Please contact me!
Joan of Arc in Battle (Central Part of The Life of Joan of Arc Triptych) by Hermann Stilke, 1843, public domain. Gratefully adapted from Wikimedia.
Smelyansky, Eugene, Ed. The Intolerant Middle Ages: A Reader. Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 2020.
Defining Gender. Primary Source Database. Adam Matthew Digital, 2022.
Erauso, Catalina de. Lieutenant Nun: Memoir of a Basque Transvestite in the New World, translated by Michele Stepto and Gabriel Stepto. Boston, MA: Beacon Press, 1996.
Halsall, Paul, Ed. Internet Medieval Sourcebook. Primary Source Website. Center for Medieval Studies, Fordham University, 2023.
Larrington, Carolyne. Women and Writing in Medieval Europe: A Sourcebook. London: Routledge, 1995.
Betancourt, Roland. Byzantine Intersectionality : Sexuality, Gender, and Race in the Middle Ages. Princeton, New Jersey: Princeton University Press, 2020.
Blackmore, Josiah, and Gregory S. Hutcheson. Queer Iberia Sexualities, Cultures, and Crossings from the Middle Ages to the Renaissance. Durham, NC: Duke University Press, 1999.
Bodden, M. C. Language as the Site of Revolt in Medieval and Early Modern England: Speaking as a Woman. New York: Palgrave Macmillan, 2011.
Chess, Simone. Male-to-Female Crossdressing in Early Modern English Literature : Gender, Performance, and Queer Relations. New York: Routledge, 2016.
Craig, Leigh Ann. Wandering Women and Holy Matrons: Women As Pilgrims in the Later Middle Ages. Vol. 138. Boston: Brill, 2009.
Hess, Erika E. (Erika Elizabeth). Literary Hybrids: Cross-Dressing, Shapeshifting, and Indeterminacy in Medieval and Modern French Narrative. New York: Routledge, 2004.
Hotchkiss, Valerie R. Clothes Make the Man: Female Cross Dressing in Medieval Europe. New York: Routledge, 2012.
Howell, Martha C. Women, Production, and Patriarchy in Late Medieval Cities. Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1986.
Karras, Ruth Mazo. Common Women: Prostitution and Sexuality in Medieval England. New York: Oxford University Press, Incorporated, 1996.
Karras, Ruth Mazo. Unmarriages: Women, Men, and Sexual Unions in the Middle Ages. Philadelphia: University of Pennsylvania Press, 2012.
Kłosowska, Anna. Queer Love in the Middle Ages. New York: Palgrave Macmillan US, 2005.
LaFleur, Greta, Masha Raskolnikov, and Anna Kłosowska. Trans Historical: Gender Plurality before the Modern. Ithaca, New York: Cornell University Press, 2021.
L’Estrange, Elizabeth., and Alison More. Representing Medieval Genders and Sexualities in Europe: Construction, Transformation, and Subversion, 600-1530. Abingdon, Oxon: Routledge, 2016.
Miller, Sarah Alison. Medieval Monstrosity and the Female Body. 1st ed. Vol. 8. London: Routledge, 2010.
Mitchell, Linda E. Women in Medieval Western European Culture. Vol. 2007. London: Routledge, 1999.
More, Alison. Fictive Orders and Feminine Religious Identities, 1200-1600. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2018.
Muravyeva, Marianna., and Raisa Maria Tovio. Gender in Late Medieval and Early Modern Europe. New York: Routledge, 2013.
Pearson, Andrea G. Women and Portraits in Early Modern Europe: Gender, Agency, Identity. London: Routledge, 2016.
Phillips, Kim M. Medieval Maidens: Young Women and Gender in England, 1270-1540. Manchester: Manchester University Press, 2003.
Shulamith Shahar. The Fourth Estate: A History of Women in the Middle Ages. Taylor and Francis, 2003.
Soyer, François. Ambiguous Gender in Early Modern Spain and Portugal: Inquisitors, Doctors, and the Transgression of Gender Norms. New York: BRILL, 2012.
Spencer-Hall, Alicia, and Blake Gutt. Trans and Genderqueer Subjects in Medieval Hagiography. Amsterdam: Amsterdam University Press, 2021.
Sponsler, Claire. Drama and Resistance: Bodies, Goods, and Theatricality in Late Medieval England. Minneapolis: University of Minnesota Press, 1997.
Stuard, Susan Mosher. Women in Medieval History and Historiography. University of Pennsylvania Press, Inc, 2016.
Tanner, Heather J. Medieval Elite Women and the Exercise of Power, 1100–1400 Moving Beyond the Exceptionalist Debate. Cham: Springer International Publishing, 2019.
Thurston, Herbert. "The Story of St. Hildegund, Maiden and Monk.". The Month. 127 no. 620 (February 1916): 145-156.
Van-Houts, Elisabeth. Medieval Memories: Men, Women and the Past, 700-1300. Taylor and Francis, 2013.
Varnado, Christine. The Shapes of Fancy: Reading for Queer Desire in Early Modern Literature. Minneapolis: University of Minnesota Press, 2020.
Ward, Jennifer. Women in Medieval Europe 1200-1500. London: Taylor and Francis, 2016.
