Research guides: Transportation Research Resources: Home

Bibliographic & fulltext article databases

Some databases specifically cover the transportation literature, while others are more interdisciplinary.

See the notes below for details and select according to your research needs.

Transportation Specific Databases

Transportation Research Board This link opens in a new window
The Transportation Research Board disseminates current research results. A primary goal of the publications program is to circulate current information and research on transportation policy and practice as expeditiously and broadly as possible. The books, reports, and miscellaneous publications of the Transportation Research Board cover nine general subject categories: planning, administration, and environment; design; materials, construction, and maintenance; operations and safety; aviation; public transit; rail; freight transportation (multimodal); and marine transportation. Search more than 1,500 TRB full-text electronic publications.

TRID
Indexes over 470 journals, books, conferences and technical reports related to all modes and disciplines of transportation.

"TRID is an integrated database that combines the records from TRB’s Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD’s Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID provides access to more than one million records of transportation research worldwide."

Multidisciplinary databases

Civil Engineering Database This link opens in a new window
The Civil Engineering Database (CEDB) is designed to provide easy bibliographic access to all ASCE publications. The database covers ASCE documents published since 1973. It provides access to all the journals, conference proceedings, books, standards, manuals, magazines, and newsletters.
Compendex This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering abstracts database covering thousands of international engineering journals, technical reports and conference proceedings (including hard-to-find conferences). The database covers such applied engineering areas as aeronautical and aerospace engineering, automotive engineering and transportation, bioengineering, chemical engineering, civil and structural engineering, computer and electrical engineering, engineering management, environmental engineering, industrial engineering, light and optical technology, marine engineering, materials science, mechanical engineering, petroleum engineering. The database is updated weekly.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
A major multidisciplinary database for the social sciences, life sciences, health sciences, physical sciences, and arts and humanities. Scopus covers research literature published in academic journals, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series. Includes over 16,500 titles from more than 4,000 international publishers, including 15,400 peer reviewed journals of which more than 1200 are Open Access, 575 trade publications, and 300 book series. The database also includes 3.6 million conference papers, and 430 million quality web sources. Scopus contains 37 million records. 18 million records date from 1996 to the present. 19 million pre-1996 records date back to 1823.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Citation information and research impact factors for multi-disciplinary journal articles, conference papers, books, and more.

Map & Data resources

University of Toronto's Data Library and Map Library have extensive sources and knowledgeable staff.

They are located on the 5th floor of Robarts Library.

University of Toronto's Map and Data Library website

RefWorks citation management software

RefWorks
A very useful and freely available citation management tool called RefWorks is available to you.

It allows you to search databases and save citations, organize and annotate them, share them if desired, and output reference lists and footnoted documents in approved styles.

If we don't have what you need...

RACER

If U of T Libraries don't have the item you are looking for we can get it for you through the Interlibrary Loan system. The online Interlibrary Loan ordering system is called RACER.

Suggest a purchase

You are also encouraged to recommend items that you feel the Library should have. Please use the submission form linked below to suggest a purchase.

Suggest a title for purchase

Guide Credits

Adapted by Tracy Zahradnik from a my.library guide (Transportation Research Resources) created by Cris Sewerin. Updated by Michelle Spence and Benjamin Walsh. Currently maintained by Angela Henshilwood.

Research Guides

Transportation Research Resources

Bibliographic & fulltext article databases

Transportation Specific Databases

Multidisciplinary databases

Map & Data resources

RefWorks citation management software

If we don't have what you need...

RACER

Suggest a purchase

Guide Credits

Library links

Libraries

Contact

Connect with us