Research on the history and culture of the United States and Canada
Journal articles, reports, commentaries, chapters in anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, and material culture
Peer-reviewed journals and materials from the American Anthropological Association (AAA)
English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories on East, Southeast, and South Asia
Abstracts to research in agriculture, forestry, human health and nutrition, and natural resources conservation
Ebooks, essays, journal articles, and government documents (US and Canada) on indigenous culture, history, and life
Full-text articles, ebooks, theses, and government publications, with a focus on Indigenous peoples of Canada and North America
Journal articles, books, reviews in anthropology, economics, political science, and sociology
Full text access to peer-reviewed scientific research in journals, books, and conference papers
Provides access to quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and other areas for 21 market sectors
Citations, h-index, and impact factors for multi-disciplinary journal articles, conference papers, books
The standard reference guide to the discipline of social and cultural anthropology, key anthropological concepts, theories and methodologies
Over 1200 entries in physical anthropology, archaeology, cultural anthropology, linguistics and applied anthropology
Highlights the most important topics, issues, questions, and debates.
A quick guide to the field including over 800 detailed entries and the intellectual background of terms.
History of the discipline, colonialism, culture, kinship, gender, family, marriage, ritual, religion, linguistics.
Overview of contemporary research on place, region, culture, and history, from regional, area studies to a globalized world
Over 4,000 A-Z entries cover artifacts, techniques, terminology, people, sites, and periods
Terms and techniques of archaeology: major premises, important concepts, and scientific methods.
Artifact classification and typology; methods and techniques of creation; principles and techniques of examination and identification; instructions for preservation
Contains upwards of 2500 entries for those studying human evolution
Current thinking drawing together approaches from archaeology, anthropology, geography, and STS
Focuses on archaeological information retrieval and problem solving utilizing the methods of geological investigation.
Includes primate evolution, human origins, the phylogeny of hominins
Provides a holistic view of the roles played by animals in past human cultures
Explores key works of the contemporary study of language as culture
A collection of original, ethnographically-informed essays that explore the variety of beliefs, practices, and religious experiences in the contemporary world
Comprehensive coverage of gender archaeology, with an exclusive focus on prehistory via Third Wave approaches to the study of gender in early human societies
Overview of the field of paleopathology, integrating theoretical and methodological approaches to understand biological and disease processes throughout human history
Available in print & online
A comprehensive, inter-disciplinary guide to the range of issues surrounding natural and human-induced environmental changes
Available as ebook.
If you are studying the late onset of decolonization in Portuguese colonies, see the chapter on "A Diehard Empire: Portugal in Asia and Africa," (pp.222-238).
Looks at larger conceptual issues that transcend individual traditions and examines religious participation in environmental politics
Each arctic cultural tradition is described in detail, with up-to-date coverage of recent interpretations of all aspects of their lifeways
Comprising 60 essays, the volume focuses on communities rather than beliefs, symbols, or rites
Discusses how to produce meaningful ethnographic films and videos, and how film and video serve as ways of knowing.
Textbook designed to cover the key contemporary topics in the study of human variation and human biology within the field of physical anthropology.
Updated to include the issues and controversies facing the contemporary study of diversity.
Covers all the major areas of the field: genetic variation, variation related to climate, infectious and non-infectious diseases, aging, growth, nutrition, and demography.
Selection of topics in human evolution, variation and adaptability for professionals in biological anthropology, evolutionary biology, medical sciences and psychology.
The most up-to-date and wide-ranging encyclopedia work on human evolution (2017 online ed.)
Presents coverage of the many recent innovations and discoveries that are transforming the subject
Critical perspective to the current state of the field, exploring theory and practice in paleoanthropology, bioarchaeology, and ecology.
Brings together new research into the archaeology, human paleontology, chronology, and environmental context of modern human origins in North Africa
A completely revised understanding of human evolution, due to the recent advances in genetics, palaeontology, ecology, archaeology, geography, and climate science.
Contributors from a range of disciplines consider the disconnect between human evolutionary studies and the rest of evolutionary biology.
