Research Guides: SOC310 Youth Justice: Journal Articles

Understanding Peer Review and Scholarly Sources

Need an explanation of what a peer-reviewed scholarly source is? Check out the video below.

Need help developing keywords? Watch the video below and download our Keyword Worksheet.

The tips and tricks described in this video can be used in some of the other databases listed below.

Need more help with Boolean operators? Check out our Searching with Boolean Operators guide.

Sociology and Criminology:

Sociological Abstracts
This database covers the international literature of sociology, social work, and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. It includes journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers, and working papers from 1952 to the present.
Criminal Justice Abstracts
A major database for criminology and criminal justice. The subject areas covered by the database include criminology; criminal justice; criminal law and procedure; corrections and prisons; police and policing; criminal investigation; forensic sciences and investigation; history of crime; substance abuse and addiction; probation and parole.

Political Science:

WorldWide Political Science Abstracts
A major index to journals in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration.
PAIS Index
PAIS International offers access to the international literature in public affairs, public and social policies, and international relations. It is an important index for its coverage of government documents, publications of international agencies, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, microfiche, and Internet material, as well as journal articles, books and articles in books from more than 120 countries worldwide.

History:

America: History and Life
The major source for United States and Canadian history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. It is an excellent source for research in the fields of American history, Canadian history, popular culture, American studies, women's studies/gender studies, multicultural studies, politics and other fields of study.

Indigenous Studies:

Indigenous Studies Portal
The Indigenous Studies Portal (iPortal) is a database of full-text electronic resources such as books, articles, theses and documents as well as digitized materials such as photographs, archival resources, and maps.
Bibliography of Native North Americans
This database covers all aspects of Indigenous North American culture, history, and life. It contains citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada. Dates of coverage for included content range from the sixteenth century to the present.

Multi/Interdisciplinary databases in Social Sciences and Humanities:

Social Science Citation Index
Multidisciplinary database that indexes scholarly material in the social sciences from 1900 to the present.
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)
This database provides cross-disciplinary coverage across the social sciences, focused on four primary subject areas: anthropology, economics, political science and sociology from 1951 to the present. It covers international material from over 100 languages and countries.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index
Multidisciplinary index to the journal literature of the arts and humanities. Publication years are 1975 to the present. Part of the Web of Science Core Collection.
Humanities International Index
Database includes journals, books and other important reference sources in the humanities. Contains U.S. and international publications. Humanities International Index provides citations and abstracts for articles, essays and reviews, as well as original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, paintings and illustrations.
JSTOR
Provides access to academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in numerous disciplines. ***IMPORTANT: Recently published journal articles may not be available through JSTOR.

Legal Databases:

WestlawNext Canada
Commercial search engine for lawyers and legal professionals. Search for articles by selecting "Articles and Newsletters" in the 'Commentary' box, or search the Index to Canadian Legal Literature. To access the database, click on the blue link under "Holdings".
Lexis Advance Quicklaw
A commercial legal database. Click on "Law Reviews & Journals" under 'Secondary Materials' to find articles. Quicklaw also contains the 'Index to Canadian Legal Literature' which has articles, book reviews, government publications and more. To access the database, click on the blue link under "Holdings".
HeinOnline
Law reviews and law-related journals covering criminal justice, political science, technology, human rights.

Can't find what you're looking for? Check out the Bora Laskin Law Library's Guide to Finding Law Journal and Journal Articles for links to more resources.

Searching LexisNexis Quicklaw, WestlawNext, and HeinOnline isn't intuitive. Check out the help documentation below for instructions and search tips:

The Library does not subscribe to all WestlawNext and Quicklaw modules. If you need assistance, please contact the Sociology Liaison Librarian.

Not sure if your article is peer-reviewed? Check out our video for instructions on how to search Ulrich's Periodical.

button not working in the database? Check out our video for instructions on how to search for an article using the citation.