This publication sponsored by the International Epidemiological Association (IEA) remains the definitive dictionary in epidemiology worldwide. In fact, with contributions from over 220 epidemiologists and other users of epidemiology from around the globe, it is more than a dictionary; it includes explanations and comments on both core epidemiologic terms and on other scientific terms relevant to all professionals in clinical medicine and public health, as well as professionals in the other health, life, and social sciences.

Provides information on chronic disease epidemiology, prevention, and control. For professionals and students. The three major sections are: public health approaches to chronic disease control, selected lifestyle risk factors, and major chronic diseases. Focuses on those diseases that account for a large proportion of morbidity and mortality.

Text for students and clinicians on application of epidemiologic principles to diagnosis, management, and keeping current. R. Brian Haynes, noted writer on problem solving approaches to medicine, is second author.

Now in its Fifth Edition, Clinical Epidemiology: The Essentials is a comprehensive, concise, and clinically oriented introduction to the subject of epidemiology. Written by expert educators, this text introduces students to the principles of evidence-based medicine that will help them develop and apply methods of clinical observation in order to form accurate conclusions. The Fifth Edition includes more complete coverage of systematic reviews and knowledge management, as well as other key topics such as abnormality, diagnosis, frequency and risk, prognosis, treatment, prevention, chance, studying cases and cause.

Epidemiology, by educator and epidemiologist Leon Gordis, is a introduction to this complex science. Dr. Gordis leverages his vast experience teaching this subject in the classroom to introduce the basic principles and concepts of epidemiology in a clear, uniquely memorable way. He guides you from an explanation of the epidemiologic approach to disease and intervention, through the use of epidemiologic principles to identify the causes of disease, to a discussion of how epidemiology should be used to improve evaluation and public policy. It's your best choice for an accessible yet rich understanding of epidemiology! New to this edition: Master the latest nuances in epidemiology thanks to a wealth of new and updated illustrations, examples, and epidemiologic data.

Evidence Based Medicine provides a clear explanation of the central questions of EBM - how to ask answerable clinical questions, how to translate them into effective searches for the best evidence, how to critically appraise that evidence for its validity and importance, and how to integrate it with patients' values and preferences. This fantastically successful book on EBM, written by the best-known authorities in the world, will focus on the major challenge of practicing EBM in real time, providing tips and tools to help achieve this. The expanded section on limitations of EBM - discusses common criticisms and the real limitations and how they can be overcome. The book highlights the problems with the CAT databases available on the web and it includes an expanded section on clinical decision rules in diagnosis.

Succinct and comprehensive, this book provides students with an overview of the principles and concepts of epidemiology and illustrates the complementary relationship between population-based science and the care of patients. This publication features epidemiologic implications of bioterrorism, 'Patient Profiles' within each chapter, and USMLE clinical vignettes within the 'Study Question' section of each chapter.
Latest edition not available at Gerstein - click on title for locations (subject to local circulation policy). 2001 edition is available at Gerstein under RA650.5 .M4 2001

Evidence-based medicine involves careful interpretation of medical studies and its clinical application. This streamlined reference distills the most clinically-relevant coverage from the parent "Users' Guide" into one highly-focused, portable resource. Praised for its clear explanations of detailed statistical and mathematical principles, "The Essentials" concisely covers all the basic concepts of evidence-based medicine - everything you need to deliver optimal patient care. Also look for JAMAevidence.com, a new interactive database for the best practice of evidence based medicine.
Latest edition not available at Gerstein - click on title for locations (subject to local circulation policy). 2002 edition is available at Gerstein under RA427 .U83 2002.

.

The third edition of Doing Right: A Practical Guide to Ethics for Medical Trainees and Physicians is a practical guide to analyzing and resolving the ethical dilemmas medical practitioners face on a day-to-day basis. Drawing extensively on real-life scenarios, this book takes a case-based approach to provide students and practitioners with the advice and skills they need to help their patients and overcome ethical challenges in the field. Fully revised to include up-to-date coverage of such important topics as patient-practitioner relationships in the digital age and advances in reproductive medicine and reproductive technologies, this third edition of Doing Right will provide readers with the most up-to-date guidebook to medical ethics available.

This is an analysis of medical ethical concepts based on legal principles and court decisions, describing what actually happens in practice rather than what should happen and, where there are no precedents available, what is most likely to happen. Mason and McCall Smith's classic textbook discusses the relationship of medical practice and ethics with the operation of the law. The subjects covered include natural and assisted reproduction, the impact of modern genetics on medicine, medical confidentiality, consent to medical treatment, the use of resources and problems surrounding death in the new medical era. It is of significance to anyone with an interest in the ethical and legal practice of medicine.
Not available at Gerstein - click on title for locations (subject to local circulation policy).

