Please contact me!
Image Source: Medical scientists, from Jacobs School of Engineering, UC San Diego; Thinking Orangutan, by Ashley98lee, Wikimedia; Greek Philosopher Busts, by Matt Neale, Wikimedia; and Artificial Intelligence & AI & Machine Learning, by Mike MacKenzie. All images adapted with a CC license.
Search LibrarySearch
Known as LibrarySearch, this interdisciplinary database is UofT's largest--and your best bet when more focused databases let you down. It combs through more than 1,200 databases, journal packages, e-book collections, and other resources ranging from the sciences to the social sciences and humanities. At its best, LibrarySearch finds relevant results you won't find elsewhere; at its worst, however, LibrarySearch can overwhelm you will a mish-mash of results from different subject areas.
The MLA is the major English literature database. It covers criticism related to literature, linguistics and folklore from 1921 to the present, and contains more than 1-million citations to journal articles, series, books, working papers and conference proceedings. Most of the materials indexed before 1963 are American.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Over one million bibliographic citations to journal articles, essays in books, and book reviews in the field of religion. Covers all aspects of the major world religions and now includes all the content of the online Catholic Periodical and Literature Index.
Cambridge Handbook of Intelligence
International Handbook of Intelligence
Blackwell Guide to Philosophy of Mind
Bloomsbury Companion to Philosophy of Mind
Companion to the Philosophy of Mind (Blackwell)
Feser, Edward. Philosophy of Mind: A Beginner’s Guide. New York: Oneworld Publications, 2006.
Oxford Handbook of Philosophy of Mind
Questions on the Soul by John Buridan and Others A Companion to John Buridan’s Philosophy of Mind
Cambridge Handbook of Artificial Intelligence
Cambridge Handbook of Responsible Artificial Intelligence: Interdisciplinary Perspectives
Oxford Handbook of Ethics of AI
Handbook of Critical Studies of Artificial Intelligence
Handbook of Critical Studies of Artificial Intelligence
Handbook of Research on Artificial Intelligence Techniques and Algorithms
Handbook of Understanding and Measuring Intelligence
Handbook on the Politics and Governance of Big Data and Artificial Intelligence
Moroney, Laurence. AI and Machine Learning for Coders: A Programmer’s Guide to Artificial Intelligence. Sebastopol, California: O’Reilly Media, Incorporated, 2020.
Osiński, Jędrzej. Cunning Machines: Your Pocket Guide to the World of Artificial Intelligence. Boca Raton, Florida: CRC Press, 2020.
Palgrave Handbook of Malicious Use of AI and Psychological Security
Routledge Handbook of the Computational Mind
Routledge Social Science Handbook of AI
Springer Handbook of Computational Intelligence
Zerilli, John, et al. A Citizen’s Guide to Artificial Intelligence. Cambridge, Massachusetts: MIT Press, 2021.
Cambridge Handbook of Intelligence and Cognitive Neuroscience
Neuroscience Basics: A Guide to the Brain’s Involvement in Everyday Activities
Oxford Handbook of Cultural Neuroscience
Handbook of Research on Advancements in Robotics and Mechatronics
Handbook of Research on Synthesizing Human Emotion in Intelligent Systems and Robotics
Springer Handbook of Computational Intelligence
Chicago Notes-Bibliography Style - Quick Guide
Artificial Intelligence (AI) Advertising - Oxford Bibliographies
Artificial Intelligence and Learning - Oxford Bibliographies
Artificial Intelligence, Machine Learning, and Psychology - Oxford Bibliographies
Intelligence (Psychological Perspective) - Oxford Bibliographies
Intelligence (Educational Perspective) - Oxford Bibliographies
Turing Test - Oxford Bibliographies
Encyclopedia of Artificial Intelligence (2009)
Encyclopedia of Early Modern Philosophy and the Sciences (2020)
International Encyclopedia of Media Psychology (2020)
Encyclopedia of Philosophy (Gale, 2006)
Medieval Science, Technology, and Medicine: An Encyclopedia
The major English-language encyclopedia on Catholic topics, it contains some 17,000 articles, each with a bibliography emphasizing the primary sources. Unfortunately, many of the articles in the 2003 online edition are reprints from the 1967 edition without any updating. Use this work to get an overview of a subject and to see how it can be divided into narrower topics for a paper.
SAGE International Encyclopedia of Mass Media and Society (2020)
Read the first few paragraphs of a scholarly journal article to identify several features common to scholarly articles. Please review this brief glossary before starting.
Book Hunt Photo Form
By Deborah Knott, New College Writing Centre (UofT)