See the Oxford Bibliography Online entries for immigration and ethnicity to find out the key readings and sources on this topic.
In addition to the main sociology article databases, you might want to try:
Covers the humanities and social sciences in Latin American scholarship
OECD iLibraryOrganisation for Economic Cooperation and Development produces data and research publications design to help governments tackle the economic, social and governance challenges of a globalised economy
Migration Policy Institute Data HubInstant access to the latest immigration statistics, maps, and numbers for the United States and other countries.
Demographic and social statistics (United Nations)International statistics from the United Nations Statistics Division
Canadian immigration statisticsList of data sets available through the Map and Data Library at U of T
For print copies of these journals, look up the journal title in the library catalogue.
International migration reviewPeer reviewed. For older issues (1964-2006) see JSTOR
Journal of ethnic & cultural diversity in social workPeer reviewed. For issues older than 2000 request an interlibrary loan
International migrationPeer reviewed. For older issues (1961-1996) see Wiley-Blackwell Backfiles
Journal of ethnic and migration studiesPeer reviewed. For issues older than 1997, request an interlibrary loan
See the Oxford Bibliographies Online sociological entries for health, mental illness, and medical sociology to discover the key sources and works in this area. A mental illness article is forthcoming Fall 2012.
In addition to the main sociology article databases, you might want to try:
StatsCan: Health ReportsPeer-reviewed journal that provides data information on Canada's populations. Users can download PDF or HTML versions for free.
Canadian Council on Social Development: healthA basic profile of Canada's health care system by province. Includes information on physical activity, obesity, addiction, chronic information, cancer, and leading causes of death.
In-depth information about all aspects of Canada's health care system.
WHO Global Health Observatory (formerly WHOSIS): country statisticsOrganized by country. Includes information on nutrition, maternal and neonatal health, substance use, health systems, HIV/AIDS, TB, and violence and injuries.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention health statisticsInformation on health care and disease in the United States.
For print copies of these journals, look up the journal title in the library catalogue.
Community mental health journalPeer reviewed. For older issues (1965-1996) see SpringerLINK Archive
.
Journal of Health and Social BehaviorPeer reviewed.
Older issues (1967-2003)
Health: An interdisciplinary journal for the social study of health, illness and medicinePeer reviewed
See the Oxford Bibliographies Online sociological entry for education to discover the key sources and works in this area.
In addition to the main sociology article databases, you might want to try:
Statistics Canada: Education, training and learningCanadian statistics and statistical publications.
Education for all global monitoring report: UNESCOGlobal information on the UN's target 2015 project.
UNESCO Institute for StatisticsInternational information from the UN's education agency.
EdStats: the World Bank GroupInternational information, arranged by key topics in education, by the World Bank.
For print copies of these journals, look up the journal title in the library catalogue.
Sociology of educationPeer reviewed. For older issues (1963-2009) see JSTOR.
British journal of sociology of educationPeer reviewed. For older issues (1980-2007) see JSTOR.
International studies in sociology of educationPeer reviewed. For older issues (1991-1996) see Taylor & Francis Education Archive.
Harvard Educational ReviewPeer reviewed. For older issues (1931-1964) see OISE Library's print holdings
Journal of higher educationPeer reviewed. For issues from 1930 to 2008, see JSTOR
See the Oxford Bibliographies Online sociological entries for social networks and community to discover the key sources and works in this area.
In addition to the main sociology article databases, you might want to try:
An interdisciplinary database on left-leaning literature on political, social, and economic topics. Subjects include race and ethnicity, social and cultural theory, labour movements, globalization, art and aesthetics, etc.
StatsCan: Community ProfilesNote that this information is organized by geographic community.
StatsCanUse the latest census to find information organized by age, gender, geography, background, etc.
POPIN: United Nations Population Information NetworkThis easy-to-use guide links you to population information in the UN system websites. Portals provide information on health, education, age, urban vs. rural populations, refugee, and by region.
Data resources: Map & Data Library, RobartsList of data sets available through the Map and Data Library at U of T
For print copies of these journals, look up the journal title in the library catalogue.
Peer reviewed. Previously published under the title Cyber psychology & behaviour.