Building on the best-selling tradition of previous editions, Principles of Biomedical Ethics, Seventh Edition, provides a highly original, practical, and insightful guide to morality in the health professions. Acclaimed authors Tom L. Beauchamp and James F. Childress thoroughly develop and advocate for four principles that lie at the core of moral reasoning in health care: respect for autonomy, nonmaleficence, beneficence, and justice. Drawing from contemporary research--and integrating detailed case studies and vivid real-life examples and scenarios--they demonstrate how these primafacie principles can be expanded to apply to various conflicts and dilemmas, from how to deliver bad news to whether or not to withhold or withdraw life-sustaining treatments. Illuminating both theory and method throughout, Principles of Biomedical Ethics, Seventh Edition, considers what constitutes moral character and addresses the problem of moral status: what rights are due to people and animals, and when. It also examines the professional-patient relationship,surveys major philosophical theories--including utilitarianism, Kantianism, rights theory, and virtue theory--and describes methods of moral justification in bioethics. Ideal for courses in biomedical ethics, bioethics, and health care ethics, the text is enhanced by hundreds of annotated citations and a substantial introduction that clarifies key terms and concepts.

The Tri-Council Policy Statement: Ethical Conduct for Research Involving Humans (TCPS) is a joint policy of Canada’s three federal research agencies – the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR), the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC), and the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada (SSHRC). It expresses the agencies’ continuing commitment to promote the ethical conduct of research involving humans. It has been informed, in part, by leading international ethics norms, all of which may help, in some measure, to guide Canadian researchers, in Canada and abroad, in the conduct of research involving humans. Online access available to full text at: The Tri-Council Policy Statement.

Textbook of Family Medicine is one of the seminal texts in the field. While many family medicine texts simply cover the disorders , McWhinney defines the principles and practices of family medicine as a separate and distinct field of practice. The initial sections cover basic principles and philosophies of family medicine and a later section discusses approaches to common diseases encountered in practice. The discussions not only address these clinical problems, but each is a workshop for incorporating what it means to be a family physician into everyday practice.
Latest edition not available at Gerstein - click on title for locations (subject to local circulation policy). 1989 edition is available at Gerstein under RC46 .M258 1989

This handbook address clinical problems that pose diagnostic and therapeutic challenges for primary care physicians. Chapters cover the diagnosis of a multitude of difficult diseases and disorders, including diabetes mellitus, fatigue, and chronic pain. The etiology of the conditions is also highlighted to help physicians select the most effective therapeutic courses of treatment. Contributors to the text include some of the most prestigious names in the field.
2005 edition available as online resource at Gerstein Library.

Including evidence-based, practical information to optimize your patient care and prepare you for the ABFM exam, Robert E. Rakel and David P. Rakel provide complete guidance on the principles of family medicine, primary care in the community and all aspects of clinical practice.
Not available at Gerstein - click on title for locations (subject to local circulation policy).

The Canadian Immunization Guide was developed by the National Advisory Committee on Immunization (NACI) to provide updated information and recommendations on the use of vaccines in Canada. The Public Health Agency of Canada conducted a survey in 2004, which confirmed that the Canadian Immunization Guide is a very useful and reliable resource of information on immunization. Full text at: Canadian immunization guide.

An official report of the American Public Health Association. The most widely recognized sourcebook on infectious diseases provides detailed, accurate, informative text for public health workers in official and voluntary health agencies, including those serving in the armed forces and other governmental agencies, and for all students of medicine. Each listing is easy to read and includes identification, infectious agent, occurrence, mode of transmission, incubation period, susceptibility and resistance.
Not available at Gerstein - click on title for locations (subject to local circulation policy).

The authoritative work deals with the legal issues relating to patient care and treatment that are of most frequent and pressing concern to health care professionals and the lawyers who advise them. It covers all important issues in medical jurisprudence, including: Legal Procedure - Medical Malpractice, Consent to Treatment, Consent of Minors, Doctrine of Informed Consent, Medical Negligence, Nursing Liability, Compensation for Medical Injuries, etc.

Latest edition not available at Gerstein - click on title for locations (subject to local circulation policy).

Doctors and medical students confront increasingly complicated ethical dilemmas. To respond effectively they need skills in ethical reasoning and an understanding of the law and professional guidance. This book helps them achieve these things. It provides practical advice and guidance that draws upon the large volume of enquiries received by the BMAs Medical Ethics Department. Although rooted in moral theory and legal practice, the book is designed both to provide practical advice for doctors day to day working lives and to stimulate debate on broader areas of public policy.

Not available at Gerstein - click on title for locations (subject to local circulation policy).

