HMU345: Global Popular Musics
Music Research Databases
These databases provide you with more general music research and can be a good starting place when you are initially narrowing down your topic to see what current research is taking place. Listed in alphabetical order.
- African American Music Reference This link opens in a new windowBrings together text reference, biographies, chronologies, sheet music, images, lyrics, liner notes, and discographies which chronicle the diverse history and culture of the African American experience through music. The database is constantly expanding to include comprehensive coverage of blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowInterdisciplinary search engine of academic journals, books, and other materials across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
- Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new windowCitation information, including abstracts, of key music journals and magazine articles, with additional full-text coverage for select titles.
- Music Index This link opens in a new windowCitation information including abstracts of scholarly journals related to the study of classical and popular music.
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new window
Citation information and abstracts to research about music on various musical genres from around the world.
Social, Political, and Cultural Databases
The UTL has some fantastic databases for finding information on the political, social, and cultural contexts of the music you're studying. These contexts often play a role in shaping the kinds of musics that are produced in a particular geographic area or within a specific genre of music. Here's a short list for you to check out, listed in alphabetical order:
- Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Part I This link opens in a new windowPrimary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender, beginning in the 16th century.
- Bibliography of Indigenous Peoples of North America This link opens in a new windowCovers Native North American culture, history, and life. It contains eBooks, essays, journal, magazine and news articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada.
- Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Website of both historical and current information for research on African Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself.
- Black Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
Published non-fiction works by African American authors from pre-contact times to the present.
- Black Women Writers This link opens in a new windowSearchable and browsable online database containing the full text of approximately 100,000 pages of the writings of black women from North America, Africa, the Caribbean, and the rest of the African Diaspora.
- Canadian Music Periodical Index (CMPI) This link opens in a new windowThe CMPI database includes over 37,000 entries on articles dating from the late-19th century to the present day. Canadian music journals, newsletters and magazines are represented here, almost 200 of which are currently active and continue to be indexed.
The CMPI database focusses on articles and news items touching on various aspects of music in Canada. In addition, since 1999, significant articles published in Canadian periodicals about international music and musicians have been added to the index. - Empire Online This link opens in a new window
Primary and secondary resources related to the study of global imperialism, spanning the last 500 years. Includes British, French, Spanish, Portuguese, and indigenous perspectives.
- First Nations Information Connection This link opens in a new windowAn initiative of the University of Alberta Libraries in collaboration with First Nations institutions. Provides access to a collection of culturally significant web resources. Most resources are also accessible to the general public.
- Indigenous Peoples: North America This link opens in a new windowMonograph, manuscript, newspaper, periodical, and photograph collections related to Indigenous North American history.
- Indigenous Studies Portal This link opens in a new windowFull-text articles, ebooks, theses, and government publications, with a primary focus on Indigenous peoples of Canada and a secondary focus on North American materials and beyond.
- LGBT Thought and Culture This link opens in a new windowBooks, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social and cultural movements from the 20th century and to the present.
- National Centre for Truth and Reconciliation This link opens in a new windowThe NCTR is a place of learning and dialogue where the truths of the residential school experience will be honoured and kept safe for future generations
- Performance Design Archive Online This link opens in a new windowInternational collection covering all aspects of theatre production design, from the 17th century through to the present day, including scenic and set design, lighting design, sound design, costume design, and makeup.
- Rolling StoneRolling Stone Archive provides a backfile of Rolling Stone magazine from 1967 up to present. The magazine became a vehicle for rock and popular music journalism and expanded to broader entertainment topics, such as film and television, and wider popular culture.
- Sabinet African Journals.Sabinet African Journals encompasses the breadth and depth of African research content by offering the most comprehensive, searchable collection of full-text African electronic journals available on one platform. This service, which is easy to use and accessible anytime and anywhere, is a growing service — over 600 journal titles in 10 collections are available for individuals, corporates, universities, government departments, research institutions and law firms. Sabinet African Journals offers a user-friendly platform and encourages research efficacy. All international journal standards and statistics are adhered to and various business models are available.
- Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa This link opens in a new window
- Women's Studies Archive This link opens in a new windowExamines the foundations and progression of women's movements during the 19th and 20th centuries.
- Women and Social Movements in Modern Empires Since 1820 This link opens in a new windowWomen and Social Movements in Modern Empires since 1820 explores prominent themes in world history since 1820: conquest, colonization, settlement, resistance, and post-coloniality, as told through women’s voices.
- Last Updated: Dec 9, 2024 2:05 PM
- URL: https://guides.library.utoronto.ca/hmu345
- Print Page
Library links
Libraries
Contact
University of Toronto Libraries
130 St. George St.,Toronto, ON, M5S 1A5
libraryhelp@utoronto.ca
416-978-8450
Map
About web accessibility. Tell us about a web accessibility problem.
About online privacy and data collection.
© University of Toronto. All rights reserved. Terms and conditions.