See the Oxford Bibliographies Online sociological entries for gender and family to discover the key sources and works in this area. See also:
In addition to the main sociology article databases, you might want to try:
This database focuses on emerging theories and practices of radical social change in feminism and LGBTQ communities (among others). Coverage begins in 1991. For 1960-1990, check the Alternative Press Index Archive.
UN Statistics Division: women and menGlobal information focusing on the UN's six areas of concern: population, health, women and men in families, education, work, and political decision making.
WomenWatch: directory of UN resources on gender and women's issuesThis easy-to-use guide links you to gender equality and women's rights in the UN system websites. Portals provide links to recent reports and data on a range of subjects.
StatsCan: women in CanadaCanadian information by subject, age, and province. Note that PDF/HTML versions of the report are free.
Forum on family and child statistics (U.S.)Information on American communities.
UNICEF: childinfoGlobal information on child and adult female populations.
Data resources: Map & Data Library, RobartsList of data sets available through the Map and Data Library at U of T
For print copies of these journals, look up the journal title in the library catalogue.
Journal of marriage and familyPeer reviewed. For 1964-2006 issues, see JSTOR. For issues older than 1964, place an interlibrary loan request.
Peer reviewed. Print issues only.
Family mattersPeer reviewed. For issues older than 1999, place an interlibrary loan request
Social politics: International studies in gender, state, and societyPeer reviewed
See the Oxford Bibliographies Online sociological entries for occupations and professions, organizations, work and employment, and social stratification to discover the key sources and works in this area.
In addition to the main sociology article databases, you might want to try:
An interdisciplinary database on left-leaning literature on political, social, and economic topics. Subjects include race and ethnicity, social and cultural theory, labour movements, globalization, art and aesthetics, etc.
This database focuses on emerging theories and practices of radical social and labour change. Coverage begins in 1991. For 1960-1990, check the Alternative Press Index Archive.
International Labour Organization: statistics and databasesGlobal information provided by the UN.
StatsCan: LabourCanadian information on a range of subtopics.
International Labor Comparisons: United States Department of LabourInternational information provided by the US government. Users can access reports on various labour subtopics.
Data resources: Map & Data Library, RobartsList of data sets available through the Map and Data Library at U of T
For print copies of these journals, look up the journal title in the library catalogue.
Journal of Industrial RelationsPeer reviewed. For older issues (1970-1996) see Wiley-Blackwell Journals.
Work and Occupations: An international sociological journalPeer reviewed
Research in social stratification and mobilityPeer reviewed. For older issues (1981-2001), see Robarts Library print holdings.
See the Oxford Bibliographies Online sociological entries for political sociology to discover the key sources and works in this area.
In addition to the main sociology article databases, you might want to try:
World Values SurveyPolitical and social beliefs surveys conducted since 1981. WVS is located in Sweden, and it is the only only source of empirical data on attitudes covering a majority of the world’s population (nearly 90%).
Manifesto Project DatabaseCovers over 50 countries, and provides information on their freely democratic elections since 1945.
General Social SurveyGSS provides information on American attitudes ranging from government spending, existence of a god, race relations, etc.
Data resources: Map & Data Library, RobartsList of data sets available through the Map and Data Library at U of T
For print copies of these journals, look up the journal title in the library catalogue.
Political power and social theoryPeer reviewed. For issues from 1980 to 2001, see our print holding at Robarts Library or UTM Library
Mobilization: An international journalPeer reviewed. Print copies only.
Political communicationPeer reviewed. For issues older than 1997, place an interlibrary loan.
Research in political sociologyMonographic series. For issues older than 2008, see our print holdings.
See the Oxford Bibliographies Online sociological entries for sociology of culture to discover the key sources and works in this area.
In addition to the main sociology article databases, you might want to try:
World Values SurveyPolitical and social beliefs surveys conducted since 1981. WVS is located in Sweden, and it is the only only source of empirical data on attitudes covering a majority of the world’s population (nearly 90%).
OECD iLibraryOrganisation for Economic Cooperation and Development produces data and research publications design to help governments tackle the economic, social and governance challenges of a globalised economy
Data resources: Map & Data Library, RobartsList of data sets available through the Map and Data Library at U of T
Demographic and social statistics (United Nations)International statistics from the United Nations Statistics Division
For print copies of these journals, look up the journal title in the library catalogue.
International journal of politics, culture, and societyPeer reviewed. For issues older than 1997, see JSTOR.
