Research guides: 3D Printing Resources and Tools: 3D Model Libraries

Download a Pre-Existing 3D Design

3D designers and printers like to share their work. Check out the links below and browse for a design that suits your fancy. If you're a beginner, we recommend going with designs that have a picture of the finished product. That way, you might be able to tell if it'll work!

BodyParts3D
A dictionary-type database for anatomy in which anatomical concepts are represented by 3D structure data that specify corresponding segments of a 3D whole-body model for an adult human male.
Gear Generator
Gear Generator is a tool for creating involute spur gears and downloading them in SVG format. In addition, it lets you compose full gear layouts with connected gears to design multiple gear systems with control of the input/output ratio and rotation speed. Opera and Firefox are the most compatible browsers.
Makers Making Change
Makers Making Change has an assistive devices library, an open-source collection of assistive technology solutions.
NASA 3D Resources
Here you'll find a growing collection of 3D models, textures, and images from inside NASA. All of these resources are free to download and use. Please read the Usage Guidelines.
NIH 3D Print Exchange
NIH 3D Print Exchange provides models in formats that are readily compatible with 3D printers, and offers a unique set of tools to create and share 3D-printable models related to biomedical science
Printables 3D models database
A 3D model database maintained and updated by the Prusa i3 3D printer research group. This database is quickly expanding and updating with new models.
Smithsonian X 3D
Smithsonian X 3D launches a set of use cases which apply various 3D capture methods to iconic collection objects, as well as scientific missions. All of these uses cases are accessible through the Beta Smithsonian X 3D Explorer, as well as videos documenting the project. For many of the 3D models, raw data can be downloaded to support further inquiry and 3D printing.
Thingiverse
Browse the world's largest 3D design community for discovering, printing, and sharing 3D models. Join over 130,000 community members in downloading, sharing, and remixing 3D designs.

Researrrrch Guides

3D Printing Resources and Tools: 3D Model Libraries

Download a Pre-Existing 3D Design

Library links

Libraries

Contact

Connect with us