Research Guides: GGRD10 Health & Sexuality: Articles

Recommended Journals

Search Tips:

Use keywords, and boolean operators (e.g. AND/OR) to search effectively.
Use limiters (e.g. Date, Document Type, Subject) found on the left side of the screen to focus your search.
No database has everything. Search multiple databases to do a through search. Consider subject-specific databases (relevant to your topic) and interdisciplinary databases to

Course readings:

Select course readings (at least 6 are required, see assignment instructions) to include in your assignment. To expand your search, check references of readings you've selected for more sources.
You can also check who has cited your articles to look for more sources on your topic. (Tip: Look up a relevant course reading in a library database like Web of Science. You will see a link to cited material below or beside the article (e.g. "Time Cited" or "Cited by".)

To find more subject-specific databases, select by By subject A-Z on the library website.

International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS) This link opens in a new window
Citations to journal articles, books, reviews, and chapters in the fields of anthropology, economics, political science, and sociology.
GEOBASE This link opens in a new window
Database for physical and human geography, earth and environmental sciences, ecology, and related disciplines, focusing on the human and social impacts on both.
Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
Provides interdisciplinary coverage of gender-related topics including women's studies, men's studies, ethnic studies, health issues, and sexual diversity.
Women and Social Movements, International - 1840 to Present This link opens in a new window
Primary source collections documenting the involvement of women in various social movements from around the globe.
Contemporary Women's Issues This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles about issues that influence women's lives around the world.
Indigenous Studies Portal This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles, ebooks, theses, and government publications, with a primary focus on Indigenous peoples of Canada and a secondary focus on North American materials and beyond.

To find more interdisciplinary databases, select by Popular Databases on the library website.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Citation information and research impact factors for multi-disciplinary journal articles, conference papers, books, and more.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Interdisciplinary search engine of academic journals, books, and other materials across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.