Skip to Main Content

Jackman Humanities Institute - Scholars in Residence - 2025

Project Description

Towards Optimal Phonics Instruction: An Empirical Approach to Literacy Improvement

Supervisor: Prof. Blair Armstrong

A key avenue for improving reading proficiency is to optimize current methods for learning to read. We will target a subset of the following directions, to be flexibly determined based on the interests and backgrounds of the student RAs we recruit. Student RAs may: 1) systematically study phonics programs used in Ontario; 2) conduct advanced quantitative/computational analyses to identify ways in which existing phonics programs could be optimized; 3) extend our work to the French language; and 4) produce proof of concept instructional materials for our optimized phonics materials. Students will work in teams of 2-3. Individual students will take the lead on specific aspects of the project.

Curricula Resources

Curriculum Resources Collection (OISE Library)

A collection of 36,000+ resources supporting K-12 Ontario curricula. Physical resources available at the OISE Library include textbooks focused on the Ontario curriculum (e.g. those from the Ontario Ministry of Education’s Trillium List), manipulatives, DVDs, resource kits, lesson plans, teacher's guides, etc.

Ontario Curriculum Resources

  • Elementary curriculum (K-8) - includes a "Language (2023)" category that can be browsed according to Grade level (see the tutorial below)
  • Trillium List - a list of Minister of Education-approved textbooks that educators can use to teach students in kindergarten to Grade 12
     
  • Right to Read inquiry report - contains 157 recommendations to the Ministry of Education, school boards, and faculties of education on how to address systemic issues that affect the right to learn to read; includes recommendations on curriculum and instruction, early screening, reading interventions, accommodation, professional assessments, and systemic issues
     
  • U of T Libraries catalogue - for any texts of interest, search for them in LibrarySearch to see if they are available for loan through U of T Libraries; ask a librarian if you require assistance

Phonics and the Classroom

Research Databases

ProQuest Databases

OVID Databases

Tip! You can use the "Multi-Field Search" tab within an OVID database to easily combine keywords from your research topic into a streamlined search.

For the "Field" dropdown, I recommend using "Text Word" - this will specifically search using Title, Abstract, Key Concept, and Table of Contents information. For a full list of field codes in PsycInfo (OVID), please see the database guide.

screenshot of a sample PsycInfo database multi-field search

Once you've compiled your search, you can also add Limits to further narrow your results if desired. Select the "Additional Limits" button underneath the search to see the full scope of options available in PsycInfo.

 

screenshot of filter options in the PsycInfo database

Survey Research Methods

Survey Resources

Quantitative

Qualitative

Data Visualization

Check out the Storytelling page on this guide for more ideas and resources on how to frame your research!

Google Advanced Searching

Use Google Advanced Search to locate curricula: Google Search Example
Use the @ symbol in front of a social media name and add keywords @instagram phonics OR phonemes
Search websites using site:website and add keywords site:edu.gov.on.ca "reading practices"
Search related website using related:website you already know related:oise.library.utoronto.ca

See more Google searching tips!

Video Streaming Resources

chat loading...