Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Banner Image

ANT430H5F Special Problems in Biological Anthropology and Archaeology (We Exist in Space - Biological Analysis through Geographic Space)

This guide support students in their research in the interdisciplinary science of biogeography in anthropological contexts (geographic dimensions of biological data, the basic forms of spatial data analysis, and its relationship to the study of common que

Research Starting Points for Bio & Evo Anthropology: Books and Handbooks

Encyclopedia of Geoarchaeology

Geoarchaeological research builds collaborative links between specialists in archaeology and the earth sciences to produce new knowledge about past human behavior using the technical information and methods of the geosciences.

Digital Geoarchaeology

Modern archaeology increasingly crosses academic boundaries to investigate past human-environmental relationships and to reconstruct palaeolandscapes.

Handbook of Paleoanthropology

Covers the full extent of current knowledge in paleoanthropology, encompassing a vast range of techniques drawn from geology, evolutionary biology, and archaeology.

Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Human Evolution

Entries cover evidence and methods used to investigate the relationships among the living great apes, evidence about what makes the behavior of modern humans distinctive, and evidence about the evolutionary history of that distinctiveness.

Student Dictionary of Human Evolution

The Wiley Blackwell Student Dictionary of Human Evolution contains upwards of 2500 entries.

Encyclopedic Dictionary of Archaeology

Clustered into 20 categories of archaeological data, this dictionary defines the terms and techniques of archaeology. It describes major premises, important concepts, and scientific methods used in the field.

Encyclopedia of Global Archaeology

The entries in this encyclopedia range from summaries of specific sites and the scientific aspects of archaeological enquiry to detailed discussions of archaeological concepts, theories and methods.

The Oxford Handbook of the Archaeology and Anthropology of Hunter-Gatherers

Pprovides a comprehensive review of hunter-gatherer studies, including new theoretical perspectives, and renewed calls for greater engagement between researchers and indigenous communities.

Spotlight on Bioarchaeology: Books

Bioarchaeology

Revised edition of Larsen's classic text provides a comprehensive overview of the fundamentals of bioarchaeology.

Bioarchaeology

Integrative and frequently inter-disciplinary, bioarchaeology draws methods and theoretical perspectives from across the sciences.

Bioarchaeology

Bioarchaeology is the analysis of human remains within an interpretative framework that includes contextual information.

Bioarchaeology

The book explores, through case studies, how the ways a society deals with their dead can reveal its religious, political, economic, and social organizations.

The Routledge Handbook of the Bioarchaeology of Climate and Environmental Change

Examines human responses to climatic changes and their impacts on disease, nutrition, migration.

Bioarchaeology of Marginalized People

Following previous work done by physical anthropologists on the biology of poverty, this book focuses on the voices of past actors who would normally be subsumed. Edited by UTM's Prof. Madeleine Mant.

The Bioarchaeology of Children

Non-adult skeletons provide a wealth of information on the physical and social life of the child from their growth, diet and age at death, to factors that expose them to trauma and disease.

Children and Childhood in Bioarchaeology

Contributors draw on fields including skeletal biology and physiology, archaeology, sociocultural anthropology, pediatrics, and psychology using a diversity of research methods.

Human Bioarchaeology of the Transition to Agriculture

A holistic and comprehensive account of the nature of the transition from hunting to farming in prehistory. It addresses changes in mobility, behaviour, diet and population dynamics.

The Bioarchaeology of Urbanization

Urbanization is characterized by increased population size and density; the relationship between urbanization and human "health" requires careful examination.

Bioarchaeology of Climate Change and Violence

Emphasizes the complexity of the relationship between climate change and violence using bioarchaeology, the integration of human skeletal remains with the cultural and environmental context.

Injury and Trauma in Bioarchaeology

The remains of past people are a testament to their lived experiences and of the environment in which they lived.

Isotopic Landscapes in Bioarchaeology

This work takes a critical look at the current concept of isotopic landscapes ("isoscapes") in bioarchaeology and its application in future research.

Theoretical Approaches in Bioarchaeology

Emphasizes how several different theoretical perspectives can be used to reconstruct the biocultural experiences of humans in the past.

Bioarchaeological and Forensic Perspectives on Violence

Engaging case studies on violence and violent deaths reveals how violence is reconstructed from skeletal and contextual information.