Latest edition not available at Gerstein - click on title for locations (subject to local circulation policy). 2007 edition is available at Gerstein under RC46 .C42 2007X

Cecil's Textbook of Medicine has been one of the world's most trusted medical references since its original publication in 1927. In the 22 Here you'll continue to find comprehensive coverage of the scientific foundations and biological basis of disease processes; an introduction to clinical practice protocols; current concepts of pathophysiology, diagnosis, and treatment - all presented by distinguished experts in a new user friendly, graphically appealing 4-colour format. The core of the text continues to encompass the disorders of the major organ systems, including the approach to the patient, clinical manifestations, diagnostic procedures, and treatment strategies.
Latest edition not available at Gerstein - click on title for locations (subject to local circulation policy). 1996 edition is available at Gerstein under RC46 .C4 1996X

The sixth edition of Clinical Examination continues to serve all medical trainees with a clear explanation of history taking and clinical examination. Set out systematically, this best selling textbook has comprehensive coverage of the skills necessary for clinically evaluating patients. Thoroughly evidence based and referenced, in full colour with superior artwork and design, the book comes with free and complete access to Student Consult.
Latest edition not available at Gerstein - click on title for locations (subject to local circulation policy).

With 418 contributors representing over 120 medical centers around the world, Tintinalli’s Emergency Medicine is the most practical and clinically rigorous reference of its kind. It covers everything from pre-hospital care, disaster preparedness, and basic resuscitative techniques, to all the major diseases requiring emergency treatment. This authoritative, in-depth coverage makes this classic text indispensible not only in emergency departments, but also for residents and practitioners when studying or preparing for any exam they may face.

The classic introductory guide to core topics in geriatric medicine -- now in full color "Essentials of Clinical Geriatrics, 7e" delivers a broad, superbly written overview of the core issues in geriatrics, along with concise practical guidance on the diagnosis and treatment of the diseases and disorders most commonly encoutered in older patients. NEW learning objectives in each chapter NEW chapter on end-of-life care NEW full-color presentation.
Latest edition not available at Gerstein - click on title for locations (subject to local circulation policy). 1999 edition is available at Gerstein under RC952 .K36 1999X

A reference to help health care specialists and policy planners evaluate the prevention of medical conditions.
The Canadian Task Force on Preventive Health Care link: http://www.canadiantaskforce.ca/

The use of complementary and alternative medicine (CAM) by the general public is increasing and CAM is becoming more relevent to mainstream health-care professionals. The option of CAM will increasingly need to be considered when making clinical decisions, including rapid referral or prescribing. The Desktop Guide to Complementary and Alternative Medicine presents evidence-based content and is a reliable source of objective information for all health-care providers and physicians.

The Washington Manual of Medical Therapeutics has been regarded as a necessity on medical wards worldwide for more than 40 years. Now, this edition of the respected resource builds upon that proud tradition -- with even more of the current information you need, with a focus on inpatient care, delivered in a timesaving, quick-reference style.

Based on the best available medical evidence, Therapeutic Choices has been a trusted source of evidence-based treatment information for over a decade. Aimed at all health care practitioners involved in therapeutic decision making, this book presents therapeutic information to support better patient care. Practical clinical information is referenced and organized in a clear and concise format with each topic including decision trees (algorithms) and drug tables to support decision making. Chapters are written by distinguished Canadian health care professionals and are peer reviewed by experts.

Clinical Gynecologic Endocrinology and Infertility is one of the world's most widely read gynecology texts. In a clear, user-friendly style enhanced by abundant illustrations, the book provides a complete explanation of the female endocrine system and its disorders and offers practical guidance on evaluation and treatment of female endocrine problems and infertility.
Latest edition not available at Gerstein - click on title for locations (subject to local circulation policy). Text available online to U of T faculty and students: here. The 1999 edition is available at Gerstein under RG103 .S672 1999 in Short Term Loan.

In addition to cancers of the female reproductive tract this essential resource is equipping you with the skills you need to provide effective and compassionate care for every patient. Recognize the clinical presentation of gynecologic malignancies with the aid of detailed chapters organized by cancer type and size. Apply authoritative guidance on all aspects of gynecologic oncology with appendices covering staging, screening, nutritional therapy, toxicity criteria, blood component therapy, radiological therapy, and commonly used statistical terms. This important resource also discusses breast and colorectal disease.
Latest edition not available at Gerstein - click title for locations (subject to local circulation policy). Text available online to UofT faculty and students here. 2002 edition available at Gerstein under RC280 .G5 D5 2002 in the Book Stacks.

