Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
John M. Kelly Library Research Guides

MST202H1: Getting Medieval - Place & Space - Customized Resources

MST202H1: Getting Medieval - Place & Space - Customized Resources



The original 1381 Catalan Atlas by illuminator Abraham Cresques. Public Domain. From Bibliothèque nationale de France. Adapted from Wikimedia.


Open this guide in a new tab.


Article Databases

 

Search LibrarySearch

Known as LibrarySearch, this interdisciplinary database is UofT's largest--and your best bet when more focused databases let you down. It combs through more than 1,200 databases, journal packages, e-book collections, and other resources ranging from the sciences to the social sciences and humanities. At its best, LibrarySearch finds relevant results you won't find elsewhere; at its worst, however, LibrarySearch can overwhelm you will a mish-mash of results from different subject areas.

 

Everything Search

Advanced Search

Other Databases

International Medieval Bibliography (IMB)

ITER: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance

Over one million bibliographic citations to journal articles, essays in books, and book reviews in the field of religion. Covers all aspects of the major world religions and now includes all the content of the online Catholic Periodical and Literature Index.

The MLA is the major English literature database. It covers criticism related to literature, linguistics and folklore from 1921 to the present, and contains more than 1-million citations to journal articles, series, books, working papers and conference proceedings. Most of the materials indexed before 1963 are American.

Bibliography of the History of Art

Catalogue Search

 
 



Advanced Search

E-Bibliography

 

E-Books

Brink, Stefan, and Neil Price. The Viking World. London: Routledge, 2008.

Bynum, Caroline Walker. Fragmentation and Redemption: Essays on Gender and the Human Body in Medieval Religion. New York: Zone Books, 2012.

Davis, R.H.C. A History of Medieval Europe from Constantine to Saint Louis. 3rd ed. Longman, 2005.

Ibn Batuta, and H. A. R. Gibb. The Travels of Ibn Battuta, A.D. 1325-1354. Abingdon, Oxon: Routledge, 2016. https://doi.org/10.4324/9781315552019.

Ibn Jubair, William Wright, and M. J. de Goeje. Travels of Ibn Jubayr. Ed. 2, rev. Leyden: Brill, 1907.

Kuuliala, Jenni, and Jussi Rantala. Travel, Pilgrimage and Social Interaction from Antiquity to the Middle Ages. . 1st ed. Milton: Routledge, 2020. https://doi.org/10.4324/9780429028458.

Legassie, Shayne Aaron. The Medieval Invention of Travel. Chicago, IL: University of Chicago Press, 2017.

Legassie, Shayne Aaron. The Medieval Invention of Travel. Chicago, IL: University of Chicago Press, 2017.

Montanari, Massimo. A Cultural History of Food in the Medieval Age. . London: Bloomsbury Academic, 2014.

Polo, Marco, and Milton Rugoff. The Travels of Marco Polo. First Signet Classics print. New York, N.Y: Signet Classics, 2004. https://doi.org/10.4324/9780203340646.

Richards, J.D. The Vikings: A Very Short Introduction. Oxford University Press, 2005.

Romano, John. Medieval Travel and Travelers: A Reader. University of Toronto Press, 2020.

Whalen, Brett Edward. Pilgrimage in the Middle Ages: A Reader. Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 2011.

Wyatt, David. Slaves and Warriors in Medieval Britain and Ireland, 800-1200. Leiden: Brill, 2009.

Whitfield, Susan. Life Along the Silk Road. 2nd ed. Oakland, Calif: University of California Press, 2015.

Woolgar, C. M., D. Serjeantson, and T. Waldron. Food in Medieval England: Diet and Nutrition. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2006.

Research Guides

Research Guide to Medieval Studies - St. Mike's

Research Guide to Women in the Middle Ages - St. Mike's

Research Guide to Medieval Law - St. Mike's

UofT E-Resources for Medieval Studies

Global Medieval Studies - Georgetown University

Medieval and Renaissance Studies - New York University

Centre for Medieval Studies (CMS) - UofT

Encyclopedias & Dictionaries

 

Medieval Trade & Travel

Trade, Travel, and Exploration in the Middle Ages: An Encyclopedia

Encyclopedia of World Trade: From Ancient Times to the Present

Travel and Travelers - Medieval Studies - Oxford Bibliographies

Warfare

Oxford Encyclopedia of Medieval Warfare and Military Technology

"Vikings." Historical Encyclopedia of World Slavery

Focused on the crusading movement from roughly 1095 and 1291, this 4-volume set covers such topics as persons (Saladin), families and dynasties (Embriaci Family), anonymous literary works (Melisende Psalter), places and countries (Tripoli, City of), events (Ankara, Battle of (1402), and general subjects (Crusades against Christians). With individual bibliographies for each entry as well as a lengthy general bibliography, and with a substantial index in the final volume as well as some primary texts, this encyclopedia should prove useful for students studying the Crusades.

