Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

PSY290H5 Introduction to Physiological Psychology: The Narrative of Scholarship

Tips and tricks for finding journal articles - or primary sources - in the sciences.

Working with a Database

Databases let you be systematic!

Literature of science is organized in large searchable databases. For research in physiological psychology, Web of Science, Neurosciences Abstracts and PubMed are best:

  • Web of Science : A major multidisciplinary database, Web of Science consists of a collection of databases that can be searched simultaneously by topic, title, author, publication name, DOI, publication year, and address. The citation indexes can be searched for articles that cite a known author or work. 

  • Neurosciences Abstracts : Covers all aspects of vertebrate and invertebrate neuroscience, emphasizing basic research studies but also including such devastating neural diseases as Alzheimer's.

  • PubMed : A major database of medical literature from the U.S. National Library of Medicine.

 

Using AND & OR (Boolean Operators)

To broaden a search, add synonyms grouped with the OR operator:

To make a search more specific by returning only articles where all the terms are mentioned at the same time, use the AND operator:

To ensure all forms of a word are included, use the truncation operator * :