This is a unique textbook that utilizes the Problem-Based Learning approach to medical education to present the necessary topics for a core-curriculum in Obstetrics and Gynecology. The contributors have been carefully selected for their expertise in their chosen fields and their commitment to medical student education. The text incorporates all the guidelines of the Association of Professors in Gynecology & Obstetrics, (APGO).

Widely recognized as the "bible" of clinical gynecology for residents, this reference is completely updated and features hot new topics and substantial revisions throughout. Includes timely updates on familiar topics, as well as entirely new information on evidence-based medicine, its methods, and its application in the field of gynecology.
Latest edition not available at Gerstein - click on title for locations (subject to local circulation policy). The 2001 edition is available at Gerstein under RG101 .C726 2001X.

The leading single-source book in women's health care, reproductive medicine, and pelvic surgery Thorough review of all of obstetrics & gynecology Covers more than 1,000 diseases and disorders The latest screening and management guidelines More than 450 clear clinical photos and illustrations in two colors Formatted to facilitate quick retrieval of information Concise, current coverage of treatments for common gynecologic infections Extensively revised throughout Covers underlying pathophysiology when relevant to diagnosis and treatment Helpful references to classic and important new sources.
Latest edition not available at Gerstein - click on title for locations (subject to local circulation policy). The 2003 edition is available at Gerstein under RG101 .B45 2003 in Short Term Loan.

Thoroughly updated, with 127 new drug entries, this title provides practical, reliable information on more than 1175 drugs that may be used by pregnant and lactating women. Each monograph summarises the known and/or possible effects of the drug on the fetus and the known/possible passage of the drug into breast milk.
Latest edition not available at Gerstein - click on title for locations (subject to local circulation policy).
The recommended 2005 edition is available at Gerstein under RG627.6 .D79 B75 2005 in Short Term Loan.

Clear, concise and immensely practical, this book is written for those who may be involved in obstetric emergencies at all levels of care -- obstetricians, trainees, family practitioners, midwives, and nurses. The book will be especially useful to those who infrequently encounter such problems and whose facilities and assistance may be limited but it is comprehensive enough to be valuable to those with abundant experience and resources. The advice drawn from the author's extensive experience is authoritative and unequivocal. The text is divided into twenty-eight brief, well-focused chapters. The book is illustrated and fully indexed with selected references to further reading.
Not available at Gerstein - click title for locations (subject to local circulation policy).

Intended for medical students and trainee gynaecologists, this textbook reflects advances in obstetrics and gynaecology. A new chapter has been introduced on the human genome and its clinical implications. Get guidance on evaluation, diagnosis, and management of a wide range of obstetric and gynecologic disorders from the most comprehensive and concise reference on the subject.

Maintaining the highly successful style of the previous edition, this comprehensive and general gynecological textbook provides guidance for the management of specific gynecological conditions. Organized into six sections, the first two sections cover principles of practice and initial assessment, and the relevant basic science. The third section is on preventive and primary care for women, and the remaining three sections are directed at methods of diagnosis and management in reproductive endocrinology, oncology, and general gynecology. Includes an appendix of reference values.
Latest edition not available at Gerstein - click on title for locations (subject to local circulation policy).
The 1996 edition is available at Gerstein under RG101 .N7 1996X.

Must-have expertise for today's challenging fast-changing field! This classic reference is your place to turn for all of the guidelines you need on the diagnosis, therapy, and management of both normal and high-risk patients. Inside you'll find state-of-the-art guidance on the challenges you face, with new chapters covering placental anatomy and physiology non-invasive prenatal diagnostic techniques abnormal labor operative vaginal delivery cervical incompetence amniotic fluid disorders thrombophilias and thromboembolic disorders, plus comprehensive updates throughout.
Latest edition not available at Gerstein - click on title for locations (subject to local circulation policy). 2002 edition available at Gerstein under RG524 .O24 2002 in the Book Stacks.

This premier reference in obstetrics has been the premier text and reference for physicians and residents for more than a century. In contrast to other books in the field Williams Obstetrics has been, and will continue to be, written by a small team of authors who are (or have been) at the same institution the hospital that delivers the most babies per day with the best outcomes anywhere. As a result, the book has great consistency, little overlap, and stunning depth and breadth; no other book is as comprehensive or as detailed.
Latest edition not available at Gerstein - click on title for locations (subject to local circulation policy).
1997 edition of the text available at Gerstein under RG524 .W7 1997X in the Book Stacks.

Comprehensive guidance on the diagnosis and treatment of patients with occupational injuries and illnesses Written by clinicians for clinicians, It provides a complete guide to common occupational and environmental illnesses, their diagnosis and treatment, and preventative and remedial measures in the workplace and community. The text's broad coverage and focus and fundamentals makes it perfect for students and residents.
Latest edition not available at Gerstein - click on title for locations (subject to local circulation policy).
2004 edition of the text available at Gerstein under RC963 .O226 2004X in the Book Stacks.