Medieval Medicine & Disease

Medieval Science, Technology, and Medicine: An Encyclopedia

Encyclopedia of the Black Death

Ancient Greece & Rome

Ancient Europe, 8000 B.C. to A.D. 1000: Encyclopedia of the Barbarian World

Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Greece and Rome

Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization (1 ed.)

Who's Who in Classical Mythology

Oxford Dictionary of the Classical World

Oxford Classical Dictionary (4 ed.)

Brill's New Pauly

Middle Ages

Medieval Studies - Oxford Bibliographies

Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages

Up to date, and intended for both novices and specialists, this 4-volume set covers European history, society, religion, and culture between A.D. 500 to 1500. Articles number about 5,000. They range from brief to lengthy, include bibliographies, and often unearth material you can only find elsewhere with difficulty. Women and children, for example, get substantial attention. The set contains a thematic listing of entries, a general index, a list of medieval popes and antipopes, and an index of alternative place names.

The major English-language encyclopedia on Catholic topics, it contains some 17,000 articles, each with a bibliography emphasizing the primary sources. Unfortunately many of the articles in the 2003/online edition are reprints from the 1967 edition without any updating. Use this work to get an overview of a subject and to see how it can be divided into narrower topics for a paper.

Encyclopedia of Religion, 2nd ed.

Medieval England: An Encyclopedia

In entries varying from 500-word descriptions to 3,000-word overviews, this encyclopedia aims at helping undergraduates and the general public in coming to grips with the political, social, religious, economic, intellectual, literary and artistic history of France between roughly 500 and 1500 A.D.. Various useful lists complement these entries: The Kings, Counts, Dukes; Popes; Architectural Terms; and Musical Terms.

This introduction to German and Dutch-speaking Europe focuses on the region’s major people, events, places, daily life, and accomplishments between roughly 500 and 1500 A.D. Alphabetical entries on such topics as patronage, diet and nutrition, and Segher Diengotgaf are made accessible through a list of entries by category (e.g. Music; Persons; Religion and Theology; Women, Gender and Families), as well as by the usual index at the back.

Viking invasions, language, mythology, saints, clothing, craftsmanship, architecture—these are some of the many topics covered in this encyclopedia. The entries, centred on such themes as lineage, manuscripts, persons and scholarship, focus on the period 500 to 1600 A.D., and come with cross-references and bibliographies. There are alphabetical and thematic tables of contents.

Medieval Italy: An Encyclopedia

Volume 1: A-K
Volume 2: L-Z

Pick up this 2-volume set for an introduction to mediaeval Italian life and culture. With nearly 1,000 entries ranging from 500 to 10,000 words, and covering specific topics in the brief articles (e.g. Camerino, Duchy of) and general topics in the lengthy ones (e.g. Florence), this set includes 3 pages of maps, along with a reference list of Popes and Rulers in the appendix.

Medieval Scandinavia: An Encyclopedia

Medieval Archaeology: An Encyclopedia

The major English-language comprehensive history of the Middle Ages, this work is a completely new edition of the former standard work, The Cambridge Medieval History (New York: Cambridge University Press, 1911; St. Michael’s 2nd Floor – D117 .C3).

Oxford dictionary of the Christian Church

Medieval Folklore: An Encyclopedia of Myths, Legends, Tales, Beliefs, and Customs

 

Primary Sources


Ebook Source Collections

Christie, Niall. Muslims and Crusaders: Christianity’s Wars in the Middle East, 1095–1382, from the Islamic Sources. Milton: Taylor and Francis, 2020. https://doi.org/10.4324/9781351007368.

Goitein, Shelomo Dov. Letters of Medieval Jewish Traders. Princeton: Princeton University Press, 2015.

Goitein, Shelomo Dov, and Mordechai Akiva Friedman. India Traders of the Middle Ages: Documents from the Cairo Geniza: “India Book.” Leiden: Brill, 2008.

Jackson, Peter, and David Morgan. The Mission of Friar William of Rubruck: His Journey to the Court of the Great Khan Möngke, 1253-1255. Farnham: Taylor & Francis Group, 1990.

Pringle, Denys. Pilgrimage to Jerusalem and the Holy Land, 1187–1291. London: Routledge, 2012. https://doi.org/10.4324/9781315600499.

Romano, John. Medieval Travel and Travelers: A Reader. Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 2020.

Ute, Lotz-Heumann.A Sourcebook of Early Modern European History: Life, Death, and Everything in Between. Taylor and Francis, 2019. https://doi.org/10.4324/9781351243292.

Whalen, Brett Edward. Pilgrimage in the Middle Ages: A Reader. Toronto: University of Toronto Press, 2011.

Wilkinson, John, Joyce Hill, and W. F. Ryan. Jerusalem Pilgrimage, 1099-1185. Farnham: Taylor & Francis Group, 1988.

Primary Source Websites

Medieval Family Life

Medieval Travel Writing

Internet Medieval Sourcebook

Tutorials


Argument & Evidence: An Introduction




Problems, Questions, & Thesis Statements






An Introduction to Primary Sources