Research Guides: Writing &amp; Rhetoric Guide: Find Articles (newspapers, magazines, scholarly journals)

Databases containing different types of articles

UofT Libraries has an extensive range of eBook collections that can be accessed through UofT LibrarySearch, but it is also possible to search for books and chapters in many of our most popular databases. Explore the following databases and filter your search results by setting 'Source Type' or 'Format' for Book and Book Chapter.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources.
ProQuest This link opens in a new window
This database contains Scholarly Journals, Dissertations & Theses, Newspapers, Trade & Popular Magazines, and eBooks. Be sure to use the filters to narrow down your search results (Year, Doc Type, Source Type, Subject).
Project MUSE - Premium Collection This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE offers complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals and books from many of the world's leading university presses and scholarly societies.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Searches scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including books, articles, abstracts, and theses, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities, and other web sites.

EBSCO Platform
Multidisciplinary search engine of academic journals and ebooks.
>> Click on the "Select / deselect all" Check box to search all databases within this platform.

Creative Writing Journals

New Writing: The International Journal for the Practice and Theory of Creative Writing
(2004 +) Peer-Reviewed
FEMSPEC
(1999+) Peer-reviewed, interdisciplinary, and feminist journal dedicated to science fiction, fantasy, magical realism, surrealism, myth, folklore, and other supernatural genres.
Fantasy & science fiction
(1993+) An award winning U.S. fantasy and science fiction magazine with short stories and novellas, opinions on books, films and science, and humor from cartoonists and writers.
Foundation: The International Review of Science Fiction
(1972+) A critical peer-reviewed literary magazine that publishes articles and reviews about science fiction.

UofT Student Journals

The Spectatorial (Innis College)
A journal for the perpetuation of speculative fiction, genre fiction, folklore, and mythology
The Trinity Review (Trinity College)
A literary arts publication of Trinity College at the University of Toronto that hs been active since 1880 and publishes prose, poetry, and visual arts.
Poets & Writers Magazine
Look carefully at the date ranges for each link.

Rhetoric-focused Journals

Rhetoric review
Rhetoric Review is a scholarly interdisciplinary journal publishing in all areas of rhetoric and writing and providing a professional forum for its readers to consider and discuss current topics and issues.
Rhetoric Society quarterly
Rhetoric Society Quarterly , the official journal of the Rhetoric Society of America, features original articles on all areas of rhetorical studies including theory, history, criticism, and pedagogy. The journal addresses an interdisciplinary audience of scholars and students of rhetorics who work in communication studies, English studies, philosophy, politics and other allied fields.
Rhetoric of health & medicine
This journal seeks to bring together humanities and social scientific research traditions in a rhetorically focused journal to allow scholars to build new interdisciplinary theories, methodologies, and insights that can impact our understanding of health, illness, healing, and wellness.
Philosophy & rhetoric
Philosophy and Rhetoric is dedicated to publication of high-quality articles involving the relationship between philosophy and rhetoric.
Rhetorica
Published quarterly for the International Society for the History of Rhetoric, Rhetorica includes articles, book reviews, and bibliographies that examine the theory and practice of rhetoric in all periods and languages and their relationship with poetics, philosophy, religion, and law.
Kairos: A Journal of Rhetoric, Technology, and Pedagogy
Kairos is a peer-reviewed open-access online journal exploring the intersections of rhetoric, technology, and pedagogy.

Open Access eJournals

Journal of Writing Research (JoWR)
The Journal of Writing Research is an international peer reviewed journal that publishes high quality theoretical, empirical, and review papers covering the broad spectrum of writing research.
LORE Journal
"LORE is an electronic journal (formerly traditional print) edited by the Department of Rhetoric and Writing Studies Department at San Diego State University. The journal’s focus is on rhetoric, writing, teaching, and culture."
Young Scholars in Writing: Undergraduate Research in Writing and Rhetoric
Young Scholars in Writing: Undergraduate Research in Writing and Rhetoric is an international peer-reviewed journal. It publishes research and theoretical articles by undergraduates of all majors and years on the subjects of rhetoric, writing, writers, discourse, language, and related topics.
Rhetoric, Professional Communication, and Globalization
This Journal publishes articles on the theory, practice, and teaching of professional communication in critical global contexts.
Studies in Logic, Grammar and Rhetoric: the Journal of University of Bialystok.
Studies publishes items on the methodology and philosophy of sciences, the philosophy of language, articles and essays belonging to the field of logic, as well as essays on the history of ideas.
Poroi
Poroi is an online peer-reviewed journal for scholarship attuned to rhetoric in inquiry and culture.
Kairos: A Journal of Rhetoric, Technology, and Pedagogy
Kairos is a peer-reviewed open-access online journal exploring the intersections of rhetoric, technology, and pedagogy.

Newspaper Articles

Newspapers can tell you the latest information on a topic. Identify search terms from the organizations, publications, or events that are mentioned and the experts who are interviewed.

Search Tips for Newspapers
- Finding newspaper articles in LibrarySearch
Canadian Newspapers
- Includes databases that hold national (The Globe & Mail, The Toronto Star, National Post) and local papers
- Canadian Newsstream database is hosted through ProQuest. Scroll down for additional search tips.
Indigenous Newspapers
UTL Newspapers Research Guide
This guide has links to Newspapers from across the globe (historical and current)

Research Guides

Writing & Rhetoric Guide

Writing & Rhetoric Librarian

Databases containing different types of articles

Creative Writing Journals

UofT Student Journals

Rhetoric-focused Journals

Open Access eJournals

Newspaper Articles

Library links

Libraries

Contact

Connect with us