Bioarchaeology and Identity Revisited

Case studies in this volume come from sites in North America, South America, Asia, and the Middle East.

Archaeology and Bioarchaeology of Population Movement among the Prehispanic Maya

The Prehispanic Maya were a complex, highly stratified society in which city-states governed over large regions, establishing complex alliances.

The Bioarchaeology of Societal Collapse and Regeneration in Ancient Peru

This book explores how individuals, social groups, and entire populations are impacted by the tumultuous collapse of ancient states and empires.

Diet, Nutrition, and Foodways on the North Coast of Peru

Bioarchaeological research into diet, subsistence, and nutrition among indigenous north-coastal Peruvian communities.

Prehistoric Hunter-Gatherers of the Baikal Region, Siberia: Bioarchaeological Studies of Past Life Ways

Insights on the complexity, variability, and dynamics of long-term culture change.

Spotlight on Biological Anthropology, Human Evolutionary Biology, Molecular Anthropology, and Paleoanthropology: Books

Encyclopedia of Human Evolution and Prehistory

The most up-to-date and wide-ranging encyclopedia work on human evolution (2017 online ed.)

Human Evolutionary Biology

Selection of topics in human evolution, variation and adaptability for professionals in biological anthropology, evolutionary biology, medical sciences and psychology.

A Companion to Biological Anthropology

Presents coverage of the many recent innovations and discoveries that are transforming the subject

Evaluating Evidence in Biological Anthropology

Critical perspective to the current state of the field, exploring theory and practice in paleoanthropology, bioarchaeology, and ecology.

Human Biology

Covers all the major areas of the field: genetic variation, variation related to climate, infectious and non-infectious diseases, aging, growth, nutrition, and demography.

Human Biological Diversity

Textbook designed to cover the key contemporary topics in the study of human variation and human biology within the field of physical anthropology.

Human Biology and History

Human Biology and History weaves together the fields of biology, archaeology, and anthropology.

Human Variation

Updated to include the issues and controversies facing the contemporary study of diversity.

Human Paleobiology

Human Paleobiology provides a unifying framework for the study of human populations, both past and present, to a range of changing environments.

Human Biogeography

Explains our current understanding of human origins, tells how climate determined our spread, and describes the barriers that delayed and directed migrating peoples.

Processes in Human Evolution

A completely revised understanding of human evolution, due to the recent advances in genetics, palaeontology, ecology, archaeology, geography, and climate science.

Modern Origins

Brings together new research into the archaeology, human paleontology, chronology, and environmental context of modern human origins in North Africa

Rethinking Human Evolution

Contributors from a range of disciplines consider the disconnect between human evolutionary studies and the rest of evolutionary biology.

Classification and Human Evolution

Chapter on Perspectives in Molecular Anthropology.

Reproductive Ecology and Human Evolution

The study of human reproductive ecology represents an important new development in human evolutionary biology.

Human Mitochondrial DNA and the Evolution of Homo Sapiens

Mitochondrial DNA is one of the most closely explored genetic systems, because it can tell us so much about the human past.

Evolution of the Human Genome I

This book reviews the human genome from an evolutionary perspective.

The Anthropology of Epidemics

Chapter: Of what are epidemics the symptom?: Speed, interlinkage, and infrastructure in molecular anthropology.

Molecular Nutrition and Genomics

Book draws from molecular nutrition, nutritional sciences, and nutrition dietetics through to genetics, genomics, and anthropology.

What It Means to Be 98% Chimpanzee

Presents molecular anthropology--a synthesis of the holistic approach of anthropology with the reductive approach of molecular genetics--as a way of improving our understanding of the science of human evolution.

Spotlight on Public Health through an Anthropological Lens: Books

A Companion to the Anthropology of Environmental Health

Utilizes a medical anthropological approach to explore the interface of humans and the environment in the shaping of health and illness.

Anthropology and Public Health

Anthropology and Public Health examines the critical role of anthropology in four crucial public health domains.

Locating Health

The essays focus on the dynamic relationship between health and place. Historical and anthropological perspectives are presented.

The Anthropological Demography of Health

Encompasses genetic disorders; nutrition; mental health; infant, child, and maternal morbidity; malaria; HIV/AIDS; disability; chronic disease; reproductive technologies; and ageing.

