Research guides: International Human Rights: Human Rights Treaty Sources

Online Sources for Human Rights Treaties

Bayefsky
Links to text of treaties as well as reports, concluding observations, ratifications, reservations and declarations for the major U.N. human rights treaties.
Flare Index to Treaties
Searchable database with information on over 1,500 significant multilateral (three or more parties) treaties from 1856 to the present, with details of where the full text of each treaty may be obtained in paper and, if available, electronic form on the Internet. Treaties included in FLARE have been selected for their significance.
Inter-American Commission of Women
Website contains, among other items, the principal Inter-American conventions relating to women.
International Human Rights Instruments
Office of the U.N. High Commissioner for Human Rights, list of international human rights instruments and their monitoring bodies
International Legal Materials
Bi-monthly publication of American Society of International Law that includes the full text of selected new, treaties in addition to other important legal materials, including selected international case law. Available through UofT catalogue via Hein Online. Also available through LexisNexis Quicklaw and Westlaw Canada (database: ILM).
The United Nations Human Rights Treaties at bayefsky.com
This site provides access to documents and information from the UN human rights treaty system. Materials include the text of treaties, documents from the UN treaty bodies, information on reform of the system, and other information. Documents issued by the treaty bodies are arranged by state, by category, and by theme or subject matter. This last category (by theme or subject) is something not available on other web sites.
UN Treaty Collection
Provides access to the full text of treaties contained in the United Nations Treaty Series (UNTS) as well as The Status of Multilateral Treaties Deposited with the Secretary-General and Recently Deposited Multilateral Treaties.
University of Minnesota Human Rights Library
Provides full-text search capabilities for human rights related treaties and related documents. (choose the “search these documents by KEY WORD” link) Offers simultaneous searching across multiple human rights web sites, including the United Nations, European Court of Human Rights, Amnesty International. Also lists treaties by subject matter and according to ratification by country

Print Sources for Human Rights Treaties

Brownlie's documents on human rights by Ian Brownlie and Guy S. Goodwin-Gill
A collection of key documents relating to international human rights law, with commentary.
Global human rights law collection by Global Law Association
In addition to the text of the instruments this work contains brief summaries of international and regional human rights instruments as well as notes on their historical development and key concepts related to the instruments.
Human rights in international law : basic texts. (2007, 3rd ed.)

International Human Rights

Online Sources for Human Rights Treaties

Print Sources for Human Rights Treaties

Library links

Libraries

Contact

Connect with us