This text is a comprehensive, practical guide to recognizing, preventing, and treating work-related diseases and injuries. The book brings together experts in medicine, industry, labor, government, safety, ergonomics, environmental health, and psychology to address the complex issues that surround occupational medicine. Coverage includes the full spectrum of occupational hazards and work-related diseases and injuries of each organ system. Numerous case studies, photographs, drawings, graphs, and tables enhance the text.

This book is well-known and highly respected by health sciences professionals, instructors, and students throughout the country. The book is an excellent primer for beginning healthcare professionals and an important reference for administrators and practitioners who must understand health and the health system in order to work effectively within it. A unique feature of this text is that it connects health promotion and prevention models with the policy and history of the healthcare system and the most current legislation, policy recommendations, and reports are included. Dr. Shah describes past and present thoughts and events that will influence the future development of health and health care in Canada.

Click on the organization's name to access the website: http://www.aap.org

Latest edition not available at Gerstein 1994 edition available under RJ26 .D53 1994 in the Book Stacks.

The Guide was developed by the National Advisory Committee on Immunization (NACI), with the support of the Immunization and Respiratory Infections Division, Public Health Agency of Canada, to provide updated information and recommendations on the use of vaccines in Canada. The Public Health Agency of Canada conducted a survey in 2004, which confirmed that the Canadian Immunization Guide is a very useful and reliable resource of information on immunization. Full text available here.

Click on organization's name to access the website: http://www.cps.ca

This practical guide to treating children of all ages is written by experienced pediatricians. Its comprehensive yet succinct coverage encompasses the full spectrum of pediatric conditions from immunization and diabetes mellitus to allergic disorders. It remains the essential guide for pediatricians, family practitioners, nurses and nurse practitioners, physician assistants, and all other health-care providers who work with infants, children, and adolescents.
Latest edition not available at Gerstein - click on title for locations (subject to local circulation policy). 2009 edition available at Gerstein under RJ50 .K45 2009 in the Book Stacks.

Considered the resource of choice for pediatric residencies, clerkships, and exams, Nelson Essentials of Pediatrics provides comprehensive, yet concise guidance on normal childhood growth and development, as well as the diagnosis, management, and prevention of common pediatric diseases and disorders.
Latest edition not available at Gerstein - click on title for locations (subject to local circulation policy). 2011 edition available at Gerstein under RJ45 .N39 2011.

This concise text presents the essential information that medical students, residents, and other clinicians need to diagnose and treat patients. Chapters focus on specific clinical problems and follow a user-friendly format, with numerous illustrations, algorithms, tables, and graphs.
Not available at Gerstein - click on title for locations (subject to local circulation policy).

The text is a comprehensive guide to the current practice of pediatric care, and includes new chapters on complementary and alternative medicine, genetics in primary care, and updating of the chapters on infant and child behavior and development. Plus, this edition brings color to the book for more attractive and clearer presentation, and includes boxed elements to help readers summarize information.
Access to e-book at Gerstein: http://go.utlib.ca/cat/6201554

This classic text offers comprehensive coverage of the primary care of children and adolescents. Introductory sections explore fundamental principles of pediatric practice; then, individual sections provide you with easy, alphabetical access to essential guidance on "Childhood Behaviors," "Presenting Signs and Symptoms," "Specific Clinical Problems," and "Critical Situations." This practical organization makes it simple to find state-of-the-art information on a full range of commonly encountered pediatric problems.
Latest edition not available at Gerstein - click on title for locations (subject to local circulation policy).
1997 edition available at Gerstein under RJ45 .P673 1997X in the Book Stacks.

A comprehensive textbook for medical students, pediatric house officers, and practitioners. The volume is divided into five parts: general pediatrics, the fetus and the newborn, ambulatory pediatrics, the sick or hospitalized patient, and the pediatrician's companion important things you forget to remember.

Summarizes current AAP recommendations for infectious diseases and immunizations for infants, children, and adolescents. Focuses on preventing diseases and provides dosage recommendations for many drugs available for pediatric conditions. A practical guide for physicians and residents. Published every three years. Previous edition: c2000. Hardcover, softcover available.
Latest edition not available at Gerstein - click on title for locations (subject to local circulation policy).
2006 edition of the text available at Gerstein under RJ401 .R43 2006 in the Book Stacks.

This book is a review of all aspects of pediatrics. It is divided into chapters that are based primarily on organ systems. It is designed to provide an approach to pediatrics and to help analyze common symptom complexes, such as evaluation of the child, with diarrhea or joint pains. It provides a broad information base with a problem-oriented clinical approach. Differential diagnoses are fleshed out sufficiently so as to be useful for the reader. This book provides enough in-depth information to be useful for its targeted audience: students and first-year residents.