Joan of Arc - Oxford Bibliographies
Saints & Mystics: Before Trent - Oxford Bibliographies
Butler's Lives of the Saints (1903-1962)
Volume 1: January through March
Volume 2: April through June
Volume 3: July through September
Volume 4: October through December
Catholic Encyclopedia (Robert Appleton Company, 1905; New Advent, 2021)
The major English-language encyclopedia on Catholic topics, it contains some 17,000 articles, each with a bibliography emphasizing the primary sources. Unfortunately many of the articles in the 2003/online edition are reprints from the 1967 edition without any updating. Use this work to get an overview of a subject and to see how it can be divided into narrower topics for a paper.
Oxford dictionary of the Christian Church
Women and Gender in Medieval Europe: An Encyclopedia
Sex and Sexuality - Oxford Bibliographies
Masculinity and Male Sexuality in the Middle Ages - Oxford Bibliographies
SAGE Encyclopedia of Trans Studies
Encyclopedia of Gender and Society
Oxford Handbook of Women and Gender in Medieval Europe
Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History
Up to date, and intended for both novices and specialists, this 4-volume set covers European history, society, religion, and culture between A.D. 500 to 1500. Articles number about 5,000. They range from brief to lengthy, include bibliographies, and often unearth material you can only find elsewhere with difficulty. Women and children, for example, get substantial attention. The set contains a thematic listing of entries, a general index, a list of medieval popes and antipopes, and an index of alternative place names.
Including more than 5,000 signed articles ranging in length from 100 to 10,000 words, this 13-volume set is the major scholarly encyclopedia for medieval studies and is intended for all levels, from the high school student to the scholar. All volumes are available online on the Internet Archive, a trusted source, but one for which it is necessary to create a free account and login.
V1, AAC-AUG
V2, AUG-BYZ
V3, CAB-CRI
V4, CRO-FAM
V5, FAM-GRO
V6, GRO-ITA
V7, ITA-MAB
V8, MAC-MYS
V9, MYS-POL
V10, POL-SCA
V11, SCA-TEX
V12, THA-ZWA
V13, Index
Supplement 1.
Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages
The major English-language comprehensive history of the Middle Ages, this work is a completely new edition of the former standard work, The Cambridge Medieval History (New York: Cambridge University Press, 1911; St. Michael’s 2nd Floor – D117 .C3).
Ancient Europe, 8000 B.C. to A.D. 1000: Encyclopedia of the Barbarian World
A Companion to Medieval Art Romanesque and Gothic in Northern Europe
Medieval Archaeology: An Encyclopedia
This introduction to German and Dutch-speaking Europe focuses on the region’s major people, events, places, daily life, and accomplishments between roughly 500 and 1500 A.D. Alphabetical entries on such topics as patronage, diet and nutrition, and Segher Diengotgaf are made accessible through a list of entries by category (e.g. Music; Persons; Religion and Theology; Women, Gender and Families), as well as by the usual index at the back.
Viking invasions, language, mythology, saints, clothing, craftsmanship, architecture—these are some of the many topics covered in this encyclopedia. The entries, centred on such themes as lineage, manuscripts, persons and scholarship, focus on the period 500 to 1600 A.D., and come with cross-references and bibliographies. There are alphabetical and thematic tables of contents.
Pick up this 2-volume set for an introduction to mediaeval Italian life and culture. With nearly 1,000 entries ranging from 500 to 10,000 words, and covering specific topics in the brief articles (e.g. Camerino, Duchy of) and general topics in the lengthy ones (e.g. Florence), this set includes 3 pages of maps, along with a reference list of Popes and Rulers in the appendix.
Medieval Folklore: An Encyclopedia of Myths, Legends, Tales, Beliefs, and Customs
In entries varying from 500-word descriptions to 3,000-word overviews, this encyclopedia aims at helping undergraduates and the general public in coming to grips with the political, social, religious, economic, intellectual, literary and artistic history of France between roughly 500 and 1500 A.D.. Various useful lists complement these entries: The Kings, Counts, Dukes; Popes; Architectural Terms; and Musical Terms.
Research Guide to Women in the Middle Ages
Research Guide to Medieval Studies
Search LibrarySearch
Known as LibrarySearch, this interdisciplinary database is UofT's largest--and your best bet when more focused databases let you down. It combs through more than 1,200 databases, journal packages, e-book collections, and other resources ranging from the sciences to the social sciences and humanities. At its best, LibrarySearch finds relevant results you won't find elsewhere; at its worst, however, LibrarySearch can overwhelm you will a mish-mash of results from different subject areas.
The Month (A Catholic Magazine, 1864-2001) - Internet Archive
International Medieval Bibliography (IMB)
Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
Over one million bibliographic citations to journal articles, essays in books, and book reviews in the field of religion. Covers all aspects of the major world religions and now includes all the content of the online Catholic Periodical and Literature Index.
The MLA is the major English literature database. It covers criticism related to literature, linguistics and folklore from 1921 to the present, and contains more than 1-million citations to journal articles, series, books, working papers and conference proceedings. Most of the materials indexed before 1963 are American.