SOC345 Special Topics in Sociology: Families, the State and Social Policy

This database covers the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It includes journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers from 1952 to the present.

A major database for criminology and criminal justice. The subject areas covered by the database include criminology; criminal justice; criminal law and procedure; corrections and prisons; police and policing; criminal investigation; forensic sciences and investigation; history of crime; substance abuse and addiction; probation and parole.

The major index for education. ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) provides access to a broad collection of resources on educational research and information, such as journal articles, books, research syntheses, conference papers, reports, and other education-related materials from 1966 to the present.

This database covers all levels of education from early childhood to higher education and also includes educational specialties such as multilingual education, health education and testing. Subject matter includes Adult Education, Continuing Education, Distance Learning, Government Funding, Multicultural/Ethic Education, Social Issues, Student Counseling, Vocational Education as well as many others. The collection provides indexing and abstracts for more academic periodicals, books and monographs, education-related conference papers, and book reviews.

This database provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services and related areas, including social welfare, social policy and community development. The database abstracts and indexes thousands of serials publications and includes abstracts of journal articles and dissertations and citations to book reviews. Coverage is from 1979 to the present.

Applied Social Sciences Index & Abstracts (ASSIA) is designed to serve the information needs of the caring professions, including practitioners, researchers, and students in healthcare, social services, education, and related areas. It is focused on a core of around 500 of the most relevant English language scholarly journals covering aspects of health and social care from a broadly social scientific perspective. Coverage is 1987 to the present.

Contains indexing and abstracting from social work, social welfare and other related journals from 1977 to the present. It covers topics such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation, community organization and much more.

A major index to journals in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration.

Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) indexes documents and articles devoted to research, analysis, and scholarship on international politics and related fields, including security studies, global finance, diplomatic practice, humanitarian law, global governance, development studies, and environmental studies. This database includes papers from university research institutes, NGO's, foundation-funded research projects, and other materials.

PAIS International offers access to the international literature in public affairs, public and social policies, and international relations. It is an important index for its coverage of government documents, publications of international agencies, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, microfiche, and Internet material, as well as journal articles, books and articles in books from more than 120 countries worldwide.

Provides interdisciplinary coverage of gender-related topics including women's studies, men's studies, ethnic studies, health issues, and sexual diversity.

LGBTQ+ Life provides indexing and abstracts for traditional academic, cultural, lifestyle and regional publications, as well as many historically significant titles.

The Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal) is a database of full-text electronic resources such as books, articles, theses and documents as well as digitized materials such as photographs, archival resources, and maps.

This database covers all aspects of Indigenous North American culture, history, and life. It contains citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada. Dates of coverage for included content range from the sixteenth century to the present.

Multidisciplinary database that indexes scholarly material in the social sciences from 1900 to the present.

This database provides cross-disciplinary coverage across the social sciences, focused on four primary subject areas: anthropology, economics, political science and sociology from 1951 to the present. It covers international material from over 100 languages and countries.

Commercial search engine for lawyers and legal professionals. Search for articles by selecting "Articles and Newsletters" in the 'Commentary' box, or search the Index to Canadian Legal Literature.

A commercial legal database. Click on "Law Reviews & Journals" under 'Secondary Materials' to find articles. Quicklaw also contains the 'Index to Canadian Legal Literature' which has articles, book reviews, government publications and more.