One of the most important and highly regarded texts in pediatrics enhanced by a new full-color presentation Rudolph's Pediatrics, the longest continuously published work on pediatric care has been massively updated throughout to keep pace with the field's latest developments and reorganized to make navigation easier than ever.
Latest edition not available at Gerstein - click on title for locations (subject to local circulation policy).
2003 edition available at Gerstein under RJ45 .B35 2003 in the Book Stacks.

Click on organization's name to access the website: http://www.population-health.com

Click on the organization's name to access the website: http://secure.cihi.ca/cihiweb/dispPage.jsp?cw_page=spend_e

An extensive, in-depth look at public health and preventive medicine topics from experts in the field. This trusted one-stop resource is a completely up-to-date, all-in-one public health and preventive medicine guide. Sponsored by the Association of Teachers of Preventive Medicine and edited and written by well-respected authorities in the range of topics covered. It is also an outstanding guide to additional resources of information in preparing for the board exam in preventative medicine and public health.

The groundbreaking two-volume reader on the connections between social structure and public health.

Each chapter in this volume clarifies the findings of a five-year study, under the auspices of the Population Health Program of the Canadian Institute for Advanced Research, that probed the links between social hierarchy, the "macro-environmental" factors in illness patterns, the quality of the "micro-environmental," and other determinants of health. This volume will prove essential to an understanding of the underlying public health issues for the next several decades.

This manual is intended as a user- friendly, practical resource guide to psychotropic drugs in any setting. In addition to covering classes of psychiatric medications, the book also covers agents for treating extrapyramidal side effects, drugs of abuse, treatments for substance use disorders, new unapproved treatments for psychiatric disorders, and herbal and natural products. About 50 pages of patient information sheets are included. The book's content is derived from various forms of published literature (including randomized controlled trials, pharmacokinetic trials, cohort trials, case series, and case reports) as well as from leading clinical experts. Charts and tables of comparisons are employed wherever possible to give quick access to information. Both American and Canadian trade names are used throughout. Although plasma levels are given in SI units, conversion rates to US units are also provided.
Latest edition not available at Gerstein - click on title for locations (subject to local circulation policy).
2002 edition available at Gerstein under RM315 .C547 2002 in the Book Stacks.

This book is designed to fill a need for a comprehensive but compact and easy-to-use reference for all mental health professionals dealing with children and adolescents. The new edition of the Clinical Handbook summarizes the latest information from published literature (monograph statements, scientific data, controlled clinical trials, case reports) and clinical experience in compact and easy-to-use charts and bulleted lists for each class of psychotropic drugs used in children and adolescents.
Not available at Gerstein - click on title for locations (subject to local circulation policy).

Download full guidelines from: http://www.ccsmh.ca/en/guidelinesUsers.cfm
Click on the title to access full text summary of the guideline published in the Canadian Journal of Geriatrics, 2006 (volume 9, supplement 2) from: http://www.ccsmh.ca/pdf/final%20supplement.pdf.

Click on the title to access full text.

Widely used as the core text for psychiatry clerkships and a board review for psychiatry residents. The text emphasizes the biopsychosocial model as a framework for clinical psychiatry and includes many clinical examples. Current DSM-IV diagnostic categories are used throughout the book. It features a chapter on legal issues in psychiatry and revised chapters on biopsychosocial assessment and case formulation; delirium, dementia, and other disorders associated with cognitive impairment; schizophrenia and other psychotic disorders; personality disorders; mood disorders; anxiety disorders; geriatric psychiatry; dissociative disorders; psychiatric disorders of childhood and adolescence; biological therapies for mental disorders; basic principles of pain management; and behavioral medicine strategies for medical patients.

This invaluable reference covers the entire range of geriatric psychiatry including: the aging process; psychiatric disorders of the elderly; principles of diagnosis and treatment; medical-legal, ethical, and financial issues. Each of the 41 chapters is authored by a key leader in the field. New chapters on the genetics of dementia and the genetics of mood disorders present the latest research data and their implications for psychiatric practice. Recent developments in the types and delivery of care are reflected in new chapters on matters such as the use of spirituality in psychiatry, evidence-based treatment, psychogeriatric programs, and geriatric consultation-liaison psychiatry. The treatment of ethical matters is enhanced by the addition of a full chapter on end-of-life issues. The result is a thorough, up-to-date, and authoritative overview of the dynamic and critical field of geriatric psychiatry

This is the standard classification of mental disorders used by mental health professionals in the United States. It is intended to be applicable in a wide array of contexts and used by clinicians and researchers of many different orientations (e.g., biological, psychodynamic, cognitive, behavioral, interpersonal, family/systems). DSM-IV has been designed for use across clinical settings (inpatient, outpatient, partial hospital, consultation-liaison, clinic, private practice, and primary care), with community populations. It can be used by a wide range of health and mental health professionals, including psychiatrists and other physicians, psychologists, social workers, nurses, occupational and rehabilitation therapists, and counselors. It is also a necessary tool for collecting and communicating accurate public health statistics.