Anthropology of Infectious Disease

Synthesizes the flourishing field of anthropology of infectious disease in a critical, biocultural framework.

The Anthropology of Epidemics

Chapter: Of what are epidemics the symptom?: Speed, interlinkage, and infrastructure in molecular anthropology.

Geographies of Plague Pandemics: the spatial temporal behavior of plague to the modern day

The environmental, political, economic, and social impacts of the plague from Ancient Greece to the modern day are examined.

Pandemics, Publics, and Politics

This book presents research on the 2009 pandemic and other public health crises in an attempt to describe and analyze the distinctive challenges that such diseases pose.

COVID-19: Proportionality, public policy and social distancing

Explores the social and political response to the COVID-19 pandemic, including public policy approaches to the pandemic and their successes and failures.

The Viral Network

The author follows the H1N1 influenza virus's trajectory through time and space in order to construct a three-dimensional picture of what happens when global public health comes down with a case of the flu.

Food Insecurity and Public Health

Affecting more than 800 million people, food insecurity is a global problem that runs deeper than hunger and undernutrition.

Nutrition and Health in Developing Countries

Global health and nutrition problems can only be solved through a firm understanding of the different levels of causality and the interactions between the various determinants.

Global Mental Health

Uses engaging narratives to illustrate that mental illnesses are not only problems experienced by individuals but must also be understood and treated at the social and cultural levels.

Lazy, Crazy, and Disgusting

How stigma derails well-intentioned public health efforts, creating suffering and worsening inequalities. 2020 Winner, Society for Anthropological Sciences.

Health and the Rise of Civilization

Using findings from epidemiology, anthropology, and archaeology, the author provides fascinating evidence about the actual effects of civilization on health

Health in the Anthropocene : living well on a finite planet

Presents strategies that address the challenges such as climate change, stagnating economic growth, and rising socio-political instability

The Economics of Health and Wellness

Ten original anthropological papers that explore the general theme of the economics of health and wellness in a variety of ways.

Spotlight on Primatology: Books

Studying Primates

Primatology draws on theory and methods from diverse fields, including anatomy, anthropology, biology, ecology, medicine, psychology, veterinary sciences and zoology.

Primate Origins: Adaptations and Evolution

Provides a novel focus on adaptive explanations for cranial and postcranial features and functional complexes, socioecological systems, life history patterns, etc. in early primates.

The Primate Origins of Human Nature

Blends evolutionary biology as applied to primate behavioral ecology and psychology, classical physical anthropology and evolutionary psychology of humans.

Human Origins and Environmental Backgrounds

Considers evolutionary puzzles, reports current research, and reflects on the relationships among environmental changes, adaptive mechanisms and human origins.

Spatial Analysis in Field Primatology

How primates use space is a key question in the field of primate behavioral ecology.

Primate Biogeography

Primate Biogeography is a subject rarely addressed as a discipline in its own right. This book will appeal to primatologists, physical anthropologists, zoologists.

Post-Genome Biology of Primates

In an era of "post-genome biology", scientists have information revealed by genome research to confront a key question in primatology and anthropology: What makes us human?

From Genes to Animal Behavior

Brings together the biological and genetic bases of behavioral diversity from within evolutionary biology, genetics, ethology, sociobiology, and comparative psychology.

Primate Life History, Sex Roles, and Adaptability

Organized around four research areas: primate life histories; sex roles, gender, and science; primate-environment interactions; primate adaptation to changing environments.

Ethnoprimatology

Combines primatological and anthropological practice to view humans and other primates as living in integrated ecological and social spaces.

Primates, Pathogens, and Evolution

Differences in immunity are the outcome of complex evolutionary processes that include interactions between the host, its pathogens and symbiont / commensal organisms.

High Altitude Primates

The basic goal of the volume is to compile the most up to date research on how high altitude affects the behavior, ecology, evolution and conservation status of primates.

Primates of Gashaka

The Gashaka Primate Project has grown into one of the largest research and conservation activities in West Africa.

The Chimpanzees of Bossou and Nimba

The chimpanzees of Bossou in Guinea, West Africa, form community displaying an exceptional array of tool use and behavioral adaptations to coexistence with humans.