of journals, books, conference papers, and technical reports, in the fields of life sciences and biology.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Citation information and research impact factors for multi-disciplinary journal articles, conference papers, books, and more.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Abstract and citation information for peer-reviewed scientific research, including journals, books, and conference papers.

EMBASE This link opens in a new window
For health sciences disciplines. Contains citation information and abstracts from biomedical journals and conferences. Includes more international journals than Medline. The Ovid platform is appropriate for systematic and scoping reviews as well as other advanced searches.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Public version of Medline, the core database for health sciences disciplines. This platform is best for quick clinical searches.
MEDLINE (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
Core database for health sciences disciplines. Contains citation information and abstracts from biomedical journals. The Ovid platform is appropriate for systematic and scoping reviews as well as other advanced searches. When in doubt, start with Medline.

Looking for an article on parasites to critique?

Instead of searching in a database you can find an article in subject related journal.

Try these two journals first:

More parasite specific journals are below:

When decifing which articles to use to support ideas and arguments in your paper, keep these criteria in mind:

Accuracy	Is this article fact or opinion? Are counter-arguments acknowledged? Are the results accurate and are they supported by the data and methodology presented? Does this support or contradict other articles? Are references to other works given?
Authority	Is the author an expert in this field? What other works has he/she written? Can you find out more about the author? What is his/her background? Has this author been cited by others?
Bias	Some publications have an inherent bias that will impact articles printed in them. Can you determine this from looking at the journal? Is the author's point of view impartial and objective? Are counter-arguments acknowledged?
Audience level	What audience is the article designed for? Is it too basic or too technical for your needs?
Currency	It is usually easy to determine the publication date of an article.