This concise, practical guide contains critical information on geriatric assessment, diagnosis and treatment. It emphasises the clinical evaluation of the geriatric patient and features content on end-of-life decisions, pre-operative evaluation, cancer management issues and preventative aspects of geriatric care.
Not available at Gerstein - click on title for locations (subject to local circulation policy).
1999 edition available at Gerstein under RC952 .K36 1999X in the Book Stacks.

Click on the title to see available CANMAT Guidelines for Bipolar Disorder.

Only available online; click on the title to access.

Over 60 monographs on the prevailing herbs as well as thherbs of tomorrow. Includes uses, dosage ranges, contra- indications, drug-herb interactions and more. Supplemental chapters on broader issues such as cultural influences.
Gerstein Reference Material and in Short Term Loan.

Throughout prior editions, "CTP" has been established as the cornerstone text in the field of psychiatry and mental health. This publication provides a wealth of new and updated information in neural science, genetics, neuropsychiatry, psychopharmacotherapy, and other key areas.
Latest edition not available at Gerstein - click on title for locations (subject to local circulation policy).
The 2004 edition available as online resource at Gerstein Library.
1995 edition available in print at Gerstein under RC454 .F74 1995X in the Book Stacks.

Whether it's used in conjunction with Kaplan and Sadock's Synopsis of Psychiatry, Ninth Edition or as a stand-alone review book, this study guide is an excellent aid in preparing for boards and other psychiatry exams and in reinforcing the reader's knowledge. It offers chapter overviews of Synopsis, Ninth Edition, and over 1,600 multiple-choice questions on material in Synopsis, Ninth Edition and Kaplan and Sadock's Comprehensive Textbook of Psychiatry, Seventh Edition. The study guide includes terms and definitions consistent with DSM-IV and ICD-10, as well as case studies, tables, figures, and test-taking hints.
The 2007. 8th ed. edition available as online resource at Gerstein Library.

This complete, concise overview of the entire field of psychiatry is a staple board review text for psychiatry residents and is popular with a broad range of students in medicine, clinical psychology, social work, nursing, and occupational therapy, as well as practitioners in all these areas.
Latest edition not available at Gerstein - click on title for locations (subject to local circulation policy).
2007 10th ed. available both in print and as an online resource at Gerstein Library.

Psychiatric epidemiology is the study of the incidence, prevalence, outcome, and response to intervention of psychiatric disorders in terms of environmental, biological, and demographic factors. A primary goal of the discipline is to discover the cause and pathogenesis of psychiatric disorders. This critically praised text provides a comprehensive overview of the concepts, methods and research advances in psychiatric epidemiology, complete with an overview of basic research strategies and analytic methods, as well as research strategies for studying genetic and environmental risk factors.
Also available at Gerstein in an electronic version.

Written and edited by an internationally renowned group of experts, this textbook has been extensively revised to provide psychiatrists, neurologists, neuropsychologists, internists, and residents with the latest developments in research, clinical practice, and diagnostic technology. Increased emphasis has been placed on molecular and intracellular aspects of neuropsychiatry and the role of functional imaging in neuropsychiatric disorders. In addition, this text is lavishly illustrated with more than 180 tables and over 200 figures, including many full-color images that will maintain this textbook's standing as the most important source for neuropsychiatry.

Clearly written, comprehensive, and unbelievably up-to-date, this text represents the culmination of three years' work by the most distinguished psychiatrists in the world, complete in one volume of 50 fluid chapters. More than 100 contributors in all have come together to thoroughly update, revise, and carefully edit every chapter, while meticulously maintaining the textbook's renowned uniformity of style.
Newest edition not available at Gerstein - click title for locations (subject to local circulation policy).
1994 edition of the text available at Gerstein under RC454 .A419 1994 in the Book Stacks.

This resource offers broad coverage that encompasses the current state of knowledge of its cause, nature, and treatment. Experts from North America and Europe address the complexity of schizophrenia in a comprehensive volume that leads readers from historical overview and epidemiology to consideration of comorbid conditions. It covers genetic and environmental causes, describes leading theories of schizophrenia, and explores the involvement of abnormal brain circuitry and the results of the latest neuroimaging studies.
Not available at Gerstein - click on title for locations (subject to local circulation policy).

