Research Guides: SSM1100YH5 & SSM1101YH5: Research Paper (Fall 2024): Finding Reference Sources

REFERENCE SOURCES

Use reference resources to:

get an overview of a topic
trace the development of theory or science around a topic
identify seminal references and key scholars

Many reference resources are scholarly in nature and some may be peer-reviewed.

OXFORD BIBLIOGRAPHIES

Oxford Bibliographies Online
Oxford Bibliographies provides up to date scholary reviews of hundreds of topics, including key texts, articles, and other materials. Most references are linked thru to the full text available thru the UofT Libraries databases.

SAGE RESEARCH METHODS

SAGE Research Methods
SAGE Research Methods is a rich collection of reference and 'how-to' materials, videos, and datasets related to the research process, covering many subject areas.

SAMPLE REFERENCE RESOURCES

The list below represents just a sample of the reference resources available from the library. Please also review the reference sources listed in the more general MScSM@ UTM research guide for your program.

Encyclopedia of global change: Environmental change and human society by Andrew S. Goudie (Editor); David J. Cuff (Editor)
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 0195108256
Publication Date: 2002
A comprehensive, interdisciplinary reference source on the natural and human-made changes in the earth's physical, biological, and chemical systems. The 300 original articles and many illustrations present the full range of interactions between technological, political, and economic forces and the state of the planet.
The Oxford companion to global change by David Cuff and Andrew Goudie (Eds.)
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 9780195324884
Publication Date: 2009
A comprehensive, inter-disciplinary guide to the range of issues surrounding natural and human-induced environmental changes. Features 200+ articles written by reputable scholars, with illustrations and bibliographies for further research.
The International encyclopedia of geography: People, the earth, environment, and technology by Douglas Richards (Ed.)
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 9781118786352
Publication Date: Ongoing updates
Written by a global group of scholars for a comprehensive, authoritative overview of geography around the world. Contains over 1000+ essay-like entries with topic coverage relevant to MScSM.
Encyclopedia of sustainability science and technology by Robert Meyers (Ed.)
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 9781493924936
Publication Date: Ongoing updates
A continuously updated and ever-expanding reference work. Topics covered range from light rail to dosimetry to hazardous waste.
Sustainable practices: Concepts, methodologies, tools, and applications by IRMA International Staff (Ed.)
Call Number: E-Book
ISBN: 9781466648524
Publication Date: 2013
Recent concerns over global warming and environmental protection have, over time, led to policies and practices designed to ensure healthy ecosystems. In order to thrive in this environment of caution and care, individuals must pay close attention to the impact of their actions on their surroundings. Sustainable Practices: Concepts, Methodologies, Tools and Applications explores some of the most recent developments in sustainability, delving into topics beyond environmental science to cover issues of sustainable economic, political, and social development. Researchers, academicians, and policy makers will use this multi-volume reference to better make use of the resources at their disposal in order to preserve quality of life for future generations.