Skip to main content
Banner Image

Institute of Communication, Culture, Information and Technology Resources at the UTM Library

Library databases to find scholarly articles

To check if a journal is peer-reviewed: Ulrich's Web, serial directory

By no means a comprehensive list, but the following databases are excellent starting points for CCIT research:

Communication Abstracts
Comprehensive source of information for communication studies-focused publications worldwide. Communication Abstracts covers major journals in communication, mass media, and related fields of study.


Sociological Abstracts
The major index to the world's literature in sociology and related disciplines in 30 different languages from about 55 countries. The database includes both theoretical and applied literature. 


Humanities International Index
Covers literary, scholarly, and creative humanities journals from various geographic regions (including Cinema Studies and Art) features interdisciplinary content.


Humanities Abstracts
Includes content from noted scholarly journals in the Humanities from 1984 onwards (includes art, film, journalism.)

Business Source Premier
A major index for all areas of business including management, economics, finance, accounting, international business, trade and technology and more.

Linguistics and Language Behaviour Abstracts (LLBA)
LLBA covers international journals in linguistics, language behaviour and related disciplines.

PsycINFO
The major index for scholarly literature in psychology from the 1800’s to the present. PsycInfo includes material of relevance to practitioners, researchers and students working in all areas of psychology, the behavioural sciences, and other related disciplines.


​Factiva
A source for mews media resources including newspapers, trade press, magazines, newswires, and press releases.

​CBCA Complete
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database offers Canadian content from four specialized databases, including CBCA Business, CBCA Current Events, CBCA Education and CBCA Reference

Google Scholar 
Multidisciplinary search engine for scholarly articles. 
When you are off campus be sure to set it up so that you get links to the full-text that U of T subscribes to. Do that on the Google Scholar start page (before entering search terms) by clicking
Settings > Library Links > entering and selecting "University of Toronto"