This publication focuses throughout on the relationship between the physician and the patient. Its unspoken motto is that the art of psychiatry is as important as the science. For this recognition of what is relevant clinically as well as technically, this book will be an essential reference and support for both the new and the experienced psychiatrist.

Therapist's Guide to Clinical Intervention, Second Edition is a must-have reference for clinicians completing insurance forms, participating in managed care, or practicing in treatment settings requiring formalized goals and treatment objectives. This practical, hands-on handbook outlines treatment goals and objectives for each type of psychopathology as defined by the diagnostic and statistical manual by the American Psychiatric Association, identifies skill-building resources, and provides samples of all major professional forms. With over 30% new information, this new edition covers a variety of new special assessments including domestic violence, phobias, eating disorders, adult ADHD, and outpatient progress.
Latest version not available at Gerstein - click on title for locations (subject to local circulation policy).
1997 edition available at Gerstein under RC480.5 .J64 1997X in Book Stacks.

This book remains one of the world's pre-eminent medical textbooks, beloved by generations of surgeons. The book opens with sections devoted to the underlying principles of surgical practice, investigation and diagnosis, and pre-operative care. These are followed by chapters covering all aspects of surgical trauma. The remainder of the book considers each of the surgical specialties in turn, from elective orthopaedics through skin, head and neck, breast and endocrine, cardiothoracic and vascular, to abdominal and genitourinary.
Latest edition not available at Gerstein - click title for locations (subject to local circulation policy).
1995 edition available at Gerstein under RD31 .B3 1995X in Book Stacks.

The leading surgery text for medical students, residents, and surgeons. This book provides coverage of both general surgery, all surgical specialties and features increased emphasis on cost-effective care, greater coverage of outpatient surgery and the implications of ambulatory care.
Latest edition not available at Gerstein - click on title for locations.
2003 edition of the text available at Gerstein under RD35 .D77 2003 in the Book Stacks.

Essentials of General Surgery provides the most current and up-to-date information on general surgery, with an abundance of new tables and illustrations. The book covers the most need-to-know information about specific diseases and areas of surgery and meets all the guidelines of the Association of Surgical Educators. Additional features include an atlas of images, multiple-choice questions, and case studies.
Latest edition not available at Gerstein - click on title for locations.
2006 edition of the text available at Gerstein under RD31 .E747 2006X in the Course Reserves.

This publication provides students with exactly what they need to learn and retain the clinical foundations in surgical specialties. Organized by specialty, the book explains the basic skills needed in nine core rotations and prepares students for their clerkship. More than 200 illustrations demonstrate relevant anatomy and common surgical approaches. It also provides updated information on treatment options, imaging modalities, operative techniques, laparoscopic and robotic surgery, surgical devices and products, and postoperative care. Multiple-choice questions have been expanded and rewritten to National Board of Medical Examiners (NMBE) format.

This publication provides a comprehensive and authoritative reference on all aspects of general surgery, and also offers substantial sections on sub-specialties such as orthopedics, paediatric surgery, neurosurgery, and cardiac surgery. It has been designed and written by an international faculty, for specialist and trainee surgeons working in any part of the world. Key sections, written by world authorities, include those on endoscopic surgery, surgical nutrition, response to injury, the design and interpretation of clinical trials, causes of cancer, and vascular surgery.

This distinguished reference carries on a 70-year legacy as the world's most thorough, useful, readable, and understandable text on the principles and techniques of surgery. Its peerless contributors deliver all the well-rounded, state-of-the-art knowledge you need to richly grasp the pathophysiology and optimal management of every surgical conditionso you can make the best clinical decisions, avoid complications, manage unusual situations, and achieve the best possible outcomes. It is an absolute requisite for the American Board of Surgery exam, and an indispensable source of guidance on overcoming the challenges that arise in everyday practice.

Written by the world's foremost practitioners and instructors, this landmark reference logically progresses from basic science principles, including topics such as cells, genomics, and molecular surgery, to clinical areas such as pancreas. From cover to cover, the book reflects a distinctly modern approach in the dissemination of surgical knowledge, providing up-to-date coverage of all key surgical areas, from trauma and transplantation, to neurosurgery. In each chapter, this content is supported by a skill-building format that includes boxed key points, detailed anatomical figures, diagnostic and management algorithms, an abundance of informative tables, and key references.
Latest edition not available at Gerstein - click on title for locations (subject to local circulation policy).

Provides the essentials of the basic sciences and clinical practice relating to musculoskeletal tissues, includes 1,360 illustrations and 670 new references for suggested reading. For students and practitioners.