Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
John M. Kelly Library Research Guides

MST242H1: Mediaeval Mythologies & Methodologies - Customized Resources

MST242H1: Medieval Mythologies & Methodologies - Customized Resources



Fresco, St. Clair Chapel, Venanson, France, ca. 1481. Photo by Mossot gratefully adapted with a CC license from Wikimedia.


Open this guide in a new tab.


Brief Reference


Medievalism

Cambridge Companion to Medievalism

Oxford Handbook of Victorian Medievalism

Oxford Handbook of Music and Medievalism

Middle Ages - Encyclopedias

Ancient Europe, 8000 B.C. to A.D. 1000: Encyclopedia of the Barbarian World

A Companion to Medieval Art: Romanesque and Gothic in Northern Europe

The Crusades: An Encyclopedia

Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages

Key Figures in Medieval Europe: An Encyclopedia

Medieval Archaeology: An Encyclopedia

Medieval Folklore: An Encyclopedia of Myths, Legends, Tales, Beliefs, and Customs

In entries varying from 500-word descriptions to 3,000-word overviews, this encyclopedia aims at helping undergraduates and the general public in coming to grips with the political, social, religious, economic, intellectual, literary and artistic history of France between roughly 500 and 1500 A.D.. Various useful lists complement these entries: The Kings, Counts, Dukes; Popes; Architectural Terms; and Musical Terms.

This introduction to German and Dutch-speaking Europe focuses on the region’s major people, events, places, daily life, and accomplishments between roughly 500 and 1500 A.D. Alphabetical entries on such topics as patronage, diet and nutrition, and Segher Diengotgaf are made accessible through a list of entries by category (e.g. Music; Persons; Religion and Theology; Women, Gender and Families), as well as by the usual index at the back.

Viking invasions, language, mythology, saints, clothing, craftsmanship, architecture—these are some of the many topics covered in this encyclopedia. The entries, centred on such themes as lineage, manuscripts, persons and scholarship, focus on the period 500 to 1600 A.D., and come with cross-references and bibliographies. There are alphabetical and thematic tables of contents.

Medieval Italy: An Encyclopedia

Volume 1: A-K
Volume 2: L-Z

Pick up this 2-volume set for an introduction to mediaeval Italian life and culture. With nearly 1,000 entries ranging from 500 to 10,000 words, and covering specific topics in the brief articles (e.g. Camerino, Duchy of) and general topics in the lengthy ones (e.g. Florence), this set includes 3 pages of maps, along with a reference list of Popes and Rulers in the appendix.

Medieval Jewish Civilization: An Encyclopedia

New Arthurian Encyclopedia

The major English-language comprehensive history of the Middle Ages, this work is a completely new edition of the former standard work, The Cambridge Medieval History (New York: Cambridge University Press, 1911; St. Michael’s 2nd Floor – D117 .C3).

Up to date, and intended for both novices and specialists, this 4-volume set covers European history, society, religion, and culture between A.D. 500 to 1500. Articles number about 5,000. They range from brief to lengthy, include bibliographies, and often unearth material you can only find elsewhere with difficulty. Women and children, for example, get substantial attention. The set contains a thematic listing of entries, a general index, a list of medieval popes and antipopes, and an index of alternative place names.

Oxford Bibliographies: Medieval Studies

Trade, Travel, and Exploration in the Middle Ages: An Encyclopedia

Christianity - Encyclopedias

The major English-language encyclopedia on Catholic topics, it contains some 17,000 articles, each with a bibliography emphasizing the primary sources. Unfortunately, many of the articles in the 2003 online edition are reprints from the 1967 edition without any updating. Use this work to get an overview of a subject and to see how it can be divided into narrower topics for a paper.

Oxford dictionary of the Christian Church

Research Guides

Research Guide to Medieval Studies

Research Guide to Women in the Middle Ages

Research Guide to Mediaeval Law

Subjects A-Z Links

UofT E-Resources for Medieval Studies

Ebooks


Albin, Andrew, et al. Whose Middle Ages?: Teachable Moments for an Ill-Used Past. New York: Fordham University Press, 2019.

Alexander, Michael. Medievalism: The Middle Ages in Modern England. Yale University Press, 2017.

Barron, Caroline M. London in the later Middle Ages: government and people, 1200-1500. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2004.

Bennett, Judith M. & Warren C. Hollister. Medieval Europe: A Short History, 10th (McGraw-Hill: Boston, 2006). ONLY IN PRINT

Broome Saunders, Clare. Women Writers and Nineteenth-Century Medievalism. New York: Palgrave Macmillan US, 2009.

Campbell, B. M. S. The great transition: climate, disease and society in the late medieval world. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press, 2016.

Flannery, Mary C. Spaces for Reading in Later Medieval England. New York: Palgrave Macmillan, 2016.

Gerzic, Marina, and Aidan Norrie. From Medievalism to Early-Modernism: Adapting the English Past. Milton: Routledge, 2019.

Horswell, Mike. The Rise and Fall of British Crusader Medievalism, C.1825–1945. Taylor and Francis, 2018.

Hsy, Jonathan. Antiracist Medievalisms: From Yellow Peril to Black Lives Matter. Amsterdam: Arc Humanities Press, 2021.

Madigan, Kevin. Medieval Christianity: A New History. New Haven: Yale University Press, 2015.

Ozment, Steven E. The Age of Reform 1250-1550: An Intellectual and Religious History of Late Medieval and Reformation Europe. New Haven: Yale University Press, 2020.

Pugh, Tison., and Angela Jane Weisl. Medievalisms: Making the Past in the Present. London: Routledge, 2013.

Rosenthal, Joel Thomas. Understanding Medieval Primary Sources: Using Historical Sources to Discover Medieval Europe. London: Routledge, 2012.

Simmons, Clare A. Medievalism and the Quest for the Real Middle Ages. Taylor and Francis, 2013.

Toswell, M. J., et al. Medievalism in English Canadian Literature: From Richardson to Atwood. Woodbridge: Boydell & Brewer, Limited, 2020.

Waley, Daniel Philip, and Peter Denley. Later medieval Europe, 1250-1520. London: Routledge, 2013.

Ziolkowski, Jan M. The Juggler of Notre Dame and the Medievalizing of Modernity. 2 Volumes. Open Book Publishers, 2018.

Volume 1:The Middle Ages
Volume 2: Medieval Meets Medievalism

Article Databases


Search LibrarySearch

Known as LibrarySearch, this interdisciplinary database is UofT's largest--and your best bet when more focused databases let you down. It combs through more than 1,200 databases, journal packages, e-book collections, and other resources ranging from the sciences to the social sciences and humanities. At its best, LibrarySearch finds relevant results you won't find elsewhere; at its worst, however, LibrarySearch can overwhelm you will a mish-mash of results from different subject areas.

 

Everything Search

Advanced Search

Other Databases

International Medieval Bibliography (IMB)

ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance

Over one million bibliographic citations to journal articles, essays in books, and book reviews in the field of religion. Covers all aspects of the major world religions and now includes all the content of the online Catholic Periodical and Literature Index.

The MLA is the major English literature database. It covers criticism related to literature, linguistics and folklore from 1921 to the present, and contains more than 1-million citations to journal articles, series, books, working papers and conference proceedings. Most of the materials indexed before 1963 are American.

Catalogue Search


 



Everything Search

Advanced Search