Human Paleobiology provides a unifying framework for the study of human populations, both past and present, to a range of changing environments.
Explains our current understanding of human origins, tells how climate determined our spread, and describes the barriers that delayed and directed migrating peoples.
This book reviews the human genome from an evolutionary perspective.
The study of human reproductive ecology represents an important new development in human evolutionary biology.
Survey of the field of archaeological history, concentrating on the post-1400 period.
Summaries of specific sites and the scientific aspects of archaeological enquiry, including detailed discussions of archaeological concepts, theories and methods
Archaeological research is discussed in the context of current sociological concerns, different approaches and techniques.
A range of bioarchaeological methods and theory: ethical issues with human remains, taphonomy, lab and forensic techniques.
Human responses to climatic and environmental changes, and their impacts on disease, nutrition, migration, and violence.
Covers the continent's past from the beginnings of human evolution to the archaeological legacy of European colonialism.
An overview of archaeological investigations in the insular Caribbean.
A survey of modern issues in archaeological theory and method: dating, archaeometry, paleopathology and site mapping.
Prehistoric sites, cultures, and artifacts in the United States and Canada
A comprehensive review of hunter-gatherer studies: critical engagement with older debates and new perspectives
Treating ancient childhood with techniques from archaeology, iconography and bioarchaeology.
Documents the emergence of new, vibrant, multiple, and sometimes contradictory forms of popular resistance and politics.
An outstanding survey of the key concepts, issues, and debates within dehumanization studies.
Critical debates and controversies, including community participation, gender, backpacking, urban tourism, wildlife tourism and conservation.
Research in poverty and inequality, displacement, climate change, health, family, social policy, interventions.
Sheds new light on the effect of economic and power inequality on environmental dynamics.
Perspectives include food science, industrial ecology, history, economics, consumer behaviour, theology, sociology, and environmental policy.
Includes global developments in the field: Conflict, Radicalization and Populism, Dialogue, Peacebuilding Trends.
Representing a wide diversity of cities and religions, the common analytical approach is ecological and spatial.
Feminist and queer approaches to the Qur'an, female authority, and representations of Muslims in film and media.
Covers a range of political actors that use Islam to advance their cause.
Describes a rich history of tension and alignment between Hindus and Christians.
Major methodological themes, such as ethics, interviews, narrative analysis and mixed methods.
Gateway to 270 individual bibliographies on all aspects of Anthropology
Because food production is so central, scholars have had a long interest in agriculture, its origins, and its effects on population and society.
All groups of people develop complexes of symbols, rituals, and beliefs that connect their own experience to the essential nature of the universe.
Archaeology is a historical social science concerned with study of past societies and cultures through material traces, called the archaeological record.
Digital anthropology is an emerging field focused on the Internet-related transformations that make possible a whole array of new social phenomena.
Studies human relations with the environment as factors in cultural development.
Feminist anthropology is a critique of male as well as Euro-centered anthropology; it engages the questions around gender, race, sexuality, ability, and class.
The study of food is at once a classic theme in anthropological theorizing, as well as a burgeoning field in contemporary ethnography.
Forensic anthropology is the application of physical anthropology (its principles, theory, and methods) to the forensic or medico-legal context.
Started in the 1990s to ensure a place for descendants in the discovery, interpretation of, benefits from, and decision making about their heritage.
Linguistic anthropology or anthropological linguistics is dedicated to the study of the contextual impact of language on society and culture.
Medical anthropology examines health and illness, disease and treatments, the body, biotech, and healthcare systems as socially produced phenomena.
Museum anthropology predates anthropology as an academic discipline. Collections spurred the study of the cultures that produced the objects on display.
Both colonialism and settler colonialism are premised on exogenous domination, but setter colonialism seeks to replace the original population.
In its goal of describing language and its relationship to social behavior and culture, sociolinguistics overlaps with linguistic anthropology.
Tourism and travel became subjects worthy of discussion in anthropology relatively recently, in Europe in the 1930s and in the US in the 1960s
Investigates cities and the sociocultural experiences and practices of urban dwellers in relation to the larger socioeconomic and cultural contexts.
