MUS1000: Introduction to Music Research
This guide supports the research needs of MUS1000
Social, Political, and Cultural Databases
The UTL has some fantastic databases for finding information on the political, social, and cultural contexts of the music you're studying. These contexts often play a role in shaping the kinds of musics that are produced during a particular historical time period. Here's a short list for you to check out, listed in alphabetical order:
- Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Part I This link opens in a new windowPrimary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender, beginning in the 16th century.
- Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples of North America This link opens in a new windowCovers Native North American culture, history, and life. It contains eBooks, essays, journal, magazine and news articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada.
- Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Website of both historical and current information for research on African Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself.
- Black Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
Published non-fiction works by African American authors from pre-contact times to the present.
- Canadiana Online This link opens in a new windowIn 2018, CRKN merged with Canadiana.org, an organization dedicated to the preservation and access of Canada’s documentary heritage since 1978. As a merged organization, CRKN continues its core licensing activities for scholarly journal content, while expanding support for the digitization and preservation of, and access to, Canadian heritage content.
- Canadian Music Periodical Index (CMPI) This link opens in a new windowThe Canadian Music Periodical Index (CMPI) is an index of articles from Canadian music periodicals.
- Cold War: a student encyclopedia This link opens in a new windowThe most comprehensive and up-to-date student reference on the Cold War, offering expert coverage of all aspects of the conflict in a richly designed format, fully illustrated to give students a vivid sense of life in all countries affected by the war.
- Empire Online This link opens in a new window
Primary and secondary resources related to the study of global imperialism, spanning the last 500 years. Includes British, French, Spanish, Portuguese, and indigenous perspectives.
- Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present This link opens in a new windowWith coverage up to and including the 2008 election of Barack Obama as the 44th President of the United States, the Encyclopedia contains approximately 1,200 fully cross-referenced entries all signed by leading scholars and experts, offering the most reliable and extensive treatment to be found on African American history in this era.
- First Nations Information Connection This link opens in a new windowAn initiative of the University of Alberta Libraries in collaboration with First Nations institutions. Provides access to a collection of culturally significant web resources. Most resources are also accessible to the general public.
- Indigenous Peoples: North America This link opens in a new windowMonograph, manuscript, newspaper, periodical, and photograph collections related to Indigenous North American history.
- Indigenous Studies Portal This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles, ebooks, theses, and government publications, with a primary focus on Indigenous peoples of Canada and a secondary focus on North American materials and beyond.
- National Centre for Truth and Reconciliation This link opens in a new windowThe NCTR is a place of learning and dialogue where the truths of the residential school experience will be honoured and kept safe for future generations
- Performance Design Archive This link opens in a new windowPerformance Design Archive Online is the first comprehensive, international collection that covers all aspects of theater production design, from the 17th century through to the present day, including scenic and set design, lighting design, sound design, costume design, and makeup.
- Secret Files from World Wars to Cold War This link opens in a new windowSecret Files from World Wars to Cold War provides access to British government secret intelligence and foreign policy files from 1873 to 1953, with the majority of files dating from the 1930s and 1940s.
- Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa This link opens in a new windowThis collection focuses on the complex and varied liberation struggles in the region, with an emphasis on Botswana, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, and Zimbabwe. It brings together materials from various archives and libraries throughout the world documenting colonial rule, dispersion of exiles, international intervention, and the worldwide networks that supported successive generations of resistance within the region.
- U.S. Declassified Documents Online This link opens in a new windowSearchable database of previously classified federal records spanning the twentieth and twenty first centuries. The types of materials include intelligence studies, policy papers, diplomatic correspondence, cabinet meeting minutes, briefing materials, and domestic surveillance and military reports.
- Women's Studies Archive This link opens in a new windowExamines the foundations and progression of women's movements during the 19th and 20th centuries.
- Women and Social Movements in Modern Empires Since 1820 This link opens in a new windowWomen and Social Movements in Modern Empires since 1820 explores prominent themes in world history since 1820: conquest, colonization, settlement, resistance, and post-coloniality, as told through women’s voices.
Encyclopedia of Canada's Peoples by Call Number: F5028 .E63 1999 (Reference)Publication Date: 1999Provides an overview of people within the geographical and social framework of Canada. Each group entry outlines origins; migration; arrival and settlement; economic life; community life; family and kinship; culture; education; religion; politics; intergroup relations; group maintenance and ethnic commitment; and bibliography.
