Research guides: POL401 Senior Major Research Paper: Newspaper &amp; Magazine Articles

Finding Newspapers & Magazines

Search Strategy:

Brainstorm simple keywords, such as the name of a person, place, organization, institution, branch of government, movement, etc. Keep a list of the keywords that you use in your search.
Identify a date range to narrow your search.
Use quotation marks around search terms that are more than one word. For example, "Justin Trudeau".

Finding Newspapers:

To find a specific newspaper, check out:

The Find Specific Titles page of the LibrarySearch Tips guide for instructions on how to do a title search in the catalogue; or
UofT's guide, Newspapers, for links to a selection of titles available through the Library.

Use the databases below to search for newspaper and magazine articles.

Canadian Newsstream
Access to Canadian news sources from Canada's leading newspaper publishers. Content includes articles, columns, editorials, and features. Some backfiles date as far back as the late 1970s and 1980s.
US Newsstream
Access to the full text of over 1300 newspapers, news websites, and blogs from leading publishers throughout the world. ProQuest Newsstand includes backfiles for most newspapers, providing access to articles, columns, editorials, obituaries, and features published in each paper. Major newspapers include the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, Washington Post, USA Today, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, The Guardian, and many other national and regional titles. ProQuest Newsstand provides local, regional and national news.
International Newsstream
English language publications only. International Newsstream provides the most recent news content from outside of the U.S. and Canada with archives that stretch back decades. The comprehensive collection features newspapers, newswires, transcripts, and digital-only news sites in full-text format. Over 800 of the world's top news sources such as The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series of publications are included in the collection.
Latin American Newsstream
Latin American Newsstream enables users to search the most recent local, national, and regional news content with archives featuring newspapers, newswire, and news sites in active full-text format. It includes titles from Brazil, Mexico, Argentina, Costa Rica, Peru, Uruguay, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Guatemala, Puerto Rico, and Venezuela. Latin American Newsstream provides newspapers in Spanish and Portuguese. Key newspaper titles include: El Universal (Mexico City);O Globo (Brazil);La Nación (Argentina);and El Mercurio (Chile).
Middle East & African Newsstream
Middle East and African Newsstream offers full text access newspapers, news wires, websites, and blogs from leading publishers throughout the region. Sources include The Jerusalem Post, the Gulf Daily News, Kuwait Times, Cape Times, and Yemen Times, among many others. It includes backfiles as far back as 1988 and is available on the ProQuest platform allowing subscribers to cross-search Middle East and African Newsstream with their other ProQuest subscriptions.
European Newsstream
European Newsstream enables users to search the most recent United Kingdom, Irish, and European news content with archives back to the 1990s, including newspapers such as The Guardian and The Times (London), newswires, journals, and websites in full-text format. European Newsstream provides a diverse collection of news from sources covering Europe. Substantial backfiles are available for most newspapers, providing full-text access to the articles, columns, editorials, and features published in each.
Canadian Periodicals Index Quarterly (CPI.Q)
It includes more than 1,300 Canadian periodicals (more than 700 full text), a bilingual interface (English/French), indexing from 1980 forward, full-text articles from 1983 forward. Includes The Globe and Mail, Maclean's weekly magazine, and even travel handbooks from Fodor's for Canadian destinations.
CBCA Complete
Provides in-depth access to a wide diversity of Canadian periodicals, ranging from academic titles to special interest publications to general magazines. The academic titles include the most prominent journals from the social sciences, humanities, and sciences. Other magazines focus on opinion, public policy, children/youth, lifestyles, arts and culture, health, and regional concerns.
Factiva
A global news and business information service. Factiva contains a collection of resources from news media, web media, social media, and multimedia. News media resources include newspapers, trade press, magazines, newswires, and press releases. A limited number of users can access Factiva at one time. If you encounter an error message, or a message indicating the maximum number of users has been reached, try again later. Ensure you logout of Factiva when finished by closing your browser.